All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Paul Moore <paul@paul-moore.com>
To: "Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@kernel.org>
Cc: "Kees Cook" <keescook@chromium.org>,
	"Steffen Klassert" <steffen.klassert@secunet.com>,
	"Herbert Xu" <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Stephen Smalley" <stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com>,
	"Eric Paris" <eparis@parisplace.org>,
	"Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	"Xiu Jianfeng" <xiujianfeng@huawei.com>,
	"Christian Göttsche" <cgzones@googlemail.com>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, selinux@vger.kernel.org,
	"Alexei Starovoitov" <ast@kernel.org>,
	alsa-devel@alsa-project.org, "Al Viro" <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	"Andrew Gabbasov" <andrew_gabbasov@mentor.com>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Andy Gross" <agross@kernel.org>,
	"Andy Lavr" <andy.lavr@gmail.com>,
	"Arend van Spriel" <aspriel@gmail.com>,
	"Baowen Zheng" <baowen.zheng@corigine.com>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	"Boris Ostrovsky" <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>,
	"Bradley Grove" <linuxdrivers@attotech.com>,
	brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@broadcom.com,
	"Christian Brauner" <brauner@kernel.org>,
	"Christian Lamparter" <chunkeey@googlemail.com>,
	"Chris Zankel" <chris@zankel.net>,
	"Cong Wang" <cong.wang@bytedance.com>,
	"Daniel Axtens" <dja@axtens.net>,
	"Daniel Vetter" <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>,
	"Dan Williams" <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"David Gow" <davidgow@google.com>,
	"David Howells" <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	"Dennis Dalessandro" <dennis.dalessandro@cornelisnetworks.com>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org, "Dexuan Cui" <decui@microsoft.com>,
	"Dmitry Kasatkin" <dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com>,
	"Eli Cohen" <elic@nvidia.com>,
	"Eric Dumazet" <edumazet@google.com>,
	"Eugeniu Rosca" <erosca@de.adit-jv.com>,
	"Felipe Balbi" <balbi@kernel.org>,
	"Francis Laniel" <laniel_francis@privacyrequired.com>,
	"Frank Rowand" <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	"Franky Lin" <franky.lin@broadcom.com>,
	"Greg Kroah-Hartman" <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	"Gregory Greenman" <gregory.greenman@intel.com>,
	"Guenter Roeck" <linux@roeck-us.net>,
	"Haiyang Zhang" <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	"Hante Meuleman" <hante.meuleman@broadcom.com>,
	"Hulk Robot" <hulkci@huawei.com>,
	"Jakub Kicinski" <kuba@kernel.org>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"James Morris" <jmorris@namei.org>,
	"Jarkko Sakkinen" <jarkko@kernel.org>,
	"Jaroslav Kysela" <perex@perex.cz>,
	"Jason Gunthorpe" <jgg@ziepe.ca>, "Jens Axboe" <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	"Johan Hedberg" <johan.hedberg@gmail.com>,
	"Johannes Berg" <johannes.berg@intel.com>,
	"Johannes Berg" <johannes@sipsolutions.net>,
	"John Keeping" <john@metanate.com>,
	"Juergen Gross" <jgross@suse.com>,
	"Kalle Valo" <kvalo@kernel.org>,
	"Keith Packard" <keithp@keithp.com>,
	keyrings@vger.kernel.org, kunit-dev@googlegroups.com,
	"Kuniyuki Iwashima" <kuniyu@amazon.co.jp>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	"Lars-Peter Clausen" <lars@metafoo.de>,
	"Lee Jones" <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	"Leon Romanovsky" <leon@kernel.org>,
	"Liam Girdwood" <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	linux1394-devel@lists.sourceforge.net,
	linux-afs@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-bluetooth@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org, linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org, linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org, linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org,
	llvm@lists.linux.dev, "Loic Poulain" <loic.poulain@linaro.org>,
	"Louis Peens" <louis.peens@corigine.com>,
	"Luca Coelho" <luciano.coelho@intel.com>,
	"Luiz Augusto von Dentz" <luiz.dentz@gmail.com>,
	"Marc Dionne" <marc.dionne@auristor.com>,
	"Marcel Holtmann" <marcel@holtmann.org>,
	"Mark Brown" <broonie@kernel.org>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>,
	"Max Filippov" <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	"Mimi Zohar" <zohar@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Muchun Song" <songmuchun@bytedance.com>,
	"Nathan Chancellor" <nathan@kernel.org>,
	"Nuno Sá" <nuno.sa@analog.com>, "Paolo Abeni" <pabeni@redhat.com>,
	"Rich Felker" <dalias@aerifal.cx>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	SHA-cyfmac-dev-list@infineon.com,
	"Simon Horman" <simon.horman@corigine.com>,
	"Stefano Stabellini" <sstabellini@kernel.org>,
	"Stefan Richter" <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de>,
	"Stephen Hemminger" <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"Tadeusz Struk" <tadeusz.struk@linaro.org>,
	"Takashi Iwai" <tiwai@suse.com>, "Tom Rix" <trix@redhat.com>,
	"Udipto Goswami" <quic_ugoswami@quicinc.com>,
	"Vincenzo Frascino" <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>,
	wcn36xx@lists.infradead.org, "Wei Liu" <wei.liu@kernel.org>,
	xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org,
	"Yang Yingliang" <yangyingliang@huawei.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 28/32] selinux: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with xfrm and sidtab
Date: Wed, 4 May 2022 23:14:42 -0400	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHC9VhRJC4AxeDsGpdphfJD4WzgaeBsdONHnixBzft5u_cE-Dw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20220504234324.GA12556@embeddedor>

