All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
To: Huangzhaoyang <huangzhaoyang@gmail.com>
Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>,
	Zhaoyang Huang <zhaoyang.huang@unisoc.com>,
	Ziwei Dai <ziwei.dai@unisoc.com>, Ke Wang <ke.wang@unisoc.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>, Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6] psi: fix race between psi_trigger_create/destroy
Date: Fri, 21 May 2021 10:18:53 -0400	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YKfBTWQxPkI5jKUe@cmpxchg.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1621562754-8158-1-git-send-email-huangzhaoyang@gmail.com>

On Fri, May 21, 2021 at 10:05:54AM +0800, Huangzhaoyang wrote:
> From: Zhaoyang Huang <zhaoyang.huang@unisoc.com>
> 
> Race detected between psi_trigger_destroy/create as shown below, which
> cause panic by accessing invalid psi_system->poll_wait->wait_queue_entry
> and psi_system->poll_timer->entry->next. Under this modification, the
> race window is removed by initialising poll_wait and poll_timer in
> group_init which are executed only once at beginning.
> 
> psi_trigger_destroy                      psi_trigger_create
> mutex_lock(trigger_lock);
> rcu_assign_pointer(poll_task, NULL);
> mutex_unlock(trigger_lock);
> 					mutex_lock(trigger_lock);
> 					if (!rcu_access_pointer(group->poll_task)) {
> 
> 						timer_setup(poll_timer, poll_timer_fn, 0);
> 
> 						rcu_assign_pointer(poll_task, task);
> 					}
> 					mutex_unlock(trigger_lock);
> 
> synchronize_rcu();
> del_timer_sync(poll_timer); <-- poll_timer has been reinitialized by
> psi_trigger_create
> 
> So, trigger_lock/RCU correctly protects destruction of group->poll_task but
> misses this race affecting poll_timer and poll_wait.
> 
> Fixes: 461daba06bdc ("psi: eliminate kthread_worker from psi trigger
> scheduling mechanism")
> 
> Signed-off-by: ziwei.dai <ziwei.dai@unisoc.com>
> Signed-off-by: ke.wang <ke.wang@unisoc.com>
> Signed-off-by: Zhaoyang Huang <zhaoyang.huang@unisoc.com>

Acked-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-05-21 14:18 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 6+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-21  2:05 [PATCH v6] psi: fix race between psi_trigger_create/destroy Huangzhaoyang
2021-05-21  2:11 ` Suren Baghdasaryan
2021-05-21 11:10   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-05-21 14:18 ` Johannes Weiner [this message]
2021-06-10  7:31   ` Peter Zijlstra
2021-06-10  7:32     ` Peter Zijlstra

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YKfBTWQxPkI5jKUe@cmpxchg.org \
    --to=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=huangzhaoyang@gmail.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=ke.wang@unisoc.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=zhaoyang.huang@unisoc.com \
    --cc=ziwei.dai@unisoc.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.