Linux-api Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
To: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@kernel.org>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Christopher Lameter <cl@linux.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Elena Reshetova <elena.reshetova@intel.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	James Bottomley <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	"Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Rick Edgecombe <rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com>,
	Shuah Khan <shuah@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	linux-api@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org, linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org,
	linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org, x86@kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v9 6/9] secretmem: add memcg accounting
Date: Tue, 17 Nov 2020 12:02:01 -0800
Message-ID: <CALvZod5mJnR2DXoYTbp9RX4uR7zVyqAPfD+XKpqXKgxaNyJ1VA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20201117193358.GB109785@carbon.dhcp.thefacebook.com>

On Tue, Nov 17, 2020 at 11:49 AM Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com> wrote:
>
> On Tue, Nov 17, 2020 at 06:29:29PM +0200, Mike Rapoport wrote:
> > From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
> >
> > Account memory consumed by secretmem to memcg. The accounting is updated
> > when the memory is actually allocated and freed.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
[snip]
> >
> > +static int secretmem_account_pages(struct page *page, gfp_t gfp, int order)
> > +{
> > +     int err;
> > +
> > +     err = memcg_kmem_charge_page(page, gfp, order);

I haven't looked at the whole series but it seems like these pages
will be mapped into the userspace, so this patch has dependency on
Roman's "mm: allow mapping
accounted kernel pages to userspace" patch series.

  reply index

Thread overview: 15+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-11-17 16:29 [PATCH v9 0/9] mm: introduce memfd_secret system call to create "secret" memory areas Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 1/9] mm: add definition of PMD_PAGE_ORDER Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 2/9] mmap: make mlock_future_check() global Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 3/9] set_memory: allow set_direct_map_*_noflush() for multiple pages Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 4/9] mm: introduce memfd_secret system call to create "secret" memory areas Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 5/9] secretmem: use PMD-size pages to amortize direct map fragmentation Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 6/9] secretmem: add memcg accounting Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 19:33   ` Roman Gushchin
2020-11-17 20:02     ` Shakeel Butt [this message]
2020-11-18  6:55       ` Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 7/9] PM: hibernate: disable when there are active secretmem users Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 8/9] arch, mm: wire up memfd_secret system call were relevant Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 17:15   ` Catalin Marinas
2020-11-18  6:57     ` Mike Rapoport
2020-11-17 16:29 ` [PATCH v9 9/9] secretmem: test: add basic selftest for memfd_secret(2) Mike Rapoport

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CALvZod5mJnR2DXoYTbp9RX4uR7zVyqAPfD+XKpqXKgxaNyJ1VA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=shakeelb@google.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=cl@linux.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=elena.reshetova@intel.com \
    --cc=guro@fb.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kselftest@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mtk.manpages@gmail.com \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=rick.p.edgecombe@intel.com \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=shuah@kernel.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tycho@tycho.ws \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-api Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-api/0 linux-api/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-api linux-api/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-api \
		linux-api@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-api

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-api


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git