ksummit.lists.linux.dev archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
To: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: tech-board-discuss@lists.linuxfoundation.org,
Subject: [Ksummit-discuss] LAST CALL: Linux Foundation Technical Advisory Board election 2020
Date: Wed, 19 Aug 2020 14:28:49 -0600	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20200819142849.3a76172a@lwn.net> (raw)

The call for candidates to serve on the Linux Foundation Technical
Advisory board for the next two years ends after this weekend.  If you
would like an opportunity to represent the community to the LF, now is the
time to send in your nomination.  Details below; we're looking forward to
hearing from you.

Ballots will go out Monday to all LPC attendees and members of the
community who have explicitly requested on.


jon (on behalf of the LF TAB)


The election for the Linux Foundation Technical Advisory Board (TAB) will
be held virtually during the 2020 Kernel Summit and Linux Plumbers
Conference, August 24-28 2020.  Nominations for candidates interested in
serving on the TAB are currently being sought.

The TAB serves as the interface between the kernel development community
and the Linux Foundation, advising the Foundation on kernel-related
matters, helping member companies learn to work with the community, and
working to resolve community-related problems before they get out of hand.
We also support the Code of Conduct committee in their mission.

Over the last year, matters tended to by the TAB include proposals for
developer workflow improvement, overseeing the Linux Plumbers Conference,
moving toward more inclusive terminology in the kernel, and more.  Minutes
from TAB meetings can be found here:


The board has ten members, one of whom sits on the Linux Foundation board
of directors.  Half of the board (five members) is elected every year to
serve a two-year term.  The members whose terms are expiring this year are:

	Chris Mason
	Dan Williams
	Kees Cook
	Laura Abbott
	Olof Johansson

The remaining members' terms will expire in 2021:

	Greg Kroah-Hartman
	Jonathan Corbet
	Sasha Levin
	Steven Rostedt
	Ted Ts'o
Anyone is eligible to stand for election; simply send your nomination to:


With your nomination, please include a short (<= 200 words) candidate
statement focusing on why you are running and what you hope to accomplish
on the TAB. We will be collecting these statements and making them publicly

The deadline for receiving nominations is 9:00AM GMT-4 (US/Eastern) on
August 24 (the first day of Kernel Summit). Due to the use of
electronic voting, this will be a hard deadline!

As always, please let us know if you have questions (the TAB can be reached
at tech-board@lists.linuxfoundation.org), and please do consider running.
Ksummit-discuss mailing list

                 reply	other threads:[~2020-08-19 20:28 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: [no followups] expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200819142849.3a76172a@lwn.net \
    --to=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=ksummit-discuss@lists.linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=tech-board-discuss@lists.linuxfoundation.org \
    --subject='Re: [Ksummit-discuss] LAST CALL: Linux Foundation Technical Advisory Board election 2020' \


* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).