Linux-api Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@intel.com>
To: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: x86@kernel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-api@vger.kernel.org, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>,
	Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@gmail.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	Eugene Syromiatnikov <esyr@redhat.com>,
	Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>,
	"H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@gmail.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>,
	Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>,
	Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com>,
	Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>,
	"Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>,
	Vedvyas Shanbhogue <vedvyas.shanbhogue@intel.com>,
	Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@arm.com>,
	Weijiang Yang <weijiang.yang@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 5/5] selftest/x86: Add CET quick test
Date: Thu, 21 May 2020 16:23:38 -0700
Message-ID: <a8f55ca9d7ca81b4acb7afecd8144aa396975cfb.camel@intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <202005211550.AF0E83BB@keescook>

On Thu, 2020-05-21 at 16:02 -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> On Thu, May 21, 2020 at 02:17:20PM -0700, Yu-cheng Yu wrote:
> > Introduce a quick test to verify shadow stack and IBT are working.
> 
> Cool! :)
> 
> I'd love to see either more of a commit log or more comments in the test
> code itself. I had to spend a bit of time trying to understand how the
> test was working. (i.e. using ucontext to "reset", using segv handler to
> catch some of them, etc.) I have not yet figured out why you need to
> send USR1/USR2 for two of them instead of direct calls?

Yes, I will work on it.

[...]

> > +
> > +#pragma GCC push_options
> > +#pragma GCC optimize ("O0")
> 
> Can you avoid compiler-specific pragmas? (Or verify that Clang also
> behaves correctly here?) Maybe it's better to just build the entire file
> with -O0 in the Makefile?

This file is compiled using -O2 in the makefile.  I will see if other ways are
possible.

[...]

> > +
> > +void segv_handler(int signum, siginfo_t *si, void *uc)
> > +{
> 
> Does anything in siginfo_t indicate which kind of failure you're
> detecting? It'd be nice to verify test_id matches the failure mode being
> tested.

Yes, there is an si_code for control-protection fault.
I will fix this.

Agree with your other comments.

Thanks,
Yu-cheng


  reply index

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-05-21 21:17 [RFC PATCH 0/5] Update selftests/x86 for CET Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 1/5] x86/cet/shstk: Modify ARCH_X86_CET_ALLOC_SHSTK for 32-bit address range Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 22:43   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 2/5] selftest/x86: Enable CET for selftests/x86 Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 22:44   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 22:58     ` Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 3/5] selftest/x86: Fix sigreturn_64 test Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 22:47   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 22:48   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 4/5] selftest/x86: Fix sysret_rip with ENDBR Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 21:34   ` Thomas Gleixner
2020-05-21 22:59     ` Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 21:17 ` [RFC PATCH 5/5] selftest/x86: Add CET quick test Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-21 23:02   ` Kees Cook
2020-05-21 23:23     ` Yu-cheng Yu [this message]
2020-05-22  9:28   ` Peter Zijlstra
2020-05-22 15:10     ` Yu-cheng Yu
2020-05-22 17:22     ` Kees Cook
2020-05-22 17:27       ` Peter Zijlstra
2020-05-22 17:36         ` Kees Cook
2020-05-22 18:07           ` Yu-cheng Yu

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=a8f55ca9d7ca81b4acb7afecd8144aa396975cfb.camel@intel.com \
    --to=yu-cheng.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=Dave.Martin@arm.com \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=bsingharora@gmail.com \
    --cc=corbet@lwn.net \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=esyr@redhat.com \
    --cc=fweimer@redhat.com \
    --cc=gorcunov@gmail.com \
    --cc=hjl.tools@gmail.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=jannh@google.com \
    --cc=keescook@chromium.org \
    --cc=linux-api@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-doc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.kravetz@oracle.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=nadav.amit@gmail.com \
    --cc=oleg@redhat.com \
    --cc=pavel@ucw.cz \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=ravi.v.shankar@intel.com \
    --cc=rdunlap@infradead.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=vedvyas.shanbhogue@intel.com \
    --cc=weijiang.yang@intel.com \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-api Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-api/0 linux-api/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-api linux-api/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-api \
		linux-api@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-api

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-api


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git