dri-devel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>
To: Dmitry Baryshkov <dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org, linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Vinod Koul <vkoul@kernel.org>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Manivannan Sadhasivam <manivannan.sadhasivam@linaro.org>,
	Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 3/3] drm/bridge/lontium-lt9611uxc: move HPD notification out of IRQ handler
Date: Fri, 22 Jan 2021 10:34:28 +0100
Message-ID: <c6737dce-e310-bf5d-fa22-cc8d3ec0136e@samsung.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210121233303.1221784-4-dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org>

W dniu 22.01.2021 o 00:33, Dmitry Baryshkov pisze:
> drm hotplug handling code (drm_client_dev_hotplug()) can wait on mutex,
> thus delaying further lt9611uxc IRQ events processing.  It was observed
> occasionally during bootups, when drm_client_modeset_probe() was waiting
> for EDID ready event, which was delayed because IRQ handler was stuck
> trying to deliver hotplug event.
> Move hotplug notifications from IRQ handler to separate work to be able
> to process IRQ events without delays.
>
> Signed-off-by: Dmitry Baryshkov <dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org>
> Fixes: 0cbbd5b1a012 ("drm: bridge: add support for lontium LT9611UXC bridge")


Reviewed-by: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>


Let's wait till Monday for other comments, then I can queue the patchset.


Regards
Andrzej
_______________________________________________
dri-devel mailing list
dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/dri-devel

  reply index

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-21 23:33 [PATCH v4 0/3] drm/bridge/lontium-lt9611uxc: fix handling of EDID/HPD Dmitry Baryshkov
2021-01-21 23:33 ` [PATCH v4 1/3] drm/bridge/lontium-lt9611uxc: fix waiting for EDID to become available Dmitry Baryshkov
2021-01-22  9:27   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-01-21 23:33 ` [PATCH v4 2/3] drm/bridge/lontium-lt9611uxc: fix get_edid return code Dmitry Baryshkov
2021-01-22  9:28   ` Andrzej Hajda
2021-01-21 23:33 ` [PATCH v4 3/3] drm/bridge/lontium-lt9611uxc: move HPD notification out of IRQ handler Dmitry Baryshkov
2021-01-22  9:34   ` Andrzej Hajda [this message]
2021-01-28 11:24     ` Andrzej Hajda

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=c6737dce-e310-bf5d-fa22-cc8d3ec0136e@samsung.com \
    --to=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=dmitry.baryshkov@linaro.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=manivannan.sadhasivam@linaro.org \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=vkoul@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

dri-devel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/dri-devel/0 dri-devel/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 dri-devel dri-devel/ https://lore.kernel.org/dri-devel \
		dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
	public-inbox-index dri-devel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.freedesktop.lists.dri-devel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git