kvm.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Keqian Zhu <zhukeqian1@huawei.com>
To: <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	<iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org>, <kvm@vger.kernel.org>,
	<kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu>,
	Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>,
	Kirti Wankhede <kwankhede@nvidia.com>,
	Cornelia Huck <cohuck@redhat.com>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	James Morse <james.morse@arm.com>,
	Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	"Daniel Lezcano" <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>,
	Julien Thierry <julien.thierry.kdev@gmail.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexios Zavras <alexios.zavras@intel.com>,
	<wanghaibin.wang@huawei.com>, <jiangkunkun@huawei.com>
Subject: [PATCH 2/5] vfio/iommu_type1: Populate dirty bitmap for new vfio_dma
Date: Thu, 7 Jan 2021 17:28:58 +0800	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210107092901.19712-3-zhukeqian1@huawei.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210107092901.19712-1-zhukeqian1@huawei.com>

We should populate dirty bitmap for newly added vfio_dma as it can be
accessed arbitrarily if vfio_iommu is not promoted to pinned_scope.
vfio_dma_populate_bitmap can handle this properly.

Fixes: d6a4c185660c ("vfio iommu: Implementation of ioctl for dirty pages tracking")
Signed-off-by: Keqian Zhu <zhukeqian1@huawei.com>
---
 drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c | 4 +++-
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c b/drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c
index b0a26e8e0adf..29c8702c3b6e 100644
--- a/drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c
+++ b/drivers/vfio/vfio_iommu_type1.c
@@ -1413,7 +1413,9 @@ static int vfio_dma_do_map(struct vfio_iommu *iommu,
 
 	if (!ret && iommu->dirty_page_tracking) {
 		ret = vfio_dma_bitmap_alloc(dma, pgsize);
-		if (ret)
+		if (!ret)
+			vfio_dma_populate_bitmap(iommu, dma);
+		else
 			vfio_remove_dma(iommu, dma);
 	}
 
-- 
2.19.1


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-01-07  9:30 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 16+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-01-07  9:28 [PATCH 0/5] vfio/iommu_type1: Some fixes about dirty tracking Keqian Zhu
2021-01-07  9:28 ` [PATCH 1/5] vfio/iommu_type1: Fixes vfio_dma_populate_bitmap to avoid dirty lose Keqian Zhu
2021-01-12 21:20   ` Alex Williamson
2021-01-13 12:35     ` Kirti Wankhede
2021-01-13 15:13       ` Alex Williamson
2021-01-14 13:05     ` Keqian Zhu
2021-01-14 17:14       ` Alex Williamson
2021-01-15  9:41         ` Keqian Zhu
2021-01-07  9:28 ` Keqian Zhu [this message]
2021-01-07  9:28 ` [PATCH 3/5] vfio/iommu_type1: Populate dirty bitmap when attach group Keqian Zhu
2021-01-07  9:29 ` [PATCH 4/5] vfio/iommu_type1: Carefully use unmap_unpin_all during dirty tracking Keqian Zhu
2021-01-11 21:49   ` Alex Williamson
2021-01-12 12:04     ` Keqian Zhu
2021-01-12 19:53       ` Alex Williamson
2021-01-14 12:11         ` Keqian Zhu
2021-01-07  9:29 ` [PATCH 5/5] vfio/iommu_type1: Move sanity_check_pfn_list to unmap_unpin_all Keqian Zhu

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210107092901.19712-3-zhukeqian1@huawei.com \
    --to=zhukeqian1@huawei.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alex.williamson@redhat.com \
    --cc=alexios.zavras@intel.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=cohuck@redhat.com \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=james.morse@arm.com \
    --cc=jiangkunkun@huawei.com \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=julien.thierry.kdev@gmail.com \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu \
    --cc=kwankhede@nvidia.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=suzuki.poulose@arm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=wanghaibin.wang@huawei.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 2/5] vfio/iommu_type1: Populate dirty bitmap for new vfio_dma' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).