DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
To: "Burakov, Anatoly" <anatoly.burakov@intel.com>
Cc: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Gagandeep Singh <G.Singh@nxp.com>, dev <dev@dpdk.org>,
	Olivier Matz <olivier.matz@6wind.com>,
	Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	Nipun Gupta <nipun.gupta@nxp.com>,
	Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>,
	Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>,
	Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	Bruce Richardson <bruce.richardson@intel.com>,
	Gavin Hu <gavin.hu@arm.com>,
	"Ananyev, Konstantin" <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>,
	David Christensen <drc@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] eal: change max hugepage sizes to 4
Date: Mon, 12 Aug 2019 12:01:21 +0200
Message-ID: <1819286.Zbnkx0GmlD@xps> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAJFAV8yw+p-KE-PeFbZD8N8zgMNqwfMg_T73er5r9jT_a92a3g@mail.gmail.com>

12/08/2019 11:49, David Marchand:
> On Mon, Aug 12, 2019 at 11:43 AM Burakov, Anatoly
> <anatoly.burakov@intel.com> wrote:
> > On 08-Aug-19 8:31 AM, Thomas Monjalon wrote:
> > > I would suggest to restrict the change to Arm only with an ifdef,
> > > in order to limit the risk for this release.
> > > We can think about a dynamic hugepage scan in the next release.
> >
> > I don't see how this is necessary. The 3 is an arbitrary number here,
> > and the ABI isn't broken as this is an internal structure. We could
> > increase it to 16 for all i care, and it wouldn't make any difference to
> > the rest of the code - we never populate more than we can find anyway.
> 
> I agree on the principle.
> But at the time this popped up, we were really close to the release.
> It seemed a way to mitigate any unforeseen issue by limiting to the
> platform that was affected.

Exactly, we were extra cautious.

Please increase the value for everybody, thanks.



  reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-07 10:12 Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-07 12:00 ` David Marchand
2019-08-07 12:07   ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-08-07 13:28     ` Hemant Agrawal
2019-08-08  7:31       ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-08-12  9:43         ` Burakov, Anatoly
2019-08-12  9:49           ` David Marchand
2019-08-12 10:01             ` Thomas Monjalon [this message]
2019-08-12 10:38             ` Burakov, Anatoly
2019-08-08  7:33       ` David Marchand
2019-08-08  9:00         ` [dpdk-dev] [EXT] " Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran
2019-08-08 10:37         ` [dpdk-dev] " Hemant Agrawal
2019-08-08 12:29           ` Steve Capper
2019-08-08 12:39             ` David Marchand
2019-08-12  9:42       ` Burakov, Anatoly
2019-08-07 15:27 ` Stephen Hemminger
2019-08-08 12:13 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH v2] eal: change max hugepage sizes to 4 for ARM platforms Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-08 12:37   ` [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-stable] " David Marchand
2019-08-08 15:26     ` Thomas Monjalon
2019-08-07 12:47 [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] eal: change max hugepage sizes to 4 Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-07 12:53 Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-07 14:09 ` Honnappa Nagarahalli
2019-08-08  9:00 Gagandeep Singh
2019-08-08  9:22 ` David Marchand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=1819286.Zbnkx0GmlD@xps \
    --to=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=G.Singh@nxp.com \
    --cc=anatoly.burakov@intel.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=bruce.richardson@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=drc@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=gavin.hu@arm.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=konstantin.ananyev@intel.com \
    --cc=nipun.gupta@nxp.com \
    --cc=olivier.matz@6wind.com \
    --cc=steve.capper@arm.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev/0 dpdk-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dpdk-dev dpdk-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dpdk-dev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git