All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Seth Jenkins <sethjenkins@google.com>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	tangmeng <tangmeng@uniontech.com>,
	"Guilherme G. Piccoli" <gpiccoli@igalia.com>,
	Tiezhu Yang <yangtiezhu@loongson.cn>,
	Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>,
	Valentin Schneider <vschneid@redhat.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@gmail.com>,
	Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	David Gow <davidgow@google.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Baolin Wang <baolin.wang@linux.alibaba.com>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>,
	Eric Biggers <ebiggers@google.com>,
	Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>,
	Anton Vorontsov <anton@enomsg.org>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Laurent Dufour <ldufour@linux.ibm.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, kasan-dev@googlegroups.com,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v3 0/6] exit: Put an upper limit on how often we can oops
Date: Thu, 17 Nov 2022 15:43:20 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20221117233838.give.484-kees@kernel.org> (raw)

Hi,

This builds on Jann's v1 patch[1]. Changes in v3:
- fix #if/#ifdef confusion (Bill)
- rename from "reason" or "origin" and add it to the warn output (Marco)

v2: https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20221109194404.gonna.558-kees@kernel.org/

Thanks,

-Kees

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20221107201317.324457-1-jannh@google.com

Jann Horn (1):
  exit: Put an upper limit on how often we can oops

Kees Cook (5):
  panic: Separate sysctl logic from CONFIG_SMP
  exit: Expose "oops_count" to sysfs
  panic: Consolidate open-coded panic_on_warn checks
  panic: Introduce warn_limit
  panic: Expose "warn_count" to sysfs

 .../ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-oops_count       |  6 ++
 .../ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-warn_count       |  6 ++
 Documentation/admin-guide/sysctl/kernel.rst   | 17 ++++++
 MAINTAINERS                                   |  2 +
 include/linux/panic.h                         |  1 +
 kernel/exit.c                                 | 60 +++++++++++++++++++
 kernel/kcsan/report.c                         |  3 +-
 kernel/panic.c                                | 45 +++++++++++++-
 kernel/sched/core.c                           |  3 +-
 lib/ubsan.c                                   |  3 +-
 mm/kasan/report.c                             |  4 +-
 mm/kfence/report.c                            |  3 +-
 12 files changed, 140 insertions(+), 13 deletions(-)
 create mode 100644 Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-oops_count
 create mode 100644 Documentation/ABI/testing/sysfs-kernel-warn_count

-- 
2.34.1


             reply	other threads:[~2022-11-17 23:43 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-11-17 23:43 Kees Cook [this message]
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 1/6] panic: Separate sysctl logic from CONFIG_SMP Kees Cook
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 2/6] exit: Put an upper limit on how often we can oops Kees Cook
2023-01-19 20:10   ` SeongJae Park
2023-01-19 20:19     ` Seth Jenkins
2023-01-20  0:28       ` Kees Cook
2023-01-24 18:54         ` Eric Biggers
2023-01-24 19:38           ` Eric Biggers
2023-01-24 23:09             ` Kees Cook
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 3/6] exit: Expose "oops_count" to sysfs Kees Cook
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 4/6] panic: Consolidate open-coded panic_on_warn checks Kees Cook
2022-11-18  8:33   ` Marco Elver
2022-11-26 17:09   ` Andrey Konovalov
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 5/6] panic: Introduce warn_limit Kees Cook
2022-11-18  0:27   ` Kees Cook
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 6/6] panic: Expose "warn_count" to sysfs Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20221117233838.give.484-kees@kernel.org \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=Jason@zx2c4.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andreyknvl@gmail.com \
    --cc=anton@enomsg.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=baolin.wang@linux.alibaba.com \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=davidgow@google.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=ebiggers@google.com \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gpiccoli@igalia.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=kasan-dev@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=ldufour@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com \
    --cc=sethjenkins@google.com \
    --cc=tangmeng@uniontech.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=vincenzo.frascino@arm.com \
    --cc=vschneid@redhat.com \
    --cc=yangtiezhu@loongson.cn \
    --cc=ying.huang@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.