Kernel-hardening archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
To: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>,
	 Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>,
	Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	 Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>,
	 Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	 Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk>,
	Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr>,
	 "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@kernel.org>,
	Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com>,
	 Daniel Lustig <dlustig@nvidia.com>,
	Adam Zabrocki <pi3@pi3.com.pl>,
	 kernel list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	 Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>,
	 Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>,
	Bernd Edlinger <bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de>,
	 Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	 stable <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] signal: Extend exec_id to 64bits
Date: Wed, 1 Apr 2020 16:51:38 -0700
Message-ID: <CAHk-=wjz0LEi68oGJSQzZ--3JTFF+dX2yDaXDRKUpYxtBB=Zfw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAG48ez3nYr7dj340Rk5-QbzhsFq0JTKPf2MvVJ1-oi1Zug1ftQ@mail.gmail.com>

On Wed, Apr 1, 2020 at 4:37 PM Jann Horn <jannh@google.com> wrote:
>
> GCC will generate code for this without complaining, but I think it'll
> probably generate a tearing store on 32-bit platforms:

This is very much a "we don't care" case.

It's literally testing a sequence counter for equality. If you get
tearing in the high bits on the write (or the read), you'd still need
to have the low bits turn around 4G times to get a matching value.

So no. We're not doing atomics for the 32-bit case. That's insane.

               Linus

  reply index

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-03-24 21:50 Curiosity around 'exec_id' and some problems associated with it Adam Zabrocki
2020-03-29 22:43 ` Kees Cook
2020-03-30  8:34   ` Oleg Nesterov
2020-03-31  4:29   ` Adam Zabrocki
2020-04-01 20:47   ` [PATCH] signal: Extend exec_id to 64bits Eric W. Biederman
2020-04-01 20:55     ` Linus Torvalds
2020-04-01 21:03       ` Eric W. Biederman
2020-04-01 23:37     ` Jann Horn
2020-04-01 23:51       ` Linus Torvalds [this message]
2020-04-01 23:55         ` Linus Torvalds
2020-04-02  1:35           ` Jann Horn
2020-04-02  2:05             ` Linus Torvalds
2020-04-02 13:11               ` Eric W. Biederman
2020-04-02 18:06                 ` Linus Torvalds
2020-04-02  4:46     ` Jann Horn
2020-04-02 14:14       ` Eric W. Biederman
2020-04-03  2:11       ` Adam Zabrocki
2020-04-02  7:19     ` Kees Cook
2020-04-02  7:22     ` Bernd Edlinger

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAHk-=wjz0LEi68oGJSQzZ--3JTFF+dX2yDaXDRKUpYxtBB=Zfw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=torvalds@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=akiyks@gmail.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=bernd.edlinger@hotmail.de \
    --cc=boqun.feng@gmail.com \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dlustig@nvidia.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luc.maranget@inria.fr \
    --cc=luto@amacapital.net \
    --cc=npiggin@gmail.com \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=parri.andrea@gmail.com \
    --cc=paulmck@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=pi3@pi3.com.pl \
    --cc=stable@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=stern@rowland.harvard.edu \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Kernel-hardening archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening/0 kernel-hardening/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 kernel-hardening kernel-hardening/ https://lore.kernel.org/kernel-hardening \
		kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
	public-inbox-index kernel-hardening

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/com.openwall.lists.kernel-hardening


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git