Kernel-hardening archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de>
To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Allen Pais <allen.lkml@gmail.com>,
	Oscar Carter <oscar.carter@gmx.com>,
	Romain Perier <romain.perier@gmail.com>,
	Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>,
	Kevin Curtis <kevin.curtis@farsite.co.uk>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>,
	Harald Freudenberger <freude@linux.ibm.com>,
	Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>,
	Vasily Gorbik <gor@linux.ibm.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.com>, Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>,
	Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>,
	Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>,
	Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>,
	Mitchell Blank Jr <mitch@sfgoth.com>,
	Julian Wiedmann <jwi@linux.ibm.com>,
	Karsten Graul <kgraul@linux.ibm.com>,
	Ursula Braun <ubraun@linux.ibm.com>,
	Jaroslav Kysela <perex@perex.cz>, Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.com>,
	Christian Gromm <christian.gromm@microchip.com>,
	Nishka Dasgupta <nishkadg.linux@gmail.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	"Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>,
	Wambui Karuga <wambui.karugax@gmail.com>,
	Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>,
	Chris Packham <chris.packham@alliedtelesis.co.nz>,
	Kyungtae Kim <kt0755@gmail.com>,
	Kuppuswamy Sathyanarayanan
	<sathyanarayanan.kuppuswamy@linux.intel.com>,
	"Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-input@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org,
	devel@driverdev.osuosl.org, linux-usb@vger.kernel.org,
	kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net,
	alsa-devel@alsa-project.org, kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/3] Modernize tasklet callback API
Date: Thu, 16 Jul 2020 10:15:38 +0200
Message-ID: <20200716081538.2sivhkj4hcyrusem@linutronix.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200716075718.GM10769@hirez.programming.kicks-ass.net>

On 2020-07-16 09:57:18 [+0200], Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> 
> there appear to be hardly any users left.. Can't we stage an extinction
> event here instead?

Most of the time the tasklet is scheduled from an interrupt handler. So
we could get rid of these tasklets by using threaded IRQs.

Sebastian

  reply index

Thread overview: 27+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-16  3:08 Kees Cook
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 1/3] usb: gadget: udc: Avoid tasklet passing a global Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:28   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 19:41     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-31  9:20   ` Felipe Balbi
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 2/3] treewide: Replace DECLARE_TASKLET() with DECLARE_TASKLET_OLD() Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:30   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 11:29   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-16 19:15     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16  3:08 ` [PATCH 3/3] tasklet: Introduce new initialization API Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:30   ` Greg Kroah-Hartman
2020-07-16 15:37   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-16 19:22     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16  7:57 ` [PATCH 0/3] Modernize tasklet callback API Peter Zijlstra
2020-07-16  8:15   ` Sebastian Andrzej Siewior [this message]
2020-07-16 19:24     ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16 19:14   ` Kees Cook
2020-07-16 20:48     ` Dmitry Torokhov
2020-07-16 21:24       ` Kees Cook
2020-07-30  7:03 ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-07-30 18:14   ` Kees Cook
2020-08-03  8:46     ` Allen
2020-08-11 12:16       ` Allen
2020-08-11 21:33       ` Kees Cook
2020-08-12  6:21         ` Takashi Iwai
2020-08-12 11:32           ` Allen
2020-08-12 12:31         ` Allen

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200716081538.2sivhkj4hcyrusem@linutronix.de \
    --to=bigeasy@linutronix.de \
    --cc=allen.lkml@gmail.com \
    --cc=alsa-devel@alsa-project.org \
    --cc=balbi@kernel.org \
    --cc=borntraeger@de.ibm.com \
    --cc=chris.packham@alliedtelesis.co.nz \
    --cc=christian.gromm@microchip.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel.thompson@linaro.org \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=devel@driverdev.osuosl.org \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=freude@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gor@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=hca@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=jason.wessel@windriver.com \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.com \
    --cc=jwi@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com \
    --cc=kevin.curtis@farsite.co.uk \
    --cc=kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net \
    --cc=kgraul@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kt0755@gmail.com \
    --cc=kuba@kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-input@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-s390@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-usb@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@roeck-us.net \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=mitch@sfgoth.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nishkadg.linux@gmail.com \
    --cc=oscar.carter@gmx.com \
    --cc=perex@perex.cz \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=romain.perier@gmail.com \
    --cc=sathyanarayanan.kuppuswamy@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tiwai@suse.com \
    --cc=ubraun@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=wambui.karugax@gmail.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Kernel-hardening archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening/0 kernel-hardening/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 kernel-hardening kernel-hardening/ https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening \
		kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
	public-inbox-index kernel-hardening

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/com.openwall.lists.kernel-hardening


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git