dmaengine Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
To: dmaengine@vger.kernel.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	alsa-devel@alsa-project.org
Cc: Hyun Kwon <hyun.kwon@xilinx.com>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>,
	Michal Simek <michal.simek@xilinx.com>,
	Alexandre Bounine <alex.bou9@gmail.com>,
	Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>, Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>,
	Matt Porter <mporter@kernel.crashing.org>
Subject: [PATCH v2 1/3] rapidio: Replace 'select' DMADEVICES 'with depends on'
Date: Fri, 31 Jul 2020 18:24:31 +0300
Message-ID: <20200731152433.1297-2-laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200731152433.1297-1-laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>

Enabling a whole subsystem from a single driver 'select' is frowned
upon and won't be accepted in new drivers, that need to use 'depends on'
instead. Existing selection of DMADEVICES will then cause circular
dependencies. Replace them with a dependency.

Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
---
 drivers/rapidio/Kconfig | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/rapidio/Kconfig b/drivers/rapidio/Kconfig
index e4c422d806be..b9f8514909bf 100644
--- a/drivers/rapidio/Kconfig
+++ b/drivers/rapidio/Kconfig
@@ -37,7 +37,7 @@ config RAPIDIO_ENABLE_RX_TX_PORTS
 config RAPIDIO_DMA_ENGINE
 	bool "DMA Engine support for RapidIO"
 	depends on RAPIDIO
-	select DMADEVICES
+	depends on DMADEVICES
 	select DMA_ENGINE
 	help
 	  Say Y here if you want to use DMA Engine frameork for RapidIO data
-- 
Regards,

Laurent Pinchart


  reply index

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-31 15:24 [PATCH v2 0/3] Fix Kconfig dependency issue with DMAENGINES selection Laurent Pinchart
2020-07-31 15:24 ` Laurent Pinchart [this message]
2020-07-31 15:24 ` [PATCH v2 2/3] ASoC: sh: Replace 'select' DMADEVICES 'with depends on' Laurent Pinchart
2020-07-31 15:24 ` [PATCH v2 3/3] drm: xlnx: dpsub: Fix DMADEVICES Kconfig dependency Laurent Pinchart
2020-07-31 16:47 ` [PATCH v2 0/3] Fix Kconfig dependency issue with DMAENGINES selection Vinod Koul
2020-07-31 20:42   ` Laurent Pinchart
2020-08-02  6:44     ` Vinod Koul
2020-07-31 18:55 ` Mark Brown

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200731152433.1297-2-laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --to=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=alex.bou9@gmail.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=broonie@kernel.org \
    --cc=dmaengine@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=hyun.kwon@xilinx.com \
    --cc=lgirdwood@gmail.com \
    --cc=michal.simek@xilinx.com \
    --cc=mporter@kernel.crashing.org \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

dmaengine Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dmaengine/0 dmaengine/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dmaengine dmaengine/ https://lore.kernel.org/dmaengine \
		dmaengine@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index dmaengine

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.dmaengine


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git