Linux-api Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
To: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Christopher Lameter <cl@linux.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Elena Reshetova <elena.reshetova@intel.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>,
	Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>, Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-api@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mm@kvack.org,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org, linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org,
	x86@kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v12 04/10] set_memory: allow querying whether set_direct_map_*() is actually enabled
Date: Wed, 25 Nov 2020 18:36:45 +0000
Message-ID: <20201125183645.GB16801@gaia> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201125092208.12544-5-rppt@kernel.org>

On Wed, Nov 25, 2020 at 11:22:02AM +0200, Mike Rapoport wrote:
> From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
> 
> On arm64, set_direct_map_*() functions may return 0 without actually
> changing the linear map. This behaviour can be controlled using kernel
> parameters, so we need a way to determine at runtime whether calls to
> set_direct_map_invalid_noflush() and set_direct_map_default_noflush() have
> any effect.
> 
> Extend set_memory API with can_set_direct_map() function that allows
> checking if calling set_direct_map_*() will actually change the page table,
> replace several occurrences of open coded checks in arm64 with the new
> function and provide a generic stub for architectures that always modify
> page tables upon calls to set_direct_map APIs.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>

Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 18+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-11-25  9:21 [PATCH v12 00/10] mm: introduce memfd_secret system call to create "secret" memory areas Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25  9:21 ` [PATCH v12 01/10] mm: add definition of PMD_PAGE_ORDER Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 02/10] mmap: make mlock_future_check() global Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 03/10] set_memory: allow set_direct_map_*_noflush() for multiple pages Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 04/10] set_memory: allow querying whether set_direct_map_*() is actually enabled Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25 11:22   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-11-25 12:11     ` Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25 12:42       ` David Hildenbrand
2020-11-25 18:36   ` Catalin Marinas [this message]
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 05/10] mm: introduce memfd_secret system call to create "secret" memory areas Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 06/10] secretmem: use PMD-size pages to amortize direct map fragmentation Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 07/10] secretmem: add memcg accounting Mike Rapoport
2020-11-29 15:53   ` Shakeel Butt
2020-11-29 17:26     ` Mike Rapoport
2020-11-30 20:15       ` Roman Gushchin
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 08/10] PM: hibernate: disable when there are active secretmem users Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 09/10] arch, mm: wire up memfd_secret system call were relevant Mike Rapoport
2020-11-25  9:22 ` [PATCH v12 10/10] secretmem: test: add basic selftest for memfd_secret(2) Mike Rapoport

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20201125183645.GB16801@gaia \
    --to=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=cl@linux.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=elena.reshetova@intel.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mtk.manpages@gmail.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-api Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-api/0 linux-api/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-api linux-api/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-api \
		linux-api@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-api

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-api


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git