All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
To: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, rcu@vger.kernel.org,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	John Ogness <john.ogness@linutronix.de>,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>,
	Neeraj Upadhyay <quic_neeraju@quicinc.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Zqiang <qiang.zhang1211@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH] srcu: Use try-lock lockdep annotation for NMI-safe access.
Date: Thu, 28 Sep 2023 10:09:00 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20230928080900.GF9829@noisy.programming.kicks-ass.net> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <ZRUX0YUrXfepRGKE@Boquns-Mac-mini.home>

On Wed, Sep 27, 2023 at 11:06:09PM -0700, Boqun Feng wrote:

> I think this is a "side-effect" of commit f0f44752f5f6 ("rcu: Annotate
> SRCU's update-side lockdep dependencies"). In verify_lock_unused(), i.e.
> the checking for NMI lock usages, the logic is that

I think I'm having a problem with this commit -- that is, by adding
lockdep you're adding tracepoint, which rely on RCU being active.

The result is that SRCU is now no longer usable from !RCU regions.

Was this considered and intended?


  parent reply	other threads:[~2023-09-28  8:09 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2023-09-27 16:02 [RFC PATCH] srcu: Use try-lock lockdep annotation for NMI-safe access Sebastian Andrzej Siewior
2023-09-28  6:06 ` Boqun Feng
2023-09-28  6:33   ` Sebastian Andrzej Siewior
2023-09-28  8:05   ` Peter Zijlstra
2023-09-28  8:09   ` Peter Zijlstra [this message]
2023-09-28 14:54     ` Boqun Feng
2023-09-28 15:29       ` Peter Zijlstra
2023-09-28 17:09         ` Boqun Feng

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20230928080900.GF9829@noisy.programming.kicks-ass.net \
    --to=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=boqun.feng@gmail.com \
    --cc=frederic@kernel.org \
    --cc=jiangshanlai@gmail.com \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=john.ogness@linutronix.de \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=longman@redhat.com \
    --cc=mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=qiang.zhang1211@gmail.com \
    --cc=quic_neeraju@quicinc.com \
    --cc=rcu@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.