All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Tom Rix <trix@redhat.com>
Cc: Zheng Zengkai <zhengzengkai@huawei.com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Hulk Robot <hulkci@huawei.com>,
	linux-afs@lists.infradead.org,
	Marc Dionne <marc.dionne@auristor.com>,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] afs: fix no return statement in function returning non-void
Date: Wed, 16 Jun 2021 07:34:16 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAHk-=wjEThm5Kyockk1kJhd_K-P+972t=SnEj-WX9KcKPW0-Qg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <200ea6f7-0182-9da1-734c-c49102663ccc@redhat.com>

On Wed, Jun 16, 2021 at 5:56 AM Tom Rix <trix@redhat.com> wrote:
>
> A fix is to use the __noreturn attribute on this function

That's certainly a better thing. It would be better yet to figure out
why BUG() didn't do it automatically.

Without CONFIG_BUG, it looks like powerpc picks up

  #ifndef HAVE_ARCH_BUG
  #define BUG() do {} while (1)

which should still make it pointless to have the return.  But I might
have missed something.

             Linus

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-16 14:34 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-15 11:55 David Howells
2021-06-15 12:03 ` David Howells
2021-06-15 14:49 ` Linus Torvalds
2021-06-15 23:58   ` Randy Dunlap
2021-06-16  0:32     ` Linus Torvalds
2021-06-16  1:38       ` Randy Dunlap
2021-06-16  2:19         ` Randy Dunlap
2021-06-16  3:15         ` Zheng Zengkai
2021-06-16 12:56           ` Tom Rix
2021-06-16 14:34             ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2021-06-16 16:22               ` Tom Rix
2021-06-16 16:29                 ` Linus Torvalds
2021-06-18 15:23                   ` Arnd Bergmann
2021-06-16 13:41           ` David Howells
  -- strict thread matches above, loose matches on Subject: below --
2021-03-27 12:16 Zheng Zengkai
2021-03-31  2:32 ` Zheng Zengkai
2021-04-08 14:06 ` David Howells
2021-04-19 22:31   ` Randy Dunlap
2021-05-27 19:48     ` Randy Dunlap

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=wjEThm5Kyockk1kJhd_K-P+972t=SnEj-WX9KcKPW0-Qg@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=hulkci@huawei.com \
    --cc=linux-afs@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=marc.dionne@auristor.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=trix@redhat.com \
    --cc=zhengzengkai@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH] afs: fix no return statement in function returning non-void' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.