KVM ARM Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Russell King <rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com>,
	mhocko@suse.com, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com>,
	Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>,
	kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Abbott Liu <liuwenliang@huawei.com>,
	Daniel Lezcano <daniel.lezcano@linaro.org>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	kasan-dev@googlegroups.com,
	bcm-kernel-feedback-list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com>,
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>,
	Andre Przywara <andre.przywara@arm.com>,
	philip@cog.systems, jinb.park7@gmail.com,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>,
	Linux Doc Mailing List <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>,
	Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>,
	Rob Landley <rob@landley.net>,
	Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	thgarnie@google.com, kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 1/6] ARM: Add TTBR operator for kasan_init
Date: Tue, 2 Jul 2019 23:03:50 +0200
Message-ID: <CACRpkdZGqiiax2m5L1y3=Enw0Q5cLc-idAQNae34uenf-drHDw@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190617221134.9930-2-f.fainelli@gmail.com>

Hi Florian!

thanks for your patch!

On Tue, Jun 18, 2019 at 12:11 AM Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com> wrote:

> From: Abbott Liu <liuwenliang@huawei.com>
>
> The purpose of this patch is to provide set_ttbr0/get_ttbr0 to
> kasan_init function. The definitions of cp15 registers should be in
> arch/arm/include/asm/cp15.h rather than arch/arm/include/asm/kvm_hyp.h,
> so move them.
>
> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
> Reported-by: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
> Signed-off-by: Abbott Liu <liuwenliang@huawei.com>
> Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>

> +#include <linux/stringify.h>

What is this for? I think it can be dropped.

This stuff adding a whole bunch of accessors:

> +static inline void set_par(u64 val)
> +{
> +       if (IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_ARM_LPAE))
> +               write_sysreg(val, PAR_64);
> +       else
> +               write_sysreg(val, PAR_32);
> +}

Can we put that in a separate patch since it is not
adding any users, so this is a pure refactoring patch for
the current code?

Yours,
Linus Walleij
_______________________________________________
kvmarm mailing list
kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu
https://lists.cs.columbia.edu/mailman/listinfo/kvmarm

  reply index

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-06-17 22:11 [PATCH v6 0/6] KASan for arm Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 1/6] ARM: Add TTBR operator for kasan_init Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:03   ` Linus Walleij [this message]
2019-07-11 16:54     ` Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 2/6] ARM: Disable instrumentation for some code Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:56   ` Linus Walleij
2019-07-11 16:53     ` Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 3/6] ARM: Replace memory function for kasan Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 4/6] ARM: Define the virtual space of KASan's shadow region Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 5/6] ARM: Initialize the mapping of KASan shadow memory Florian Fainelli
2019-06-17 22:11 ` [PATCH v6 6/6] ARM: Enable KASan for arm Florian Fainelli
2019-07-02 21:06 ` [PATCH v6 0/6] " Linus Walleij
2019-07-11 17:00   ` Florian Fainelli
2019-07-18  7:51     ` Arnd Bergmann
2019-07-15  4:04 [PATCH v6 1/6] ARM: Add TTBR operator for kasan_init Liuwenliang (Abbott Liu)

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CACRpkdZGqiiax2m5L1y3=Enw0Q5cLc-idAQNae34uenf-drHDw@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=alexandre.belloni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=andre.przywara@arm.com \
    --cc=ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=aryabinin@virtuozzo.com \
    --cc=bcm-kernel-feedback-list@broadcom.com \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=daniel.lezcano@linaro.org \
    --cc=dhowells@redhat.com \
    --cc=dvyukov@google.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert@linux-m68k.org \
    --cc=glider@google.com \
    --cc=gregkh@linuxfoundation.org \
    --cc=jinb.park7@gmail.com \
    --cc=kasan-dev@googlegroups.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=liuwenliang@huawei.com \
    --cc=marc.zyngier@arm.com \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=nico@fluxnic.net \
    --cc=philip@cog.systems \
    --cc=pombredanne@nexb.com \
    --cc=rmk+kernel@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=rob@landley.net \
    --cc=ryabinin.a.a@gmail.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=thgarnie@google.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

KVM ARM Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/kvmarm/0 kvmarm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 kvmarm kvmarm/ https://lore.kernel.org/kvmarm \
		kvmarm@lists.cs.columbia.edu kvmarm@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index kvmarm


Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/edu.columbia.cs.lists.kvmarm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox