Linux-ACPI Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Dmitry Torokhov <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com>
To: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	"linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	Andrew Lunn <andrew@lunn.ch>, Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>, David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>,
	Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	Heiner Kallweit <hkallweit1@gmail.com>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"open list:DRM PANEL DRIVERS" <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	netdev <netdev@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/11] Add support for software nodes to gpiolib
Date: Mon, 16 Sep 2019 17:22:07 -0700
Message-ID: <20190917002207.GJ237523@dtor-ws> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CACRpkdb=s67w2DCGubhbLQTtxpWtiW8S1MECMO4cvec=bF6OdA@mail.gmail.com>

On Thu, Sep 12, 2019 at 10:55:47AM +0100, Linus Walleij wrote:
> On Wed, Sep 11, 2019 at 8:52 AM Dmitry Torokhov
> <dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com> wrote:
> 
> > If we agree in principle, I would like to have the very first 3 patches
> > in an immutable branch off maybe -rc8 so that it can be pulled into
> > individual subsystems so that patches switching various drivers to
> > fwnode_gpiod_get_index() could be applied.
> 
> I think it seems a bit enthusiastic to have non-GPIO subsystems
> pick up these changes this close to the merge window so my plan
> is to merge patches 1.2.3 (1 already merged) and then you could
> massage the other subsystems in v5.4-rc1.
> 
> But if other subsystems say "hey we want do fix this in like 3 days"
> then I'm game for an immutable branch as well.

No, if it is still has a chance for -rc1 then I'm good. I was thinking
if it does not go into -rc1 I could convince some of them merge a
targeted immutable branch off -rc8 or 5.3 final and then apply patches
relevant to their subsystems so we do not have to wait till 5.6 to land
everything.

Thanks.

-- 
Dmitry

  reply index

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-09-11  7:52 Dmitry Torokhov
2019-09-11  7:52 ` [PATCH 09/11] gpiolib: of: tease apart acpi_find_gpio() Dmitry Torokhov
2019-09-11 17:12   ` Andy Shevchenko
2019-09-11  7:52 ` [PATCH 10/11] gpiolib: consolidate fwnode GPIO lookups Dmitry Torokhov
2019-09-11 17:13 ` [PATCH 00/11] Add support for software nodes to gpiolib Andy Shevchenko
2019-09-12  9:55 ` Linus Walleij
2019-09-17  0:22   ` Dmitry Torokhov [this message]
2019-09-30 22:44     ` Dmitry Torokhov
2019-10-04 21:44       ` Linus Walleij

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190917002207.GJ237523@dtor-ws \
    --to=dmitry.torokhov@gmail.com \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=andrew@lunn.ch \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=davem@davemloft.net \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=hkallweit1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-ACPI Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-acpi/0 linux-acpi/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-acpi linux-acpi/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-acpi \
		linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org linux-acpi@archiver.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-acpi

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-acpi


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/ public-inbox