All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
To: Uladzislau Rezki <urezki@gmail.com>
Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>,
	Oleksiy Avramchenko <oleksiy.avramchenko@sonymobile.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>,
	Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>,
	Roman Penyaev <rpenyaev@suse.de>,
	Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>, Linux-MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [BUG]: mm/vmalloc: uninitialized variable access in pcpu_get_vm_areas
Date: Tue, 18 Jun 2019 10:01:26 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAK8P3a0965MhQfpygCqxqnocLt9f4L80-mF-UgoP5OdAoLCCqw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAK8P3a1Ab2MVVgSh4EW0Yef_BsxcRbkxarknMzV7tOA+s79qsA@mail.gmail.com>

On Mon, Jun 17, 2019 at 9:29 PM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> wrote:
> On Mon, Jun 17, 2019 at 6:57 PM Uladzislau Rezki <urezki@gmail.com> wrote:

> Using switch/case makes it easier for the compiler because it
> seems to turn this into a single conditional instead of a set of
> conditions. It also seems to be the much more common style
> in the kernel.

Nevermind, the warning came back after all. It's now down to
one out of 2000 randconfig builds I tested, but that's not good
enough. I'll send a patch the way you suggested.

      Arnd

  reply	other threads:[~2019-06-18  8:01 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-06-17 12:14 [BUG]: mm/vmalloc: uninitialized variable access in pcpu_get_vm_areas Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 12:14 ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 13:49 ` Roman Penyaev
2019-06-17 14:04   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 14:04     ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 14:40     ` Roman Penyaev
2019-06-17 14:12 ` Uladzislau Rezki
2019-06-17 14:44   ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 14:44     ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 14:50     ` Roman Penyaev
2019-06-17 14:50     ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 14:50       ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 16:57       ` Uladzislau Rezki
2019-06-17 19:29         ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-17 19:29           ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-18  8:01           ` Arnd Bergmann [this message]
2019-06-18  8:01             ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-06-18  8:53             ` Uladzislau Rezki

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAK8P3a0965MhQfpygCqxqnocLt9f4L80-mF-UgoP5OdAoLCCqw@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=joelaf@google.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mingo@elte.hu \
    --cc=oleksiy.avramchenko@sonymobile.com \
    --cc=rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rpenyaev@suse.de \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=sfr@canb.auug.org.au \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thgarnie@google.com \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=urezki@gmail.com \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.