All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>,
	Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>, Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Greg Ungerer <gerg@linux-m68k.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>, Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>,
	Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>,
	Chinwen Chang <chinwen.chang@mediatek.com>,
	Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Feng Tang <feng.tang@intel.com>,
	Kevin Brodsky <Kevin.Brodsky@arm.com>,
	Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	Shawn Anastasio <shawn@anastas.io>,
	Steven Price <steven.price@arm.com>,
	Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	Gabriel Krisman Bertazi <krisman@collabora.com>,
	Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>,
	Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>,
	Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>,
	Marco Elver <elver@google.com>,
	Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>,
	Nicolas Viennot <Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com>,
	Thomas Cedeno <thomascedeno@google.com>,
	Collin Fijalkovich <cfijalkovich@google.com>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	linux-api@vger.kernel.org, x86@kernel.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org
Subject: [PATCH RFC 1/7] binfmt: don't use MAP_DENYWRITE when loading shared libraries via uselib()
Date: Fri, 23 Apr 2021 15:16:34 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210423131640.20080-2-david@redhat.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210423131640.20080-1-david@redhat.com>

uselib() is the legacy systemcall for loading shared libraries.
Nowadays, applications use dlopen() to load shared libraries, completely
implemented in user space via mmap().

For example, glibc uses MAP_COPY to mmap shared libraries. While this
maps to MAP_PRIVATE | MAP_DENYWRITE on Linux, Linux ignores any
MAP_DENYWRITE specification from user space in mmap.

With this change, all remaining in-tree users of MAP_DENYWRITE use it
to map an executable. We will be able to open shared libraries loaded
via uselib() writable, just as we already can via dlopen() from user
space.

This is one step into the direction of removing MAP_DENYWRITE from the
kernel. This can be considered a minor user space visible change.

Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
---
 arch/x86/ia32/ia32_aout.c | 2 +-
 fs/binfmt_aout.c          | 2 +-
 fs/binfmt_elf.c           | 2 +-
 3 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/ia32/ia32_aout.c b/arch/x86/ia32/ia32_aout.c
index 5e5b9fc2747f..321d7b22ad2d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/ia32/ia32_aout.c
+++ b/arch/x86/ia32/ia32_aout.c
@@ -293,7 +293,7 @@ static int load_aout_library(struct file *file)
 	/* Now use mmap to map the library into memory. */
 	error = vm_mmap(file, start_addr, ex.a_text + ex.a_data,
 			PROT_READ | PROT_WRITE | PROT_EXEC,
-			MAP_FIXED | MAP_PRIVATE | MAP_DENYWRITE | MAP_32BIT,
+			MAP_FIXED | MAP_PRIVATE | MAP_32BIT,
 			N_TXTOFF(ex));
 	retval = error;
 	if (error != start_addr)
diff --git a/fs/binfmt_aout.c b/fs/binfmt_aout.c
index 12461f3ed04f..37df8fee63d7 100644
--- a/fs/binfmt_aout.c
+++ b/fs/binfmt_aout.c
@@ -309,7 +309,7 @@ static int load_aout_library(struct file *file)
 	/* Now use mmap to map the library into memory. */
 	error = vm_mmap(file, start_addr, ex.a_text + ex.a_data,
 			PROT_READ | PROT_WRITE | PROT_EXEC,
-			MAP_FIXED | MAP_PRIVATE | MAP_DENYWRITE,
+			MAP_FIXED | MAP_PRIVATE;
 			N_TXTOFF(ex));
 	retval = error;
 	if (error != start_addr)
diff --git a/fs/binfmt_elf.c b/fs/binfmt_elf.c
index e0427b817425..763188ac398e 100644
--- a/fs/binfmt_elf.c
+++ b/fs/binfmt_elf.c
@@ -1384,7 +1384,7 @@ static int load_elf_library(struct file *file)
 			(eppnt->p_filesz +
 			 ELF_PAGEOFFSET(eppnt->p_vaddr)),
 			PROT_READ | PROT_WRITE | PROT_EXEC,
-			MAP_FIXED_NOREPLACE | MAP_PRIVATE | MAP_DENYWRITE,
+			MAP_FIXED_NOREPLACE | MAP_PRIVATE,
 			(eppnt->p_offset -
 			 ELF_PAGEOFFSET(eppnt->p_vaddr)));
 	if (error != ELF_PAGESTART(eppnt->p_vaddr))
-- 
2.30.2


  reply	other threads:[~2021-04-23 13:17 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-23 13:16 [PATCH RFC 0/7] Remove in-tree usage of MAP_DENYWRITE David Hildenbrand
2021-04-23 13:16 ` David Hildenbrand [this message]
2021-04-23 13:16 ` [PATCH RFC 2/7] kernel/fork: factor out atomcially replacing the current MM exe_file David Hildenbrand
2021-04-23 13:16 ` [PATCH RFC 3/7] kernel/fork: always deny write access to " David Hildenbrand
2021-04-23 13:16 ` [PATCH RFC 4/7] binfmt: remove in-tree usage of MAP_DENYWRITE David Hildenbrand
2021-04-23 13:16 ` [PATCH RFC 5/7] mm: remove VM_DENYWRITE David Hildenbrand
2021-04-23 13:16 ` [PATCH RFC 6/7] mm: ignore MAP_DENYWRITE in ksys_mmap_pgoff() David Hildenbrand
2021-04-23 13:16 ` [PATCH RFC 7/7] fs: update documentation of get_write_access() and friends David Hildenbrand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210423131640.20080-2-david@redhat.com \
    --to=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=Kevin.Brodsky@arm.com \
    --cc=Nicolas.Viennot@twosigma.com \
    --cc=acme@kernel.org \
    --cc=adobriyan@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=cfijalkovich@google.com \
    --cc=chinwen.chang@mediatek.com \
    --cc=christian.brauner@ubuntu.com \
    --cc=daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=elver@google.com \
    --cc=feng.tang@intel.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=gerg@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=jolsa@redhat.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=krisman@collabora.com \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=namhyung@kernel.org \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=peterx@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pmladek@suse.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=shawn@anastas.io \
    --cc=steven.price@arm.com \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thomascedeno@google.com \
    --cc=vbabka@suse.cz \
    --cc=vincenzo.frascino@arm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=walken@google.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ying.huang@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH RFC 1/7] binfmt: don'\''t use MAP_DENYWRITE when loading shared libraries via uselib()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.