dri-devel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
To: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>,
	Anton Ivanov <anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com>,
	linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	Brian Cain <bcain@codeaurora.org>,
	Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	"Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>,
	linux-um@lists.infradead.org,
	Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>,
	rcu@vger.kernel.org,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>,
	Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>,
	Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>,
	linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org,
	Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>,
	linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org,
	Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
Subject: [patch 11/13] drm/i915: Clenaup PREEMPT_COUNT leftovers
Date: Mon, 14 Sep 2020 22:42:20 +0200
Message-ID: <20200914204442.098732980@linutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200914204209.256266093@linutronix.de>

CONFIG_PREEMPT_COUNT is now unconditionally enabled and will be
removed. Cleanup the leftovers before doing so.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/Kconfig.debug |    1 -
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_utils.h  |    3 +--
 2 files changed, 1 insertion(+), 3 deletions(-)

--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/Kconfig.debug
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/Kconfig.debug
@@ -20,7 +20,6 @@ config DRM_I915_DEBUG
 	bool "Enable additional driver debugging"
 	depends on DRM_I915
 	select DEBUG_FS
-	select PREEMPT_COUNT
 	select I2C_CHARDEV
 	select STACKDEPOT
 	select DRM_DP_AUX_CHARDEV
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_utils.h
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_utils.h
@@ -337,8 +337,7 @@ wait_remaining_ms_from_jiffies(unsigned
 						   (Wmax))
 #define wait_for(COND, MS)		_wait_for((COND), (MS) * 1000, 10, 1000)
 
-/* If CONFIG_PREEMPT_COUNT is disabled, in_atomic() always reports false. */
-#if defined(CONFIG_DRM_I915_DEBUG) && defined(CONFIG_PREEMPT_COUNT)
+#ifdef CONFIG_DRM_I915_DEBUG
 # define _WAIT_FOR_ATOMIC_CHECK(ATOMIC) WARN_ON_ONCE((ATOMIC) && !in_atomic())
 #else
 # define _WAIT_FOR_ATOMIC_CHECK(ATOMIC) do { } while (0)

_______________________________________________
dri-devel mailing list
dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/dri-devel

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 50+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-09-14 20:42 [patch 00/13] preempt: Make preempt count unconditional Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 01/13] lib/debug: Remove pointless ARCH_NO_PREEMPT dependencies Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 02/13] preempt: Make preempt count unconditional Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 03/13] preempt: Clenaup PREEMPT_COUNT leftovers Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 04/13] lockdep: " Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-15 16:11   ` Will Deacon
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 05/13] mm/pagemap: " Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 06/13] locking/bitspinlock: " Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-15 16:10   ` Will Deacon
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 07/13] uaccess: " Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 08/13] sched: " Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 09/13] ARM: " Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 10/13] xtensa: " Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` Thomas Gleixner [this message]
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 12/13] rcutorture: " Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:42 ` [patch 13/13] preempt: Remove PREEMPT_COUNT from Kconfig Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 20:54 ` [patch 00/13] preempt: Make preempt count unconditional Steven Rostedt
2020-09-14 20:59 ` Linus Torvalds
2020-09-14 21:55   ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-14 22:24     ` Linus Torvalds
2020-09-14 22:37       ` Linus Torvalds
2020-09-15  3:21         ` [PATCH] crypto: lib/chacha20poly1305 - Set SG_MITER_ATOMIC unconditionally Herbert Xu
2020-09-15  6:20         ` [patch 00/13] preempt: Make preempt count unconditional Ard Biesheuvel
2020-09-15  6:22           ` Herbert Xu
2020-09-15  6:39             ` Linus Torvalds
     [not found]               ` <87een35woz.fsf@nanos.tec.linutronix.de>
2020-09-15 17:29                 ` Linus Torvalds
     [not found]       ` <87bli75t7v.fsf@nanos.tec.linutronix.de>
2020-09-15 17:35         ` Linus Torvalds
2020-09-15 19:57           ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-09-16 18:34             ` Linus Torvalds
2020-09-16  7:37           ` Daniel Vetter
2020-09-16 15:29             ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-09-16 18:32               ` Linus Torvalds
2020-09-16 20:43                 ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-09-17  6:38                 ` Ard Biesheuvel
2020-09-16 20:29               ` Daniel Vetter
2020-09-16 20:58                 ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-09-16 21:43                   ` Daniel Vetter
2020-09-16 22:39                     ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-09-17  7:52                       ` Daniel Vetter
2020-09-17 16:28                         ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-09-29  8:19                     ` Michal Hocko
2020-09-29  8:19                       ` Michal Hocko
2020-09-29  8:20                       ` Michal Hocko
2020-09-29  8:21                       ` Michal Hocko
2020-09-29  8:23                       ` Michal Hocko
2020-09-29  9:00                       ` Daniel Vetter
2020-09-29 14:54                         ` Michal Hocko
2020-09-16 19:23     ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-09-16 20:48       ` Paul E. McKenney
2020-09-15 17:25   ` Paul E. McKenney

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200914204442.098732980@linutronix.de \
    --to=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=anton.ivanov@cambridgegreys.com \
    --cc=bcain@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=chris@zankel.net \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jcmvbkbc@gmail.com \
    --cc=jdike@addtoit.com \
    --cc=jiangshanlai@gmail.com \
    --cc=josh@joshtriplett.org \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-um@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-xtensa@linux-xtensa.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com \
    --cc=mattst88@gmail.com \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@kernel.org \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rcu@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=richard@nod.at \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rth@twiddle.net \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=torvalds@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

dri-devel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dri-devel/0 dri-devel/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dri-devel/1 dri-devel/git/1.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dri-devel dri-devel/ https://lore.kernel.org/dri-devel \
		dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
	public-inbox-index dri-devel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.freedesktop.lists.dri-devel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git