kvm.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
To: Sean Christopherson <seanjc@google.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>,
	Eric Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>,
	x86@kernel.org, kexec@lists.infradead.org,
	stable@vger.kernel.org, hpa@zytor.com,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>,
	Cfir Cohen <cfir@google.com>, Erdem Aktas <erdemaktas@google.com>,
	Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>,
	Mike Stunes <mstunes@vmware.com>,
	Martin Radev <martin.b.radev@gmail.com>,
	Arvind Sankar <nivedita@alum.mit.edu>,
	linux-coco@lists.linux.dev, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	kvm@vger.kernel.org, virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] kexec: Allow architecture code to opt-out at runtime
Date: Thu, 6 May 2021 20:24:01 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <YJQ0QdjdRwpMkIqU@suse.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <YJQOmxx1EMUqNpNn@google.com>

On Thu, May 06, 2021 at 03:43:23PM +0000, Sean Christopherson wrote:
> This misses kexec_file_load.

Right, thanks, I will fix that in the next version.

> Also, is a new hook really needed?  E.g. the SEV-ES check be shoved
> into machine_kexec_prepare().  The downside is that we'd do a fair
> amount of work before detecting failure, but that doesn't seem hugely
> problematic.

That could work, but I think its more user-friendly to just claim that
the syscalls are not supported at all.

Regards,

	Joerg

  reply	other threads:[~2021-05-06 18:24 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-06  9:31 [PATCH 0/2] x86: Disable kexec for SEV-ES guests Joerg Roedel
2021-05-06  9:31 ` [PATCH 1/2] kexec: Allow architecture code to opt-out at runtime Joerg Roedel
2021-05-06 15:43   ` Sean Christopherson
2021-05-06 18:24     ` Joerg Roedel [this message]
2021-05-06  9:31 ` [PATCH 2/2] x86/kexec/64: Forbid kexec when running as an SEV-ES guest Joerg Roedel
2021-05-06 17:42   ` Eric W. Biederman
2021-05-06 18:41     ` Joerg Roedel
2021-05-06 18:59       ` Eric W. Biederman
2021-05-06 20:41         ` Joerg Roedel

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=YJQ0QdjdRwpMkIqU@suse.de \
    --to=jroedel@suse.de \
    --cc=cfir@google.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=ebiederm@xmission.com \
    --cc=erdemaktas@google.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jgross@suse.com \
    --cc=joro@8bytes.org \
    --cc=jslaby@suse.cz \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kexec@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-coco@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.b.radev@gmail.com \
    --cc=mhiramat@kernel.org \
    --cc=mstunes@vmware.com \
    --cc=nivedita@alum.mit.edu \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rientjes@google.com \
    --cc=seanjc@google.com \
    --cc=stable@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=thomas.lendacky@amd.com \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 1/2] kexec: Allow architecture code to opt-out at runtime' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).