IO-Uring Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
To: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>, io-uring <io-uring@vger.kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-mm <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	Linux API <linux-api@vger.kernel.org>,
	Oleksandr Natalenko <oleksandr@redhat.com>,
	Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>,
	Tim Murray <timmurray@google.com>,
	Daniel Colascione <dancol@google.com>,
	Sandeep Patil <sspatil@google.com>,
	Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@google.com>,
	Brian Geffon <bgeffon@google.com>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>,
	Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>,
	John Dias <joaodias@google.com>,
	Joel Fernandes <joel@joelfernandes.org>,
	sj38.park@gmail.com,
	Alexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 1/7] mm: pass task and mm to do_madvise
Date: Fri, 14 Feb 2020 12:09:50 -0700
Message-ID: <93aadcc6-3ef5-4ea0-be6b-23c06862002e@kernel.dk> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200214184514.GA165785@google.com>

On 2/14/20 11:45 AM, Minchan Kim wrote:
> diff --git a/fs/io_uring.c b/fs/io_uring.c
> index 63beda9bafc5..1c7e9cd6c8ce 100644
> --- a/fs/io_uring.c
> +++ b/fs/io_uring.c
> @@ -2736,7 +2736,7 @@ static int io_madvise(struct io_kiocb *req, struct io_kiocb **nxt,
>  	if (force_nonblock)
>  		return -EAGAIN;
>  
> -	ret = do_madvise(ma->addr, ma->len, ma->advice);
> +	ret = do_madvise(NULL, current->mm, ma->addr, ma->len, ma->advice);
>  	if (ret < 0)
>  		req_set_fail_links(req);
>  	io_cqring_add_event(req, ret);

I think we want to use req->work.mm here - it'll be the same as
current->mm at this point, but it makes it clear that we're using a
grabbed mm.

-- 
Jens Axboe


  reply index

Thread overview: 5+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <20200214170520.160271-1-minchan@kernel.org>
     [not found] ` <20200214170520.160271-2-minchan@kernel.org>
2020-02-14 17:25   ` Jann Horn
2020-02-14 18:22     ` Jens Axboe
2020-02-14 18:45       ` Minchan Kim
2020-02-14 19:09         ` Jens Axboe [this message]
2020-02-14 19:31           ` Minchan Kim

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=93aadcc6-3ef5-4ea0-be6b-23c06862002e@kernel.dk \
    --to=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexander.h.duyck@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bgeffon@google.com \
    --cc=dancol@google.com \
    --cc=hannes@cmpxchg.org \
    --cc=io-uring@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=joaodias@google.com \
    --cc=joel@joelfernandes.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=minchan@kernel.org \
    --cc=oleksandr@redhat.com \
    --cc=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=sj38.park@gmail.com \
    --cc=sonnyrao@google.com \
    --cc=sspatil@google.com \
    --cc=surenb@google.com \
    --cc=timmurray@google.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

IO-Uring Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/io-uring/0 io-uring/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 io-uring io-uring/ https://lore.kernel.org/io-uring \
		io-uring@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index io-uring

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.io-uring


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git