On Wed, May 4, 2022 at 7:34 PM Gustavo A. R. Silva
<gustavoars@kernel.org> wrote:
>
> Hi Paul,
>
> On Wed, May 04, 2022 at 06:57:28PM -0400, Paul Moore wrote:
> > On Tue, May 3, 2022 at 9:57 PM Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> wrote:
>
> [..]
>
> > > +++ b/include/uapi/linux/xfrm.h
> > > @@ -31,9 +31,9 @@ struct xfrm_id {
> > >  struct xfrm_sec_ctx {
> > >         __u8    ctx_doi;
> > >         __u8    ctx_alg;
> > > -       __u16   ctx_len;
> > > +       __DECLARE_FLEX_ARRAY_ELEMENTS_COUNT(__u16, ctx_len);
> > >         __u32   ctx_sid;
> > > -       char    ctx_str[0];
> > > +       __DECLARE_FLEX_ARRAY_ELEMENTS(char, ctx_str);
> > >  };
> >
> > While I like the idea of this in principle, I'd like to hear about the
> > testing you've done on these patches.  A previous flex array
> > conversion in the audit uapi headers ended up causing a problem with
>
> I'm curious about which commit caused those problems...?

Commit ed98ea2128b6 ("audit: replace zero-length array with
flexible-array member"), however, as I said earlier, the problem was
actually with SWIG, it just happened to be triggered by the kernel
commit.  There was a brief fedora-devel mail thread about the problem,
see the link below:

* https://www.spinics.net/lists/fedora-devel/msg297991.html

To reiterate, I'm supportive of changes like this, but I would like to
hear how it was tested to ensure there are no unexpected problems with
userspace.  If there are userspace problems it doesn't mean we can't
make changes like this, it just means we need to ensure that the
userspace issues are resolved first.

-- 
paul-moore.com

  reply	other threads:[~2022-05-05  3:14 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 71+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-05-04  1:44 [PATCH 00/32] Introduce flexible array struct memcpy() helpers Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 01/32] netlink: Avoid memcpy() across flexible array boundary Kees Cook
2022-05-04  3:12   ` Introduce flexible array struct memcpy() helpers bluez.test.bot
2022-05-04  3:31   ` [PATCH 01/32] netlink: Avoid memcpy() across flexible array boundary Gustavo A. R. Silva
2022-05-04  3:37     ` Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 02/32] Introduce flexible array struct memcpy() helpers Kees Cook
2022-05-04  7:25   ` Johannes Berg
2022-05-04 15:38     ` Kees Cook
2022-05-04 16:08       ` David Laight
2022-05-05 13:16       ` Johannes Berg
2022-05-05 15:16         ` Keith Packard
2022-05-05 19:32           ` Kees Cook
2022-05-05 20:08             ` Keith Packard
2022-05-05 20:12               ` Johannes Berg
2022-05-06 11:15                 ` David Laight
2022-05-06 11:15                   ` David Laight
2022-05-05 19:27         ` Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 03/32] flex_array: Add Kunit tests Kees Cook
2022-05-04  3:00   ` David Gow
2022-05-04 19:43     ` Kees Cook
2022-05-04 19:58   ` Daniel Latypov
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 04/32] fortify: Add run-time WARN for cross-field memcpy() Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 05/32] brcmfmac: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct brcmf_fweh_queue_item Kees Cook
2022-05-16 12:49   ` Arend van Spriel
2022-05-17  3:57     ` Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 06/32] iwlwifi: calib: Prepare to use mem_to_flex_dup() Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 07/32] iwlwifi: calib: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct iwl_calib_result Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 08/32] iwlwifi: mvm: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct ieee80211_key_conf Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 09/32] p54: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct p54_cal_database Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 10/32] wcn36xx: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct wcn36xx_hal_ind_msg Kees Cook
2022-05-04  5:42   ` Kalle Valo
2022-05-04 15:08     ` Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 11/32] nl80211: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct cfg80211_cqm_config Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 12/32] cfg80211: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct cfg80211_bss_ies Kees Cook
2022-05-04  7:28   ` Johannes Berg
2022-05-04 15:13     ` Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 13/32] mac80211: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with several structs Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 14/32] af_unix: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct unix_address Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 15/32] 802/garp: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct garp_attr Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 16/32] 802/mrp: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct mrp_attr Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 17/32] net/flow_offload: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct flow_action_cookie Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 18/32] firewire: Use __mem_to_flex_dup() with struct iso_interrupt_event Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 19/32] afs: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct afs_acl Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 20/32] ASoC: sigmadsp: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct sigmadsp_data Kees Cook
2022-05-04 15:17   ` Mark Brown
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 21/32] soc: qcom: apr: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct apr_rx_buf Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 22/32] atags_proc: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct buffer Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 23/32] Bluetooth: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct hci_op_configure_data_path Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 24/32] IB/hfi1: Use mem_to_flex_dup() for struct tid_rb_node Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 25/32] Drivers: hv: utils: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct cn_msg Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 26/32] ima: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct modsig Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 27/32] KEYS: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct user_key_payload Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 28/32] selinux: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with xfrm and sidtab Kees Cook
2022-05-04 22:57   ` Paul Moore
2022-05-04 23:43     ` Gustavo A. R. Silva
2022-05-05  3:14       ` Paul Moore [this message]
2022-05-05 18:39         ` Kees Cook
2022-05-05 23:16           ` Paul Moore
2022-05-06  1:08             ` Gustavo A. R. Silva
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 29/32] xtensa: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct property Kees Cook
2022-05-04 18:09   ` Rob Herring
2022-05-04 18:09     ` Rob Herring
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 30/32] usb: gadget: f_fs: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct ffs_buffer Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 31/32] xenbus: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct read_buffer Kees Cook
2022-05-04  1:44 ` [PATCH 32/32] esas2r: Use __mem_to_flex() with struct atto_ioctl Kees Cook
2022-05-12 21:41 ` [PATCH 19/32] afs: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with struct afs_acl David Howells
2022-05-12 21:41   ` David Howells
2022-05-13 15:44   ` Kees Cook
2022-05-13 15:44     ` Kees Cook
2022-05-12 21:47 ` [PATCH 00/32] Introduce flexible array struct memcpy() helpers David Howells
2022-05-12 21:47   ` David Howells

