dri-devel.lists.freedesktop.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: "Guido Günther" <agx@sigxcpu.org>
To: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Robert Chiras <robert.chiras@nxp.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>, Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v11 0/2] drm: bridge: Add NWL MIPI DSI host controller support
Date: Fri, 10 Apr 2020 12:48:35 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200410104835.GA22010@bogon.m.sigxcpu.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200409140130.GA11188@ravnborg.org>

Hi,
On Thu, Apr 09, 2020 at 04:01:30PM +0200, Sam Ravnborg wrote:
> Hi Guido.
> 
> On Thu, Apr 09, 2020 at 12:42:00PM +0200, Guido Günther wrote:
> > This adds initial support for the NWL MIPI DSI Host controller found on i.MX8
> > SoCs.
> > 
> > It adds support for the i.MX8MQ but the same IP core can also be found on e.g.
> > i.MX8QXP. I added the necessary hooks to support other imx8 variants but since
> > I only have imx8mq boards to test I omitted the platform data for other SoCs.
> > 
> > The code is based on NXPs BSP so I added Robert Chiras as Co-authored-by.
> > 
> > The most notable changes over the BSP driver are
> >  - Calculate HS mode timing from phy_configure_opts_mipi_dphy
> >  - Perform all clock setup via DT
> >  - Merge nwl-imx and nwl drivers
> >  - Add B0 silion revision quirk
> >  - become a bridge driver to hook into mxsfb / dcss
> >    imx-display-subsystem so it makes sense to make it drive a bridge for dsi as
> >    well).
> >  - Use panel_bridge to attach the panel
> >  - Use multiplex framework instead of accessing syscon directly
> > 
> > This has been tested on a Librem 5 devkit using mxsfb with Robert's patches[1]
> > and the mainline rocktech-jh057n00900 DSI panel driver on next-20200317 and on
> > the Librem5 with the a Mantix MLAF057WE51-X DSI panel driver (not yet mainline)
> > The DCSS (submitted for mainline inclusion now too) can also act as input
> > source.
> 
> Thanks for your persistence with this driver.
> I got ack from Laurent on IRC to apply it (not for the driver as he had
> no time to review it).
> So applied to drm-misc-next now.
> 
> I look forward for the update to support DRM_BRIDGE_ATTACH_NO_CONNECTOR
> in this driver and the corresponding display driver.

Thanks. I'll have a look at that (currently checking where the larger
mxsfb rework of Laurent is going so i can use that as a base
eventually).
Cheers,
 -- Guido
_______________________________________________
dri-devel mailing list
dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/dri-devel

      reply	other threads:[~2020-04-10 10:48 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-04-09 10:42 Guido Günther
2020-04-09 10:42 ` [PATCH v11 1/2] dt-bindings: display/bridge: Add binding for NWL mipi dsi host controller Guido Günther
2020-04-10 11:23   ` Laurent Pinchart
2020-04-10 12:45     ` Guido Günther
2020-04-10 12:57       ` Laurent Pinchart
2020-04-12 16:38         ` Guido Günther
2020-04-15  2:19           ` Laurent Pinchart
2020-04-09 10:42 ` [PATCH v11 2/2] drm/bridge: Add NWL MIPI DSI host controller support Guido Günther
2020-04-09 14:01 ` [PATCH v11 0/2] drm: bridge: " Sam Ravnborg
2020-04-10 10:48   ` Guido Günther [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200410104835.GA22010@bogon.m.sigxcpu.org \
    --to=agx@sigxcpu.org \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=robert.chiras@nxp.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v11 0/2] drm: bridge: Add NWL MIPI DSI host controller support' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).