All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>,
	Qais Yousef <qais.yousef@arm.com>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Quentin Perret <qperret@google.com>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	kernel-team@android.com
Subject: [PATCH 0/2] sched: SCA vs hotplug vs stopper races fixes
Date: Wed, 26 May 2021 21:57:49 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210526205751.842360-1-valentin.schneider@arm.com> (raw)

Hi folks,

This is the continuation of [1]. As Will noted, that patch isn't sufficient to
plug all the nasty races involving SCA, hotplug and the stopper task, hence
patch 2.

I have to apologize as this didn't see much testing (a CPU hog, a crazed
taskset, and some hotplugs in a loop), and unfortunately I need to call it a day
before running away to the british wilderness 'till Monday. I'll get back to it
then to expunge the remaining daftness.  

[1]: http://lore.kernel.org/r/877djlhhmb.mognet@arm.com

Cheers,
Valentin

Valentin Schneider (2):
  sched: Don't defer CPU pick to migration_cpu_stop()
  sched: Plug race between SCA, hotplug and migration_cpu_stop()

 kernel/sched/core.c | 50 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++---------------
 1 file changed, 33 insertions(+), 17 deletions(-)

--
2.25.1


             reply	other threads:[~2021-05-26 20:58 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-26 20:57 Valentin Schneider [this message]
2021-05-26 20:57 ` [PATCH 1/2] sched: Don't defer CPU pick to migration_cpu_stop() Valentin Schneider
2021-06-01 14:04   ` [tip: sched/core] " tip-bot2 for Valentin Schneider
2021-05-26 20:57 ` [PATCH 2/2] sched: Plug race between SCA, hotplug and migration_cpu_stop() Valentin Schneider
2021-05-27  9:12   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-06-01 16:59   ` Valentin Schneider
2021-06-02 15:26     ` Will Deacon
2021-06-02 19:43       ` Valentin Schneider
2021-06-22 13:51         ` Will Deacon
2021-06-24  9:33           ` Valentin Schneider

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210526205751.842360-1-valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --to=valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=kernel-team@android.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=morten.rasmussen@arm.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=qais.yousef@arm.com \
    --cc=qperret@google.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 0/2] sched: SCA vs hotplug vs stopper races fixes' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.