DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
To: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
Cc: dev <dev@dpdk.org>, Thomas Monjalon <thomas@monjalon.net>,
	 Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	dpdk stable <stable@dpdk.org>,  Ray Kinsella <mdr@ashroe.eu>,
	John McNamara <john.mcnamara@intel.com>,
	 Marko Kovacevic <marko.kovacevic@intel.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	 Wenzhuo Lu <wenzhuo.lu@intel.com>,
	Declan Doherty <declan.doherty@intel.com>,
	 Adrien Mazarguil <adrien.mazarguil@6wind.com>,
	Ferruh Yigit <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	 Cristian Dumitrescu <cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [RFC PATCH] mark experimental variables
Date: Fri, 29 Nov 2019 13:03:33 +0100
Message-ID: <CAJFAV8w5v7HFO1+B5ZPMtyqfQFYNNrGBs_FO2NQYTGDsNQmR9A@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191129114319.GA10923@hmswarspite.think-freely.org>

On Fri, Nov 29, 2019 at 12:43 PM Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com> wrote:
>
> On Wed, Nov 27, 2019 at 09:45:46PM +0100, David Marchand wrote:
> > On Tue, Nov 26, 2019 at 3:22 PM Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com> wrote:
> > > On Mon, Nov 25, 2019 at 05:13:14PM +0100, David Marchand wrote:
> > > > So far, we did not pay attention to direct access to variables but they
> > > > are part of the API/ABI too and should be clearly identified.
> > > >
> > > > Introduce a __rte_experimental_var tag and mark existing variables.
> > > >
> > > > Fixes: a4bcd61de82d ("buildtools: add script to check experimental API exports")
> > > > Cc: stable@dpdk.org
> > > >
> > > > Signed-off-by: David Marchand <david.marchand@redhat.com>
> > > > ---
> > > > Quick patch to try to catch experimental variables.
> > > > Not sure if we could use a single section, so please advise if there is
> > > > better to do about this.
> > > >
> > > I don't see any definition of __rte_experimental_var here, won't the
> > > preprocessor choke on this when you try to compile without that?
> >
> > Sorry, not getting your point.
> > If there is an issue, then it is the same as __rte_experimental.
> >
> No, there is no issue, I'm just blind.  For some reason cscope wasn't finding
> the definition of __rte_experimental_var when I applied your patch for me.  Its
> clear you have it below.

Ok, thanks for confirming.

> Acked-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>

I will do an extra pass and submit a non RFC patch with your ack if I
have no change.
Thanks Neil.


-- 
David Marchand


  reply index

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-25 16:13 David Marchand
2019-11-26  9:25 ` Ray Kinsella
2019-11-26  9:50   ` David Marchand
2019-11-26 14:15   ` Neil Horman
2019-11-26 14:22 ` Neil Horman
2019-11-27 20:45   ` David Marchand
2019-11-29 11:43     ` Neil Horman
2019-11-29 12:03       ` David Marchand [this message]
2019-12-02 15:20 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH] " David Marchand
2019-12-03  8:33   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-12-03 15:26   ` Neil Horman
2020-01-09 14:13   ` [dpdk-dev] [dpdk-stable] " Thomas Monjalon
2020-01-09 16:49     ` David Marchand

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAJFAV8w5v7HFO1+B5ZPMtyqfQFYNNrGBs_FO2NQYTGDsNQmR9A@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=david.marchand@redhat.com \
    --cc=adrien.mazarguil@6wind.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=cristian.dumitrescu@intel.com \
    --cc=declan.doherty@intel.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=john.mcnamara@intel.com \
    --cc=marko.kovacevic@intel.com \
    --cc=mdr@ashroe.eu \
    --cc=nhorman@tuxdriver.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=stable@dpdk.org \
    --cc=thomas@monjalon.net \
    --cc=wenzhuo.lu@intel.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev/0 dpdk-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dpdk-dev dpdk-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dpdk-dev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git