All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
* + fortify-drop-clang-version-check-for-1201-or-newer.patch added to mm-nonmm-unstable branch
@ 2024-01-26  2:14 Andrew Morton
  0 siblings, 0 replies; only message in thread
From: Andrew Morton @ 2024-01-26  2:14 UTC (permalink / raw)
  To: mm-commits, will, tglx, paul.walmsley, palmer, npiggin, nicolas,
	naveen.n.rao, mpe, mingo, masahiroy, mark.rutland, linux,
	keescook, dave.hansen, conor, catalin.marinas, bp, ardb, aou,
	aneesh.kumar, nathan, akpm


The patch titled
     Subject: fortify: drop Clang version check for 12.0.1 or newer
has been added to the -mm mm-nonmm-unstable branch.  Its filename is
     fortify-drop-clang-version-check-for-1201-or-newer.patch

This patch will shortly appear at
     https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/akpm/25-new.git/tree/patches/fortify-drop-clang-version-check-for-1201-or-newer.patch

This patch will later appear in the mm-nonmm-unstable branch at
    git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/akpm/mm

Before you just go and hit "reply", please:
   a) Consider who else should be cc'ed
   b) Prefer to cc a suitable mailing list as well
   c) Ideally: find the original patch on the mailing list and do a
      reply-to-all to that, adding suitable additional cc's

*** Remember to use Documentation/process/submit-checklist.rst when testing your code ***

The -mm tree is included into linux-next via the mm-everything
branch at git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/akpm/mm
and is updated there every 2-3 working days

------------------------------------------------------
From: Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>
Subject: fortify: drop Clang version check for 12.0.1 or newer
Date: Thu, 25 Jan 2024 15:55:15 -0700

Now that the minimum supported version of LLVM for building the kernel has
been bumped to 13.0.1, this condition is always true, as the build will
fail during the configuration stage for older LLVM versions.  Remove it.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20240125-bump-min-llvm-ver-to-13-0-1-v1-9-f5ff9bda41c5@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Nathan Chancellor <nathan@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V (IBM)" <aneesh.kumar@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ardb@kernel.org>
Cc: Borislav Petkov (AMD) <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Conor Dooley <conor@kernel.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: "Naveen N. Rao" <naveen.n.rao@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: Nicolas Schier <nicolas@fjasle.eu>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
---

 security/Kconfig |    2 --
 1 file changed, 2 deletions(-)

--- a/security/Kconfig~fortify-drop-clang-version-check-for-1201-or-newer
+++ a/security/Kconfig
@@ -142,8 +142,6 @@ config HARDENED_USERCOPY
 config FORTIFY_SOURCE
 	bool "Harden common str/mem functions against buffer overflows"
 	depends on ARCH_HAS_FORTIFY_SOURCE
-	# https://llvm.org/pr41459
-	depends on !CC_IS_CLANG || CLANG_VERSION >= 120001
 	# https://github.com/llvm/llvm-project/issues/53645
 	depends on !CC_IS_CLANG || !X86_32
 	help
_

Patches currently in -mm which might be from nathan@kernel.org are

selftests-bpf-update-llvm-phabricator-links.patch
arch-and-include-update-llvm-phabricator-links.patch
treewide-update-llvm-bugzilla-links.patch
kbuild-raise-the-minimum-supported-version-of-llvm-to-1301.patch
makefile-drop-warn-stack-size-plugin-opt.patch
x86-drop-stack-alignment-plugin-opt.patch
arm-remove-thumb2-__builtin_thread_pointer-workaround-for-clang.patch
arm64-kconfig-clean-up-tautological-llvm-version-checks.patch
powerpc-kconfig-remove-tautology-in-config_compat.patch
riscv-remove-mcount_name-workaround.patch
riscv-kconfig-remove-version-dependency-from-config_clang_supports_dynamic_ftrace.patch
fortify-drop-clang-version-check-for-1201-or-newer.patch
lib-kconfigdebug-update-clang-version-check-in-config_kcov.patch
compiler-clangh-update-__diag_clang-macros-for-minimum-version-bump.patch


^ permalink raw reply	[flat|nested] only message in thread

only message in thread, other threads:[~2024-01-26  2:15 UTC | newest]

Thread overview: (only message) (download: mbox.gz / follow: Atom feed)
-- links below jump to the message on this page --
2024-01-26  2:14 + fortify-drop-clang-version-check-for-1201-or-newer.patch added to mm-nonmm-unstable branch Andrew Morton

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.