All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
To: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>, "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>, Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>,
	Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>,
	Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>,
	Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>,
	aliguori@amazon.com, daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at,
	hughd@google.com, keescook@google.com,
	Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>,
	Waiman Long <llong@redhat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	"David H . Gutteridge" <dhgutteridge@sympatico.ca>,
	jroedel@suse.de, Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	joro@8bytes.org
Subject: [PATCH 2/3] x86/entry/32: Check for VM86 mode in slow-path check
Date: Fri, 20 Jul 2018 18:22:23 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <1532103744-31902-3-git-send-email-joro@8bytes.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1532103744-31902-1-git-send-email-joro@8bytes.org>

From: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>

The SWITCH_TO_KERNEL_STACK macro only checks for CPL == 0 to
go down the slow and paranoid entry path. The problem is
that this check also returns true when coming from VM86
mode. This is not a problem by itself, as the paranoid path
handles VM86 stack-frames just fine, but it is not necessary
as the normal code path handles VM86 mode as well (and
faster).

Extend the check to include VM86 mode. This also makes an
optimization of the paranoid path possible.

Signed-off-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
---
 arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S | 12 ++++++++++--
 1 file changed, 10 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S b/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S
index 010cdb4..2767c62 100644
--- a/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S
@@ -414,8 +414,16 @@
 	andl	$(0x0000ffff), PT_CS(%esp)
 
 	/* Special case - entry from kernel mode via entry stack */
-	testl	$SEGMENT_RPL_MASK, PT_CS(%esp)
-	jz	.Lentry_from_kernel_\@
+#ifdef CONFIG_VM86
+	movl	PT_EFLAGS(%esp), %ecx		# mix EFLAGS and CS
+	movb	PT_CS(%esp), %cl
+	andl	$(X86_EFLAGS_VM | SEGMENT_RPL_MASK), %ecx
+#else
+	movl	PT_CS(%esp), %ecx
+	andl	$SEGMENT_RPL_MASK, %ecx
+#endif
+	cmpl	$USER_RPL, %ecx
+	jb	.Lentry_from_kernel_\@
 
 	/* Bytes to copy */
 	movl	$PTREGS_SIZE, %ecx
-- 
2.7.4


  parent reply	other threads:[~2018-07-20 16:22 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 34+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2018-07-20 16:22 [PATCH 0/3] PTI for x86-32 Fixes and Updates Joerg Roedel
2018-07-20 16:22 ` [PATCH 1/3] perf/core: Make sure the ring-buffer is mapped in all page-tables Joerg Roedel
2018-07-20 17:06   ` Andy Lutomirski
2018-07-20 17:48     ` Joerg Roedel
2018-07-20 19:32       ` Andy Lutomirski
2018-07-20 21:37         ` Joerg Roedel
2018-07-20 22:20           ` Andy Lutomirski
2018-07-21 21:06             ` Linus Torvalds
2018-07-20 19:27     ` Thomas Gleixner
2018-07-20 19:33       ` Andy Lutomirski
2018-07-20 19:43         ` Thomas Gleixner
2018-07-20 19:53           ` Thomas Gleixner
2018-07-20 19:37   ` [tip:x86/pti] " tip-bot for Joerg Roedel
2018-07-20 20:36   ` tip-bot for Joerg Roedel
2018-07-20 16:22 ` Joerg Roedel [this message]
2018-07-20 19:37   ` [tip:x86/pti] x86/entry/32: Check for VM86 mode in slow-path check tip-bot for Joerg Roedel
2018-07-20 20:37   ` tip-bot for Joerg Roedel
2018-07-21 16:06   ` [PATCH 2/3] " Pavel Machek
2018-07-20 16:22 ` [PATCH 3/3] x86/entry/32: Copy only ptregs on paranoid entry/exit path Joerg Roedel
2018-07-20 17:09   ` Andy Lutomirski
2018-07-20 21:42     ` Joerg Roedel
2018-07-23  3:49 ` [PATCH 0/3] PTI for x86-32 Fixes and Updates David H. Gutteridge
2018-07-23  7:29   ` Joerg Roedel
2018-07-26  3:47     ` David H. Gutteridge
2018-07-23 14:09 ` Pavel Machek
2018-07-23 19:00   ` Linus Torvalds
2018-07-23 21:38     ` Pavel Machek
2018-07-23 21:50       ` Andy Lutomirski
2018-07-23 21:55         ` Pavel Machek
2018-07-24 21:18         ` Pavel Machek
2018-07-23 21:59       ` Josh Poimboeuf
2018-07-23 22:07         ` Dave Hansen
2018-07-24 13:39     ` Pavel Machek
2018-07-24 14:39       ` Andy Lutomirski

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1532103744-31902-3-git-send-email-joro@8bytes.org \
    --to=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=David.Laight@aculab.com \
    --cc=aarcange@redhat.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=aliguori@amazon.com \
    --cc=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=brgerst@gmail.com \
    --cc=daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at \
    --cc=dave.hansen@intel.com \
    --cc=dhgutteridge@sympatico.ca \
    --cc=dvlasenk@redhat.com \
    --cc=eduval@amazon.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=hughd@google.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jkosina@suse.cz \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=jpoimboe@redhat.com \
    --cc=jroedel@suse.de \
    --cc=keescook@google.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=llong@redhat.com \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=will.deacon@arm.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.