KVM ARM Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Florian Fainelli <florian.fainelli@broadcom.com>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	mhocko@suse.com, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	liuwenliang@huawei.com,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	kasan-dev@googlegroups.com,
	bcm-kernel-feedback-list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>,
	philip@cog.systems, jinb.park7@gmail.com,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Rob Landley <rob@landley.net>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	thgarnie@google.com, kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 0/6] KASan for arm
Date: Thu, 11 Jul 2019 10:00:18 -0700
Message-ID: <0ba50ae2-be09-f633-ab1f-860e8b053882@broadcom.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACRpkdbqW2kJNdPi6JPupaHA_qRTWG-MsUxeCz0c38MRujOSSA@mail.gmail.com>

On 7/2/19 2:06 PM, Linus Walleij wrote:
> Hi Florian,
> 
> On Tue, Jun 18, 2019 at 12:11 AM Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com> wrote:
> 
>> Abbott submitted a v5 about a year ago here:
>>
>> and the series was not picked up since then, so I rebased it against
>> v5.2-rc4 and re-tested it on a Brahma-B53 (ARMv8 running AArch32 mode)
>> and Brahma-B15, both LPAE and test-kasan is consistent with the ARM64
>> counter part.
>>
>> We were in a fairly good shape last time with a few different people
>> having tested it, so I am hoping we can get that included for 5.4 if
>> everything goes well.
> 
> Thanks for picking this up. I was trying out KASan in the past,
> got sidetracked and honestly lost interest a bit because it was
> boring. But I do realize that it is really neat, so I will try to help
> out with some review and test on a bunch of hardware I have.
> 
> At one point I even had this running on the ARMv4 SA1100
> (no joke!) and if I recall correctly, I got stuck because of things
> that might very well have been related to using a very fragile
> Arm testchip that later broke down completely in the l2cache
> when we added the spectre/meltdown fixes.

A blast from the past!

> 
> I start reviewing and testing.

Great, thanks a lot for taking a look. FYI, I will be on holiday from
July 19th till August 12th, if you think you have more feedback between
now and then, I can try to pick it up and submit a v7 with that feedback
addressed, or it will happen when I return, or you can pick it up if you
refer, all options are possible!

@Arnd, should we squash your patches in as well?
-- 
Florian
_______________________________________________
kvmarm mailing list
kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu
https://lists.cs.columbia.edu/mailman/listinfo/kvmarm

      reply index

Thread overview: 13+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-06-17 22:11 Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 1/6] ARM: Add TTBR operator for kasan_init Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:03   ` Linus Walleij
2019-07-11 16:54     ` Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 2/6] ARM: Disable instrumentation for some code Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:56   ` Linus Walleij
2019-07-11 16:53     ` Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 3/6] ARM: Replace memory function for kasan Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 4/6] ARM: Define the virtual space of KASan's shadow region Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 5/6] ARM: Initialize the mapping of KASan shadow memory Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 6/6] ARM: Enable KASan for arm Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:06 ` [PATCH v6 0/6] " Linus Walleij
2019-07-11 17:00   ` Florian Fainelli [this message]

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=0ba50ae2-be09-f633-ab1f-860e8b053882@broadcom.com \
    --to=florian.fainelli@broadcom.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andre.przywara@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jinb.park7@gmail.com \
    --cc=kasan-dev@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=liuwenliang@huawei.com \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=nico@fluxnic.net \
    --cc=philip@cog.systems \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=rob@landley.net \
    --cc=ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thgarnie@google.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

KVM ARM Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/kvmarm/0 kvmarm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 kvmarm kvmarm/ https://lore.kernel.org/kvmarm \
		kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu kvmarm@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index kvmarm


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/edu.columbia.cs.lists.kvmarm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox