kernel-janitors.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
To: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>
Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ideasonboard.com>,
	Kieran Bingham <kieran.bingham+renesas@ideasonboard.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>,
	Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, kernel-janitors@vger.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH] media: v4l2-subdev: fix some NULL vs IS_ERR() checks
Date: Wed, 23 Jun 2021 12:03:26 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210623090325.GA2116@kadam> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YNKdqFNSrSBXVNqo@pendragon.ideasonboard.com>

On Wed, Jun 23, 2021 at 05:34:16AM +0300, Laurent Pinchart wrote:
> 
> Do you think an annotation could still help, by making it explicit in
> headers whether a function returns NULL or an error pointer, thus
> helping developers get it right in the first place ?

Not really.  It wouldn't help with Smatch.  I really think error pointer
bugs are handled pretty well currently.  Sometimes I have seen syzbot
find them before the static checkers but I don't see them affecting
users and production kernels.

There are few other things that Smatch looks for like passing positives,
valid pointers or NULLs to PTR_ERR().  I do wish that when functions
return a mix of negative error codes, 0 and 1 that they had comment
explaining what the 1 means.

regards,
dan carpenter

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-23  9:03 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 8+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-22 14:31 [PATCH] media: v4l2-subdev: fix some NULL vs IS_ERR() checks Dan Carpenter
2021-06-22 15:08 ` Laurent Pinchart
2021-06-22 15:58   ` Dan Carpenter
2021-06-23  2:29     ` weiyongjun (A)
2021-06-23  2:34     ` Laurent Pinchart
2021-06-23  9:03       ` Dan Carpenter [this message]
2021-06-23 12:56         ` Laurent Pinchart
2021-06-22 20:01 ` Sakari Ailus

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210623090325.GA2116@kadam \
    --to=dan.carpenter@oracle.com \
    --cc=hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl \
    --cc=kernel-janitors@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kieran.bingham+renesas@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=tomi.valkeinen@ideasonboard.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).