Kernel-hardening archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
To: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Allen Pais <allen.lkml@gmail.com>,
	Oscar Carter <oscar.carter@gmx.com>,
	Romain Perier <romain.perier@gmail.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Kevin Curtis <kevin.curtis@farsite.co.uk>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Harald Freudenberger <freude@linux.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>, Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>,
	Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>,
	Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>,
	Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>,
	Mitchell Blank Jr <mitch@sfgoth.com>,
	Julian Wiedmann <jwi@linux.ibm.com>,
	Karsten Graul <kgraul@linux.ibm.com>,
	Ursula Braun <ubraun@linux.ibm.com>,
	Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>, Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>,
	Christian Gromm <christian.gromm@microchip.com>,
	Nishka Dasgupta <nishkadg.linux@gmail.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	"Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	Wambui Karuga <wambui.karugax@gmail.com>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>,
	Chris Packham <chris.packham@alliedtelesis.co.nz>,
	Kyungtae Kim <kt0755@gmail.com>,
	Kuppuswamy Sathyanarayanan
	<sathyanarayanan.kuppuswamy@linux.intel.com>,
	Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-input@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	devel@driverdev.osuosl.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net,
	alsa-devel@alsa-project.org, kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 0/3] Modernize tasklet callback API
Date: Wed, 15 Jul 2020 20:08:44 -0700
Message-ID: <20200716030847.1564131-1-keescook@chromium.org> (raw)

Hi,

This is the infrastructure changes to prepare the tasklet API for
conversion to passing the tasklet struct as the callback argument instead
of an arbitrary unsigned long. The first patch details why this is useful
(it's the same rationale as the timer_struct changes from a bit ago:
less abuse during memory corruption attacks, more in line with existing
ways of doing things in the kernel, save a little space in struct,
etc). Notably, the existing tasklet API use is much less messy, so there
is less to clean up.

It's not clear to me which tree this should go through... Greg since it
starts with a USB clean-up, -tip for timer or interrupt, or if I should
just carry it. I'm open to suggestions, but if I don't hear otherwise,
I'll just carry it.

My goal is to have this merged for v5.9-rc1 so that during the v5.10
development cycle the new API will be available. The entire tree of
changes is here[1] currently, but to split it up by maintainer the
infrastructure changes need to be landed first.

Review and Acks appreciated! :)

Thanks,

-Kees

[1] https://github.com/allenpais/tasklets/commits/tasklets_V2

Kees Cook (2):
  usb: gadget: udc: Avoid tasklet passing a global
  treewide: Replace DECLARE_TASKLET() with DECLARE_TASKLET_OLD()

Romain Perier (1):
  tasklet: Introduce new initialization API

 drivers/input/keyboard/omap-keypad.c   |  2 +-
 drivers/input/serio/hil_mlc.c          |  2 +-
 drivers/net/wan/farsync.c              |  4 +--
 drivers/s390/crypto/ap_bus.c           |  2 +-
 drivers/staging/most/dim2/dim2.c       |  2 +-
 drivers/staging/octeon/ethernet-tx.c   |  2 +-
 drivers/tty/vt/keyboard.c              |  2 +-
 drivers/usb/gadget/udc/snps_udc_core.c |  6 ++---
 drivers/usb/host/fhci-sched.c          |  2 +-
 include/linux/interrupt.h              | 37 ++++++++++++++++++++++----
 kernel/backtracetest.c                 |  2 +-
 kernel/debug/debug_core.c              |  2 +-
 kernel/irq/resend.c                    |  2 +-
 kernel/softirq.c                       | 18 ++++++++++++-
 net/atm/pppoatm.c                      |  2 +-
 net/iucv/iucv.c                        |  2 +-
 sound/drivers/pcsp/pcsp_lib.c          |  2 +-
 17 files changed, 66 insertions(+), 25 deletions(-)

-- 
2.25.1


             reply index

Thread overview: 27+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-16  3:08 Kees Cook [this message]
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 1/3] usb: gadget: udc: Avoid tasklet passing a global Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:28   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 19:41     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-31  9:20   ` Felipe Balbi
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 2/3] treewide: Replace DECLARE_TASKLET() with DECLARE_TASKLET_OLD() Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:30   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 11:29   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-16 19:15     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 3/3] tasklet: Introduce new initialization API Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:30   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 15:37   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-16 19:22     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:57 ` [PATCH 0/3] Modernize tasklet callback API Peter Zijlstra
2020-07-16  8:15   ` Sebastian Andrzej Siewior
2020-07-16 19:24     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16 19:14   ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16 20:48     ` Dmitry Torokhov
2020-07-16 21:24       ` Kees Cook
2020-07-30  7:03 ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-07-30 18:14   ` Kees Cook
2020-08-03  8:46     ` Allen
2020-08-11 12:16       ` Allen
2020-08-11 21:33       ` Kees Cook
2020-08-12  6:21         ` Takashi Iwai
2020-08-12 11:32           ` Allen
2020-08-12 12:31         ` Allen

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200716030847.1564131-1-keescook@chromium.org \
    --to=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=allen.lkml@gmail.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=balbi@kernel.org \
    --cc=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=chris.packham@alliedtelesis.co.nz \
    --cc=christian.gromm@microchip.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=freude@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jason.wessel@windriver.com \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.com \
    --cc=jwi@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com \
    --cc=kevin.curtis@farsite.co.uk \
    --cc=kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=kgraul@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kt0755@gmail.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-input@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=mitch@sfgoth.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nishkadg.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=oscar.carter@gmx.com \
    --cc=perex@perex.cz \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=romain.perier@gmail.com \
    --cc=sathyanarayanan.kuppuswamy@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --cc=ubraun@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=wambui.karugax@gmail.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Kernel-hardening archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening/0 kernel-hardening/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 kernel-hardening kernel-hardening/ https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening \
		kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
	public-inbox-index kernel-hardening

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/com.openwall.lists.kernel-hardening


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git