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAHC9VhRJC4AxeDsGpdphfJD4WzgaeBsdONHnixBzft5u_cE-Dw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=paul@paul-moore.com \
    --cc=SHA-cyfmac-dev-list@infineon.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=andrew_gabbasov@mentor.com \
    --cc=andy.lavr@gmail.com \
    --cc=aspriel@gmail.com \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=balbi@kernel.org \
    --cc=baowen.zheng@corigine.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com \
    --cc=brauner@kernel.org \
    --cc=brcm80211-dev-list.pdl@broadcom.com \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=cgzones@googlemail.com \
    --cc=chris@zankel.net \
    --cc=chunkeey@googlemail.com \
    --cc=cong.wang@bytedance.com \
    --cc=dalias@aerifal.cx \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=davidgow@google.com \
    --cc=decui@microsoft.com \
    --cc=dennis.dalessandro@cornelisnetworks.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dja@axtens.net \
    --cc=dmitry.kasatkin@gmail.com \
    --cc=edumazet@google.com \
    --cc=elic@nvidia.com \
    --cc=eparis@parisplace.org \
    --cc=erosca@de.adit-jv.com \
    --cc=franky.lin@broadcom.com \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=gregory.greenman@intel.com \
    --cc=gustavoars@kernel.org \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=hante.meuleman@broadcom.com \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=hulkci@huawei.com \
    --cc=jarkko@kernel.org \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=johan.hedberg@gmail.com \
    --cc=johannes.berg@intel.com \
    --cc=johannes@sipsolutions.net \
    --cc=john@metanate.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=keithp@keithp.com \
    --cc=keyrings@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=kunit-dev@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=kuniyu@amazon.co.jp \
    --cc=kvalo@kernel.org \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=laniel_francis@privacyrequired.com \
    --cc=lars@metafoo.de \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=leon@kernel.org \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=linux-afs@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-bluetooth@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hyperv@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rdma@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-wireless@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux1394-devel@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=linuxdrivers@attotech.com \
    --cc=llvm@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=loic.poulain@linaro.org \
    --cc=louis.peens@corigine.com \
    --cc=luciano.coelho@intel.com \
    --cc=luiz.dentz@gmail.com \
    --cc=marc.dionne@auristor.com \
    --cc=marcel@holtmann.org \
    --cc=martin.petersen@oracle.com \
    --cc=nathan@kernel.org \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nuno.sa@analog.com \
    --cc=pabeni@redhat.com \
    --cc=perex@perex.cz \
    --cc=quic_ugoswami@quicinc.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=selinux@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=simon.horman@corigine.com \
    --cc=songmuchun@bytedance.com \
    --cc=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de \
    --cc=steffen.klassert@secunet.com \
    --cc=stephen.smalley.work@gmail.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=tadeusz.struk@linaro.org \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --cc=trix@redhat.com \
    --cc=vincenzo.frascino@arm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=wcn36xx@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=wei.liu@kernel.org \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    --cc=xiujianfeng@huawei.com \
    --cc=yangyingliang@huawei.com \
    --cc=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 28/32] selinux: Use mem_to_flex_dup() with xfrm and sidtab' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.