All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Steve French <smfrench@gmail.com>
To: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>,
	Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@primarydata.com>,
	"Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>,
	linux-block@vger.kernel.org,
	ceph-devel <ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com>,
	"Darrick J. Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>,
	Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org>,
	Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@dilger.ca>,
	Anna Schumaker <anna.schumaker@netapp.com>,
	linux-mm <linux-mm@kvack.org>, Bob Liu <bob.liu@oracle.com>,
	"Darrick J. Wong" <djwong@kernel.org>,
	Josef Bacik <josef@toxicpanda.com>,
	Seth Jennings <sjenning@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-xfs <linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-ext4 <linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org>,
	CIFS <linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org>, Chris Mason <clm@fb.com>,
	David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>, Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>,
	Steve French <sfrench@samba.org>,
	Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>,
	linux-nfs <linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org>,
	Ilya Dryomov <idryomov@gmail.com>,
	linux-btrfs <linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC][PATCH v3 0/9] mm: Use DIO for swap and fix NFS swapfiles
Date: Thu, 30 Sep 2021 10:54:32 -0500	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAH2r5msHO9HTQGeO6MoR2_U76B9kLeoFS=FRbMuiNsh=YeFdWg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <163279868982.18792.10448745714922373194@noble.neil.brown.name>

On Mon, Sep 27, 2021 at 10:12 PM NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de> wrote:
>
> On Sat, 25 Sep 2021, David Howells wrote:
> > Whilst trying to make this work, I found that NFS's support for swapfiles
> > seems to have been non-functional since Aug 2019 (I think), so the first
> > patch fixes that.  Question is: do we actually *want* to keep this
> > functionality, given that it seems that no one's tested it with an upstream
> > kernel in the last couple of years?
>
> SUSE definitely want to keep this functionality.  We have customers
> using it.
> I agree it would be good if it was being tested somewhere....
>

I am trying to work through the testing of swap over SMB3 mounts
since there are use cases where you need to expand the swap
space to remote storage and so this requirement comes up.  The main difficulty
I run into is forgetting to mount with the mount options (to store mode bits)
(so swap file has the right permissions) and debugging some of the
xfstests relating to swap can be a little confusing.

-- 
Thanks,

Steve

  reply	other threads:[~2021-09-30 15:54 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 28+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-24 17:17 David Howells
2021-09-24 17:18 ` [PATCH v3 1/9] mm: Remove the callback func argument from __swap_writepage() David Howells
2021-09-24 17:18 ` [PATCH v3 2/9] mm: Add 'supports' field to the address_space_operations to list features David Howells
2021-09-24 20:10   ` Matthew Wilcox
2021-09-24 17:18 ` [PATCH v3 3/9] mm: Make swap_readpage() void David Howells
2021-09-24 22:07   ` Matthew Wilcox
2021-09-24 17:18 ` [PATCH v3 4/9] Introduce IOCB_SWAP kiocb flag to trigger REQ_SWAP David Howells
2021-09-26 21:56   ` Dave Chinner
2021-09-24 17:18 ` [PATCH v3 5/9] mm: Make swap_readpage() for SWP_FS_OPS use ->swap_rw() not ->readpage() David Howells
2021-09-24 17:18 ` [PATCH v3 6/9] mm: Make __swap_writepage() do async DIO if asked for it David Howells
2021-09-24 17:19 ` [PATCH v3 7/9] nfs: Fix write to swapfile failure due to generic_write_checks() David Howells
2021-09-24 17:19 ` [PATCH v3 8/9] block, btrfs, ext4, xfs: Implement swap_rw David Howells
2021-09-24 17:19 ` [PATCH v3 9/9] mm: Remove swap BIO paths and only use DIO paths David Howells
2021-09-25 14:56   ` Matthew Wilcox
2021-09-25 15:36   ` David Howells
2021-09-25 17:09     ` Matthew Wilcox
2021-09-26 23:08       ` Damien Le Moal
2021-09-27  1:25         ` Dave Chinner
2021-09-27  1:41           ` Damien Le Moal
2021-09-27 20:03     ` David Sterba
2021-09-25 23:42 ` [RFC][PATCH v3 0/9] mm: Use DIO for swap and fix NFS swapfiles Dave Chinner
2021-09-26  3:10   ` Matthew Wilcox
2021-09-26 22:36     ` Dave Chinner
2021-09-27 20:07 ` David Sterba
2021-09-28  3:11 ` NeilBrown
2021-09-30 15:54   ` Steve French [this message]
2021-09-30 15:54     ` Steve French
2021-09-29 15:45 ` David Howells

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAH2r5msHO9HTQGeO6MoR2_U76B9kLeoFS=FRbMuiNsh=YeFdWg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=smfrench@gmail.com \
    --cc=adilger.kernel@dilger.ca \
    --cc=anna.schumaker@netapp.com \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=bob.liu@oracle.com \
    --cc=ceph-devel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=clm@fb.com \
    --cc=dan.magenheimer@oracle.com \
    --cc=darrick.wong@oracle.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=djwong@kernel.org \
    --cc=dsterba@suse.com \
    --cc=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=idryomov@gmail.com \
    --cc=jlayton@kernel.org \
    --cc=josef@toxicpanda.com \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-cifs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-nfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=minchan@kernel.org \
    --cc=neilb@suse.de \
    --cc=sfrench@samba.org \
    --cc=sjenning@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@hammerspace.com \
    --cc=trond.myklebust@primarydata.com \
    --cc=tytso@mit.edu \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --subject='Re: [RFC][PATCH v3 0/9] mm: Use DIO for swap and fix NFS swapfiles' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.