All of lore.kernel.org
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
To: xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org
Cc: sstabellini@kernel.org, "Jan Beulich" <jbeulich@suse.com>,
	"Andrew Cooper" <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>,
	"Roger Pau Monné" <roger.pau@citrix.com>,
	"Bertrand Marquis" <bertrand.marquis@arm.com>,
	"Julien Grall" <julien@xen.org>
Subject: [PATCH] docs/misra: add R16.2 and R16.3
Date: Tue, 14 Nov 2023 15:12:51 -0800 (PST)	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <alpine.DEB.2.22.394.2311141511510.160649@ubuntu-linux-20-04-desktop> (raw)

For Rule 16.2 deviate xen/arch/x86/x86_emulate.
For Rule 16.2 allow control flow statements and terminals. For the rest,
request the "fallthrough" psedo-keyword to be used.

Signed-off-by: Stefano Stabellini <stefano.stabellini@amd.com>
---
 docs/misra/rules.rst | 14 ++++++++++++++
 1 file changed, 14 insertions(+)

diff --git a/docs/misra/rules.rst b/docs/misra/rules.rst
index 375a886607..926ecc9d82 100644
--- a/docs/misra/rules.rst
+++ b/docs/misra/rules.rst
@@ -462,6 +462,20 @@ maintainers if you want to suggest a change.
 
        while(0) and while(1) and alike are allowed.
 
+   * - `Rule 16.2 <https://gitlab.com/MISRA/MISRA-C/MISRA-C-2012/Example-Suite/-/blob/master/R_16_02.c>`_
+     - Required
+     - A switch label shall only be used when the most closely-enclosing
+       compound statement is the body of a switch statement
+     - xen/arch/x86/x86_emulate/ doesn't follow this guideline
+
+   * - `Rule 16.3 <https://gitlab.com/MISRA/MISRA-C/MISRA-C-2012/Example-Suite/-/blob/master/R_16_03.c>`_
+     - Required
+     - An unconditional break statement shall terminate every
+       switch-clause
+     - Control flow statements (goto, return, continue) and terminals
+       (BUG()) are permitted. Other cases shall have the pseudo-keyword
+       "fallthrough".
+
    * - `Rule 16.7 <https://gitlab.com/MISRA/MISRA-C/MISRA-C-2012/Example-Suite/-/blob/master/R_16_07.c>`_
      - Required
      - A switch-expression shall not have essentially Boolean type
-- 
2.25.1



                 reply	other threads:[~2023-11-14 23:13 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: [no followups] expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=alpine.DEB.2.22.394.2311141511510.160649@ubuntu-linux-20-04-desktop \
    --to=sstabellini@kernel.org \
    --cc=andrew.cooper3@citrix.com \
    --cc=bertrand.marquis@arm.com \
    --cc=jbeulich@suse.com \
    --cc=julien@xen.org \
    --cc=roger.pau@citrix.com \
    --cc=xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is an external index of several public inboxes,
see mirroring instructions on how to clone and mirror
all data and code used by this external index.