All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com>
To: Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: "Ahmad Fatoum" <a.fatoum@pengutronix.de>,
	"James Bottomley" <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Jarkko Sakkinen" <jarkko@kernel.org>,
	"David Howells" <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	kernel@pengutronix.de, "Sumit Garg" <sumit.garg@linaro.org>,
	"Pankaj Gupta" <pankaj.gupta@nxp.com>,
	"David Gstir" <david@sigma-star.at>,
	"Michael Walle" <michael@walle.cc>,
	"John Ernberg" <john.ernberg@actia.se>,
	"James Morris" <jmorris@namei.org>,
	"Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>,
	"Horia Geantă" <horia.geanta@nxp.com>,
	"Herbert Xu" <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	"Jan Luebbe" <j.luebbe@pengutronix.de>,
	"Eric Biggers" <ebiggers@kernel.org>,
	"Richard Weinberger" <richard@nod.at>,
	"Franck LENORMAND" <franck.lenormand@nxp.com>,
	"Matthias Schiffer" <matthias.schiffer@ew.tq-group.com>,
	keyrings@vger.kernel.org, linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v10 2/7] KEYS: trusted: allow use of kernel RNG for key material
Date: Tue, 17 May 2022 19:38:06 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YoPdfjswwA2wKinr@zx2c4.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <1c6a5ce2564c29a06eca255072a379351a5fc026.camel@linux.ibm.com>

On Tue, May 17, 2022 at 11:52:55AM -0400, Mimi Zohar wrote:
> On Fri, 2022-05-13 at 16:57 +0200, Ahmad Fatoum wrote:
> >  static int __init init_trusted(void)
> >  {
> > +       int (*get_random)(unsigned char *key, size_t key_len);
> >         int i, ret = 0;
> >  
> >         for (i = 0; i < ARRAY_SIZE(trusted_key_sources); i++) {
> > @@ -322,6 +333,28 @@ static int __init init_trusted(void)
> >                             strlen(trusted_key_sources[i].name)))
> >                         continue;
> >  
> > +               /*
> > +                * We always support trusted.rng="kernel" and "default" as
> > +                * well as trusted.rng=$trusted.source if the trust source
> > +                * defines its own get_random callback.
> > +                */
>  
> While TEE trusted keys support was upstreamed, there was a lot of
> discussion about using kernel RNG.  One of the concerns was lack of or
> insuffiencent entropy during early boot on embedded devices.  This
> concern needs to be clearly documented in both Documentation/admin-
> guide/kernel-parameters.txt and Documentation/security/keys/trusted-
> encrypted.rst.

Sounds like FUD. Use `get_random_bytes_wait()`, and you'll be fine.

Jason

  parent reply	other threads:[~2022-05-17 17:38 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 30+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2022-05-13 14:56 [PATCH v10 0/7] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-13 14:56 ` [PATCH v10 1/7] KEYS: trusted: allow use of TEE as backend without TCG_TPM support Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-13 14:57 ` [PATCH v10 2/7] KEYS: trusted: allow use of kernel RNG for key material Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-17 15:52   ` Mimi Zohar
2022-05-17 16:25     ` Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-17 17:40       ` Jason A. Donenfeld
2022-05-17 17:38     ` Jason A. Donenfeld [this message]
2022-05-17 18:21       ` Mimi Zohar
2022-05-17 18:30         ` Jason A. Donenfeld
2022-05-17 19:49           ` Mimi Zohar
2022-05-18  4:31             ` Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-17 17:27   ` Jason A. Donenfeld
2022-05-17 17:52     ` Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-17 18:00       ` Jason A. Donenfeld
2022-05-17 18:27         ` Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-17 18:10     ` Jarkko Sakkinen
2022-05-17 18:20       ` Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-17 18:20       ` Jason A. Donenfeld
2022-05-13 14:57 ` [PATCH v10 3/7] crypto: caam - determine whether CAAM supports blob encap/decap Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-17 10:03   ` [EXT] " Pankaj Gupta
2022-05-13 14:57 ` [PATCH v10 4/7] crypto: caam - add in-kernel interface for blob generator Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-13 14:57 ` [PATCH v10 5/7] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-13 14:57 ` [PATCH v10 6/7] doc: trusted-encrypted: describe new CAAM trust source Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-13 14:57 ` [PATCH v10 7/7] MAINTAINERS: add KEYS-TRUSTED-CAAM Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-16 18:36 ` [PATCH v10 0/7] KEYS: trusted: Introduce support for NXP CAAM-based trusted keys Jarkko Sakkinen
2022-05-17 12:44   ` Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-18  1:08     ` Jarkko Sakkinen
2022-05-18  4:36       ` Ahmad Fatoum
2022-05-18 14:58         ` Jarkko Sakkinen
2022-05-19 23:41           ` Jarkko Sakkinen

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YoPdfjswwA2wKinr@zx2c4.com \
    --to=jason@zx2c4.com \
    --cc=a.fatoum@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=david@sigma-star.at \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=ebiggers@kernel.org \
    --cc=franck.lenormand@nxp.com \
    --cc=herbert@gondor.apana.org.au \
    --cc=horia.geanta@nxp.com \
    --cc=j.luebbe@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=jarkko@kernel.org \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jmorris@namei.org \
    --cc=john.ernberg@actia.se \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=keyrings@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=matthias.schiffer@ew.tq-group.com \
    --cc=michael@walle.cc \
    --cc=pankaj.gupta@nxp.com \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=serge@hallyn.com \
    --cc=sumit.garg@linaro.org \
    --cc=zohar@linux.ibm.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.