intel-gfx.lists.freedesktop.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@nvidia.com>
To: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Tony Krowiak <akrowiak@linux.ibm.com>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Cornelia Huck <cohuck@redhat.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	Diana Craciun <diana.craciun@oss.nxp.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Eric Auger <eric.auger@redhat.com>,
	Eric Farman <farman@linux.ibm.com>,
	Harald Freudenberger <freude@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org,
	intel-gvt-dev@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@linux.intel.com>,
	Jason Herne <jjherne@linux.ibm.com>,
	Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>,
	kvm@vger.kernel.org, Kirti Wankhede <kwankhede@nvidia.com>,
	linux-doc@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	Matthew Rosato <mjrosato@linux.ibm.com>,
	Peter Oberparleiter <oberpar@linux.ibm.com>,
	Halil Pasic <pasic@linux.ibm.com>,
	Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>,
	Vineeth Vijayan <vneethv@linux.ibm.com>,
	Zhi Wang <zhi.a.wang@intel.com>
Cc: Max Gurtovoy <mgurtovoy@nvidia.com>,
	Yishai Hadas <yishaih@nvidia.com>,
	"Raj, Ashok" <ashok.raj@intel.com>,
	Leon Romanovsky <leonro@nvidia.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Subject: [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 13/14] vfio/gvt: Fix open/close when multiple device FDs are open
Date: Wed, 28 Jul 2021 21:49:22 -0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <13-v3-6c9e19cc7d44+15613-vfio_reflck_jgg@nvidia.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <0-v3-6c9e19cc7d44+15613-vfio_reflck_jgg@nvidia.com>

The user can open multiple device FDs if it likes, however the open
function calls vfio_register_notifier() on device global state. Calling
vfio_register_notifier() twice will trigger a WARN_ON from
notifier_chain_register() and the first close will wrongly delete the
notifier and more.

Since these really want the new open/close_device() semantics just change
the function over.

Reviewed-by: Zhenyu Wang <zhenyuw@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Cornelia Huck <cohuck@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Signed-off-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@nvidia.com>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/kvmgt.c | 8 ++++----
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/kvmgt.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/kvmgt.c
index 1ac98f8aba31e6..7efa386449d104 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/kvmgt.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/gvt/kvmgt.c
@@ -885,7 +885,7 @@ static int intel_vgpu_group_notifier(struct notifier_block *nb,
 	return NOTIFY_OK;
 }
 
-static int intel_vgpu_open(struct mdev_device *mdev)
+static int intel_vgpu_open_device(struct mdev_device *mdev)
 {
 	struct intel_vgpu *vgpu = mdev_get_drvdata(mdev);
 	struct kvmgt_vdev *vdev = kvmgt_vdev(vgpu);
@@ -1004,7 +1004,7 @@ static void __intel_vgpu_release(struct intel_vgpu *vgpu)
 	vgpu->handle = 0;
 }
 
-static void intel_vgpu_release(struct mdev_device *mdev)
+static void intel_vgpu_close_device(struct mdev_device *mdev)
 {
 	struct intel_vgpu *vgpu = mdev_get_drvdata(mdev);
 
@@ -1753,8 +1753,8 @@ static struct mdev_parent_ops intel_vgpu_ops = {
 	.create			= intel_vgpu_create,
 	.remove			= intel_vgpu_remove,
 
-	.open			= intel_vgpu_open,
-	.release		= intel_vgpu_release,
+	.open_device		= intel_vgpu_open_device,
+	.close_device		= intel_vgpu_close_device,
 
 	.read			= intel_vgpu_read,
 	.write			= intel_vgpu_write,
-- 
2.32.0

_______________________________________________
Intel-gfx mailing list
Intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/intel-gfx

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-07-29  0:50 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 29+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-07-29  0:49 [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 00/14] Provide core infrastructure for managing open/release Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 01/14] vfio/samples: Remove module get/put Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 02/14] vfio/mbochs: Fix missing error unwind of mbochs_used_mbytes Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  7:21   ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 03/14] vfio: Introduce a vfio_uninit_group_dev() API call Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 04/14] vfio: Provide better generic support for open/release vfio_device_ops Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  7:26   ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 05/14] vfio/samples: Delete useless open/close Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 06/14] vfio/fsl: Move to the device set infrastructure Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 07/14] vfio/platform: Use open_device() instead of open coding a refcnt scheme Jason Gunthorpe
2021-08-05 12:37   ` Eric Auger
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 08/14] vfio/pci: Move to the device set infrastructure Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 09/14] vfio/pci: Change vfio_pci_try_bus_reset() to use the dev_set Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  7:30   ` Christoph Hellwig
2021-08-03 16:34   ` Alex Williamson
2021-08-03 16:41     ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-08-03 16:52       ` Alex Williamson
2021-08-05 11:47         ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-08-05 17:33           ` Alex Williamson
2021-08-05 23:05             ` Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 10/14] vfio/pci: Reorganize VFIO_DEVICE_PCI_HOT_RESET to use the device set Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 11/14] vfio/mbochs: Fix close when multiple device FDs are open Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 12/14] vfio/ap, ccw: Fix open/close " Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  0:49 ` Jason Gunthorpe [this message]
2021-07-29  0:49 ` [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 14/14] vfio: Remove struct vfio_device_ops open/release Jason Gunthorpe
2021-07-29  2:13 ` [Intel-gfx] ✗ Fi.CI.CHECKPATCH: warning for Provide core infrastructure for managing open/release (rev7) Patchwork
2021-07-29  2:37 ` [Intel-gfx] ✓ Fi.CI.BAT: success " Patchwork
2021-07-29  8:16 ` [Intel-gfx] ✓ Fi.CI.IGT: " Patchwork
2021-08-05 14:26 ` [Intel-gfx] ✗ Fi.CI.BUILD: failure for Provide core infrastructure for managing open/release (rev8) Patchwork

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=13-v3-6c9e19cc7d44+15613-vfio_reflck_jgg@nvidia.com \
    --to=jgg@nvidia.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akrowiak@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=ashok.raj@intel.com \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=cohuck@redhat.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=diana.craciun@oss.nxp.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=eric.auger@redhat.com \
    --cc=farman@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=freude@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=intel-gvt-dev@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jani.nikula@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=jjherne@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kwankhede@nvidia.com \
    --cc=leonro@nvidia.com \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mgurtovoy@nvidia.com \
    --cc=mjrosato@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=oberpar@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=pasic@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=rodrigo.vivi@intel.com \
    --cc=vneethv@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=yishaih@nvidia.com \
    --cc=zhi.a.wang@intel.com \
    --subject='Re: [Intel-gfx] [PATCH v3 13/14] vfio/gvt: Fix open/close when multiple device FDs are open' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).