DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>
To: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
Cc: nhorman@tuxdriver.com, dev@dpdk.org, stable@dpdk.org,
	arybchenko@solarflare.com, mdr@ashroe.eu, stable@dpdk.org,
	John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>,
	Marko Kovacevic <marko.kovacevic@intel.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	Wenzhuo Lu <wenzhuo.lu@intel.com>,
	Nicolas Chautru <nicolas.chautru@intel.com>,
	Declan Doherty <declan.doherty@intel.com>,
	Adrien Mazarguil <adrien.mazarguil@6wind.com>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com>,
	Honnappa Nagarahalli <honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-stable] [PATCH] mark experimental variables
Date: Thu, 09 Jan 2020 15:13:23 +0100
Message-ID: <4177191.8F6SAcFxjW@xps> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191202152030.7800-1-david.marchand@redhat.com>

02/12/2019 16:20, David Marchand:
> So far, we did not pay attention to direct access to variables but they
> are part of the API/ABI too and should be clearly identified.
> 
> Introduce a __rte_experimental_var tag and mark existing exported
> variables.
> 
> Fixes: a4bcd61de82d ("buildtools: add script to check experimental API exports")
> Cc: stable@dpdk.org
> 
> Signed-off-by: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
> ---
> +	elif grep -qe "\(\.data\|\*COM\*\).*[[:space:]]$SYM$" $DUMPFILE &&
> +		! grep -q "\.data\.experimental.*[[:space:]]$SYM$" $DUMPFILE

I like such regex ;)
I don't know COM section but I am not an ELF expert.
Maybe you can just add a comment in the commit log about searching
the symbol in .data and COM sections, even if we don't know exactly why.

One more comment for the record,
I would like we avoid having some variables in the ABI.

Feel free to push this patch.
Acked-by: Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>



  parent reply index

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-25 16:13 [dpdk-dev] [RFC PATCH] " David Marchand
2019-11-26  9:25 ` Ray Kinsella
2019-11-26  9:50   ` David Marchand
2019-11-26 14:15   ` Neil Horman
2019-11-26 14:22 ` Neil Horman
2019-11-27 20:45   ` David Marchand
2019-11-29 11:43     ` Neil Horman
2019-11-29 12:03       ` David Marchand
2019-12-02 15:20 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] " David Marchand
2019-12-03  8:33   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-12-03 15:26   ` Neil Horman
2020-01-09 14:13   ` Thomas Monjalon [this message]
2020-01-09 16:49     ` [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-stable] " David Marchand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=4177191.8F6SAcFxjW@xps \
    --to=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=adrien.mazarguil@6wind.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com \
    --cc=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=declan.doherty@intel.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=honnappa.nagarahalli@arm.com \
    --cc=john.mcnamara@intel.com \
    --cc=marko.kovacevic@intel.com \
    --cc=mdr@ashroe.eu \
    --cc=nhorman@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=nicolas.chautru@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=wenzhuo.lu@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev/0 dpdk-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dpdk-dev dpdk-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dpdk-dev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git