DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>
To: Andrew Rybchenko <arybchenko@solarflare.com>,
	Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran <jerinj@marvell.com>,
	"ferruh.yigit@intel.com" <ferruh.yigit@intel.com>,
	"Igor Russkikh" <igor.russkikh@aquantia.com>,
	Pavel Belous <pavel.belous@aquantia.com>,
	Ajit Khaparde <ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com>,
	Somnath Kotur <somnath.kotur@broadcom.com>,
	Rahul Lakkireddy <rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com>,
	Hemant Agrawal <hemant.agrawal@nxp.com>,
	Sachin Saxena <sachin.saxena@nxp.com>,
	Wenzhuo Lu <wenzhuo.lu@intel.com>,
	Gagandeep Singh <g.singh@nxp.com>,
	John Daley <johndale@cisco.com>,
	"Hyong Youb Kim" <hyonkim@cisco.com>,
	Gaetan Rivet <gaetan.rivet@6wind.com>,
	Qi Zhang <qi.z.zhang@intel.com>,
	Xiao Wang <xiao.w.wang@intel.com>,
	Beilei Xing <beilei.xing@intel.com>,
	Jingjing Wu <jingjing.wu@intel.com>,
	Qiming Yang <qiming.yang@intel.com>,
	Konstantin Ananyev <konstantin.ananyev@intel.com>,
	Matan Azrad <matan@mellanox.com>,
	Shahaf Shuler <shahafs@mellanox.com>,
	Yongseok Koh <yskoh@mellanox.com>,
	Viacheslav Ovsiienko <viacheslavo@mellanox.com>,
	Zyta Szpak <zr@semihalf.com>, Liron Himi <lironh@marvell.com>,
	Tomasz Duszynski <tdu@semihalf.com>,
	Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>,
	"K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>,
	"Haiyang Zhang" <haiyangz@microsoft.com>,
	Alejandro Lucero <alejandro.lucero@netronome.com>,
	Nithin Kumar Dabilpuram <ndabilpuram@marvell.com>,
	Kiran Kumar Kokkilagadda <kirankumark@marvell.com>,
	Rasesh Mody <rmody@marvell.com>,
	Shahed Shaikh <shshaikh@marvell.com>,
	Keith Wiles <keith.wiles@intel.com>,
	Maciej Czekaj <mczekaj@marvell.com>,
	Yong Wang <yongwang@vmware.com>
Cc: "dev@dpdk.org" <dev@dpdk.org>
Subject: Re: [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 6/7] net: add ptype set default functionality
Date: Sat, 17 Aug 2019 17:24:13 +0000
Message-ID: <CY4PR1801MB18638F776EA29683CFCB9AB3DEAE0@CY4PR1801MB1863.namprd18.prod.outlook.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <3a371b32-c61d-431a-3bcd-89817c760a14@solarflare.com>

>>
>> Add ptype set default functionality i.e. enable ptype by default and
>> report ptypes even if application disables ptypes.
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Pavan Nikhilesh <pbhagavatula@marvell.com>
>
>May be it is better to have
>rte_ethdev_supported_ptype_set_dummy()
>in ethdev library and use it in PMDs instead of duplicating the function
>in all drivers. Or even treat NULL as dummy? It will remove the patch
>completely.

But how would we differentiate drivers that actually support ptypes vs drivers that don’t do ptypes at all?.
Maybe we could return the OR'd result of get_ptypes for now?


To summarize:

If we agree that rte_eth_dev_set_supported_ptypes() will return  successfully set ptype mask then:

1. If PMD doesn’t support get then we can return 0, application will softparse ptypes.
2. If a subset of ptypes requested by the application through `set_supported_ptypes` are not supported then
 it will return subset of ptypes that are supported set and rest will be parsed in software.
3. If we choose to not have [6/7] i.e. if a PMD has a get function but not set function we can match the masks 
 in  `rte_eth_dev_set_supported_ptypes` and return supported ptype mask.
4. If application calls `rte_eth_dev_set_supported_ptypes` with mask as '0' then packet_type might be undefined.


Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks,
Pavan
  



  reply index

Thread overview: 31+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-08-16  5:55 [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 0/7] ethdev: add new Rx offload flags pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 1/7] ethdev: add set ptype function pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  8:22   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 16:27     ` [dpdk-dev] [EXT] " Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 2/7] ethdev: add mbuf RSS update as a offload pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  7:48   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 11:47     ` Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2019-08-18  4:52     ` Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-18  5:38       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-18  6:18         ` Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-18  7:00           ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-18 12:11             ` Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 3/7] ethdev: add flow action type update as an offload pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  8:05   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 14:23     ` [dpdk-dev] [EXT] " Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2019-08-18  9:46       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-18  4:59     ` [dpdk-dev] " Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-18  5:57       ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-18  6:20         ` Shahaf Shuler
2019-08-18  7:08           ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 4/7] net: update Rx RSS hash offload capabilities pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  7:49   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 12:26     ` Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 5/7] net: update Rx flow action " pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  7:50   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 6/7] net: add ptype set default functionality pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  8:30   ` Andrew Rybchenko
2019-08-17 17:24     ` Pavan Nikhilesh Bhagavatula [this message]
2019-08-16  5:55 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 7/7] examples/eventdev_pipeline: add new Rx RSS hash offload pbhagavatula
2019-08-16  6:01   ` Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran
2019-08-16  6:02 ` [dpdk-dev] [PATCH 0/7] ethdev: add new Rx offload flags Jerin Jacob Kollanukkaran

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CY4PR1801MB18638F776EA29683CFCB9AB3DEAE0@CY4PR1801MB1863.namprd18.prod.outlook.com \
    --to=pbhagavatula@marvell.com \
    --cc=ajit.khaparde@broadcom.com \
    --cc=alejandro.lucero@netronome.com \
    --cc=arybchenko@solarflare.com \
    --cc=beilei.xing@intel.com \
    --cc=dev@dpdk.org \
    --cc=ferruh.yigit@intel.com \
    --cc=g.singh@nxp.com \
    --cc=gaetan.rivet@6wind.com \
    --cc=haiyangz@microsoft.com \
    --cc=hemant.agrawal@nxp.com \
    --cc=hyonkim@cisco.com \
    --cc=igor.russkikh@aquantia.com \
    --cc=jerinj@marvell.com \
    --cc=jingjing.wu@intel.com \
    --cc=johndale@cisco.com \
    --cc=keith.wiles@intel.com \
    --cc=kirankumark@marvell.com \
    --cc=konstantin.ananyev@intel.com \
    --cc=kys@microsoft.com \
    --cc=lironh@marvell.com \
    --cc=matan@mellanox.com \
    --cc=mczekaj@marvell.com \
    --cc=ndabilpuram@marvell.com \
    --cc=pavel.belous@aquantia.com \
    --cc=qi.z.zhang@intel.com \
    --cc=qiming.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=rahul.lakkireddy@chelsio.com \
    --cc=rmody@marvell.com \
    --cc=sachin.saxena@nxp.com \
    --cc=shahafs@mellanox.com \
    --cc=shshaikh@marvell.com \
    --cc=somnath.kotur@broadcom.com \
    --cc=sthemmin@microsoft.com \
    --cc=tdu@semihalf.com \
    --cc=viacheslavo@mellanox.com \
    --cc=wenzhuo.lu@intel.com \
    --cc=xiao.w.wang@intel.com \
    --cc=yongwang@vmware.com \
    --cc=yskoh@mellanox.com \
    --cc=zr@semihalf.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

DPDK-dev Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev/0 dpdk-dev/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dpdk-dev dpdk-dev/ https://lore.kernel.org/dpdk-dev \
		dev@dpdk.org
	public-inbox-index dpdk-dev

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.dpdk.dev


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git