Linux-Amlogic Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
To: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
Cc: Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	linux-pci@vger.kernel.org,
	Binghui Wang <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@axis.com,
	Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com>,
	Jonathan Chocron <jonnyc@amazon.com>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	Minghuan Lian <minghuan.Lian@nxp.com>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>, NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Xiaowei Song <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Yue Wang <yue.wang@Amlogic.com>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org, linux-omap@vger.kernel.org,
	Mingkai Hu <mingkai.hu@nxp.com>, Roy Zang <roy.zang@nxp.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>, Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@mm-sol.com>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>,
	linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>
Subject: [PATCH 07/13] PCI: dwc: Drop the .set_num_vectors() host op
Date: Wed, 28 Oct 2020 15:46:40 -0500
Message-ID: <20201028204646.356535-8-robh@kernel.org> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201028204646.356535-1-robh@kernel.org>

There's no reason for the .set_num_vectors() host op. Drivers needing a
non-default value can just initialize pcie_port.num_vectors directly.

Cc: Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>
Cc: Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>
Cc: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>
Cc: Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>
Cc: Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>
Cc: linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
---
 .../pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c | 19 ++++---------------
 .../pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-plat.c |  7 +------
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h  |  1 -
 drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-tegra194.c    |  7 +------
 4 files changed, 6 insertions(+), 28 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
index 265a48f1a0ae..1bd6a9762426 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
@@ -365,22 +365,11 @@ int dw_pcie_host_init(struct pcie_port *pp)
 		pci->link_gen = of_pci_get_max_link_speed(np);
 
 	if (pci_msi_enabled()) {
-		/*
-		 * If a specific SoC driver needs to change the
-		 * default number of vectors, it needs to implement
-		 * the set_num_vectors callback.
-		 */
-		if (!pp->ops->set_num_vectors) {
+		if (!pp->num_vectors) {
 			pp->num_vectors = MSI_DEF_NUM_VECTORS;
-		} else {
-			pp->ops->set_num_vectors(pp);
-
-			if (pp->num_vectors > MAX_MSI_IRQS ||
-			    pp->num_vectors == 0) {
-				dev_err(dev,
-					"Invalid number of vectors\n");
-				return -EINVAL;
-			}
+		} else if (pp->num_vectors > MAX_MSI_IRQS) {
+			dev_err(dev, "Invalid number of vectors\n");
+			return -EINVAL;
 		}
 
 		if (!pp->ops->msi_host_init) {
diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-plat.c b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-plat.c
index 562a05e07b1d..13fede1d4157 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-plat.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-plat.c
@@ -44,14 +44,8 @@ static int dw_plat_pcie_host_init(struct pcie_port *pp)
 	return 0;
 }
 
-static void dw_plat_set_num_vectors(struct pcie_port *pp)
-{
-	pp->num_vectors = MAX_MSI_IRQS;
-}
-
 static const struct dw_pcie_host_ops dw_plat_pcie_host_ops = {
 	.host_init = dw_plat_pcie_host_init,
-	.set_num_vectors = dw_plat_set_num_vectors,
 };
 
 static int dw_plat_pcie_establish_link(struct dw_pcie *pci)
@@ -128,6 +122,7 @@ static int dw_plat_add_pcie_port(struct dw_plat_pcie *dw_plat_pcie,
 			return pp->msi_irq;
 	}
 
+	pp->num_vectors = MAX_MSI_IRQS;
 	pp->ops = &dw_plat_pcie_host_ops;
 
 	ret = dw_pcie_host_init(pp);
diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h
index ed19c34dd0fe..96382dcb2859 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h
+++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware.h
@@ -171,7 +171,6 @@ enum dw_pcie_device_mode {
 
 struct dw_pcie_host_ops {
 	int (*host_init)(struct pcie_port *pp);
-	void (*set_num_vectors)(struct pcie_port *pp);
 	int (*msi_host_init)(struct pcie_port *pp);
 };
 
diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-tegra194.c b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-tegra194.c
index f8fca6794282..5e2841f58700 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-tegra194.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-tegra194.c
@@ -990,11 +990,6 @@ static int tegra_pcie_dw_link_up(struct dw_pcie *pci)
 	return !!(val & PCI_EXP_LNKSTA_DLLLA);
 }
 
-static void tegra_pcie_set_msi_vec_num(struct pcie_port *pp)
-{
-	pp->num_vectors = MAX_MSI_IRQS;
-}
-
 static int tegra_pcie_dw_start_link(struct dw_pcie *pci)
 {
 	struct tegra_pcie_dw *pcie = to_tegra_pcie(pci);
@@ -1019,7 +1014,6 @@ static const struct dw_pcie_ops tegra_dw_pcie_ops = {
 
 static struct dw_pcie_host_ops tegra_pcie_dw_host_ops = {
 	.host_init = tegra_pcie_dw_host_init,
-	.set_num_vectors = tegra_pcie_set_msi_vec_num,
 };
 
 static void tegra_pcie_disable_phy(struct tegra_pcie_dw *pcie)
@@ -1995,6 +1989,7 @@ static int tegra_pcie_dw_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
 	pci->n_fts[1] = FTS_VAL;
 
 	pp = &pci->pp;
+	pp->num_vectors = MAX_MSI_IRQS;
 	pcie->dev = &pdev->dev;
 	pcie->mode = (enum dw_pcie_device_mode)data->mode;
 
-- 
2.25.1


_______________________________________________
linux-amlogic mailing list
linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-amlogic

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 24+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-10-28 20:46 [PATCH 00/13] PCI: dwc: Another round of clean-ups Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 01/13] PCI: dwc/imx6: Drop setting PCI_MSI_FLAGS_ENABLE Rob Herring
2020-10-29  0:21   ` Michael Ellerman
2020-10-29 13:01     ` Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 02/13] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Move ATU offset out of driver match data Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 03/13] PCI: dwc: Move "dbi", "dbi2", and "addr_space" resource setup into common code Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:09   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 04/13] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Remove some unneeded function wrappers Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 05/13] PCI: dwc: Ensure all outbound ATU windows are reset Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:12   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 06/13] PCI: dwc/dra7xx: Use the common MSI irq_chip Rob Herring
2020-10-28 20:46 ` Rob Herring [this message]
2020-10-29 22:15   ` [PATCH 07/13] PCI: dwc: Drop the .set_num_vectors() host op Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 08/13] PCI: dwc: Move MSI interrupt setup into DWC common code Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:18   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 09/13] PCI: dwc: Rework MSI initialization Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:20   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 10/13] PCI: dwc: Move link handling into common code Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:24   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 11/13] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_msi_init() into core Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:26   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 12/13] PCI: dwc: Move dw_pcie_setup_rc() to DWC common code Rob Herring
2020-10-29 22:29   ` Jingoo Han
2020-10-28 20:46 ` [PATCH 13/13] PCI: dwc: Remove unnecessary wrappers around dw_pcie_host_init() Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20201028204646.356535-8-robh@kernel.org \
    --to=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jonnyc@amazon.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=minghuan.Lian@nxp.com \
    --cc=mingkai.hu@nxp.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=roy.zang@nxp.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=svarbanov@mm-sol.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=thomas.petazzoni@bootlin.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --cc=yue.wang@Amlogic.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-Amlogic Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-amlogic/0 linux-amlogic/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-amlogic linux-amlogic/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-amlogic \
		linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-amlogic

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-amlogic


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git