All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <kees@kernel.org>
To: Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org>, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Seth Jenkins <sethjenkins@google.com>,
	SeongJae Park <sj@kernel.org>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@kernel.org>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	tangmeng <tangmeng@uniontech.com>,
	"Guilherme G. Piccoli" <gpiccoli@igalia.com>,
	Tiezhu Yang <yangtiezhu@loongson.cn>,
	Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	"Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>,
	Valentin Schneider <vschneid@redhat.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@gmail.com>,
	Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com>,
	David Gow <davidgow@google.com>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Baolin Wang <baolin.wang@linux.alibaba.com>,
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>,
	Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>,
	Anton Vorontsov <anton@enomsg.org>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	Laurent Dufour <ldufour@linux.ibm.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, kasan-dev@googlegroups.com,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/6] exit: Put an upper limit on how often we can oops
Date: Tue, 24 Jan 2023 15:09:51 -0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <E5988762-D1D7-4C8A-ACC8-E623D4B29A11@kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <Y9AzndICHRElk4jI@sol.localdomain>

On January 24, 2023 11:38:05 AM PST, Eric Biggers <ebiggers@kernel.org> wrote:
>On Tue, Jan 24, 2023 at 10:54:57AM -0800, Eric Biggers wrote:
>> On Thu, Jan 19, 2023 at 04:28:42PM -0800, Kees Cook wrote:
>> > On Thu, Jan 19, 2023 at 03:19:21PM -0500, Seth Jenkins wrote:
>> > > > Do you have a plan to backport this into upstream LTS kernels?
>> > > 
>> > > As I understand, the answer is "hopefully yes" with the big
>> > > presumption that all stakeholders are on board for the change. There
>> > > is *definitely* a plan to *submit* backports to the stable trees, but
>> > > ofc it will require some approvals.
>> > 
>> > I've asked for at least v6.1.x (it's a clean cherry-pick). Earlier
>> > kernels will need some non-trivial backporting. Is there anyone that
>> > would be interested in stepping up to do that?
>> > 
>> > https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/202301191532.AEEC765@keescook
>> > 
>> 
>> I've sent out a backport to 5.15:
>> https://lore.kernel.org/stable/20230124185110.143857-1-ebiggers@kernel.org/T/#t
>
>Also 5.10, which wasn't too hard after doing 5.15:
>https://lore.kernel.org/stable/20230124193004.206841-1-ebiggers@kernel.org/T/#t

Oh excellent! Thank you very much!

-Kees



-- 
Kees Cook

  reply	other threads:[~2023-01-24 23:10 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-11-17 23:43 [PATCH v3 0/6] exit: Put an upper limit on how often we can oops Kees Cook
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 1/6] panic: Separate sysctl logic from CONFIG_SMP Kees Cook
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 2/6] exit: Put an upper limit on how often we can oops Kees Cook
2023-01-19 20:10   ` SeongJae Park
2023-01-19 20:19     ` Seth Jenkins
2023-01-20  0:28       ` Kees Cook
2023-01-24 18:54         ` Eric Biggers
2023-01-24 19:38           ` Eric Biggers
2023-01-24 23:09             ` Kees Cook [this message]
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 3/6] exit: Expose "oops_count" to sysfs Kees Cook
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 4/6] panic: Consolidate open-coded panic_on_warn checks Kees Cook
2022-11-18  8:33   ` Marco Elver
2022-11-26 17:09   ` Andrey Konovalov
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 5/6] panic: Introduce warn_limit Kees Cook
2022-11-18  0:27   ` Kees Cook
2022-11-17 23:43 ` [PATCH v3 6/6] panic: Expose "warn_count" to sysfs Kees Cook

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=E5988762-D1D7-4C8A-ACC8-E623D4B29A11@kernel.org \
    --to=kees@kernel.org \
    --cc=Jason@zx2c4.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andreyknvl@gmail.com \
    --cc=anton@enomsg.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=baolin.wang@linux.alibaba.com \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=davidgow@google.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=ebiggers@kernel.org \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gpiccoli@igalia.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=kasan-dev@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=ldufour@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-hardening@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mcgrof@kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com \
    --cc=sethjenkins@google.com \
    --cc=sj@kernel.org \
    --cc=tangmeng@uniontech.com \
    --cc=torvalds@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=vincenzo.frascino@arm.com \
    --cc=vschneid@redhat.com \
    --cc=yangtiezhu@loongson.cn \
    --cc=ying.huang@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.