linux-arch.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Keith Packard <keithpac@amazon.com>
To: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: "Abbott Liu" <liuwenliang@huawei.com>,
	"Alexei Starovoitov" <ast@kernel.org>,
	"Andrew Morton" <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	"Andrii Nakryiko" <andrii@kernel.org>,
	"Anshuman Khandual" <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>,
	"Ard Biesheuvel" <ardb@kernel.org>,
	"Arnd Bergmann" <arnd@arndb.de>,
	"Ben Segall" <bsegall@google.com>,
	"Bjorn Andersson" <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	bpf@vger.kernel.org, "Christoph Lameter" <cl@linux.com>,
	"Daniel Borkmann" <daniel@iogearbox.net>,
	"Daniel Bristot de Oliveira" <bristot@redhat.com>,
	"Dennis Zhou" <dennis@kernel.org>,
	devicetree@vger.kernel.org,
	"Dietmar Eggemann" <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>,
	"Florian Fainelli" <f.fainelli@gmail.com>,
	"Frank Rowand" <frowand.list@gmail.com>,
	"Geert Uytterhoeven" <geert+renesas@glider.be>,
	"Ingo Molnar" <mingo@redhat.com>,
	"Jason Wang" <jasowang@redhat.com>,
	"Jens Axboe" <axboe@kernel.dk>, "Joe Perches" <joe@perches.com>,
	"John Fastabend" <john.fastabend@gmail.com>,
	"Juri Lelli" <juri.lelli@redhat.com>,
	"Keith Packard" <keithpac@amazon.com>,
	"KP Singh" <kpsingh@kernel.org>,
	kvm@vger.kernel.org, "Linus Walleij" <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, "Manivannan Sadhasivam" <mani@kernel.org>,
	"Marc Zyngier" <maz@kernel.org>,
	"Martin KaFai Lau" <kafai@fb.com>, "Mel Gorman" <mgorman@suse.de>,
	"Michael Ellerman" <mpe@ellerman.id.au>,
	"Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>,
	"Miguel Ojeda" <ojeda@kernel.org>,
	"Mike Rapoport" <rppt@kernel.org>,
	netdev@vger.kernel.org,
	"Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@google.com>,
	"Nick Desaulniers" <ndesaulniers@gooogle.com>,
	"Nicolas Pitre" <nico@fluxnic.net>,
	"Peter Zijlstra" <peterz@infradead.org>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Russell King" <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	"Song Liu" <songliubraving@fb.com>,
	"Srikar Dronamraju" <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	"Steven Rostedt" <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	"Tejun Heo" <tj@kernel.org>,
	"Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>,
	"Uwe Kleine-König" <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>,
	"Valentin Schneider" <valentin.schneider@arm.com>,
	"Vincent Guittot" <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>,
	virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org,
	"Wolfram Sang (Renesas)" <wsa+renesas@sang-engineering.com>,
	"YiFei Zhu" <yifeifz2@illinois.edu>, "Yonghong Song" <yhs@fb.com>
Subject: [PATCH v4 2/7] ARM: Pass task to secondary_start_kernel
Date: Wed,  8 Sep 2021 12:06:00 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210908190605.419064-3-keithpac@amazon.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210908190605.419064-1-keithpac@amazon.com>

This avoids needing to compute the task pointer in this function,
allowing it to be used as the source of identification in the future.

Signed-off-by: Keith Packard <keithpac@amazon.com>
---
 arch/arm/include/asm/smp.h   | 3 ++-
 arch/arm/kernel/head-nommu.S | 1 +
 arch/arm/kernel/head.S       | 1 +
 arch/arm/kernel/smp.c        | 8 +++++---
 4 files changed, 9 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm/include/asm/smp.h b/arch/arm/include/asm/smp.h
index 86a7fd721556..d43b64635d77 100644
--- a/arch/arm/include/asm/smp.h
+++ b/arch/arm/include/asm/smp.h
@@ -48,7 +48,7 @@ extern void set_smp_ipi_range(int ipi_base, int nr_ipi);
  * Called from platform specific assembly code, this is the
  * secondary CPU entry point.
  */
-asmlinkage void secondary_start_kernel(unsigned int cpu);
+asmlinkage void secondary_start_kernel(unsigned int cpu, struct task_struct *task);
 
 
 /*
@@ -62,6 +62,7 @@ struct secondary_data {
 	unsigned long swapper_pg_dir;
 	void *stack;
 	unsigned int cpu;
+	struct task_struct *task;
 };
 extern struct secondary_data secondary_data;
 extern void secondary_startup(void);
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/head-nommu.S b/arch/arm/kernel/head-nommu.S
index 5aa8ef42717f..218715c135ed 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/head-nommu.S
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/head-nommu.S
@@ -115,6 +115,7 @@ ENTRY(secondary_startup)
 	ret	r12
 1:	bl	__after_proc_init
 	ldr	r0, [r7, #16]			@ set up cpu number
+	ldr	r1, [r7, #20]			@ set up task pointer
 	ldr	sp, [r7, #12]			@ set up the stack pointer
 	mov	fp, #0
 	b	secondary_start_kernel
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/head.S b/arch/arm/kernel/head.S
index 0e541af738e2..4a6cb0b0808b 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/head.S
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/head.S
@@ -395,6 +395,7 @@ ENDPROC(secondary_startup_arm)
 ENTRY(__secondary_switched)
 	ldr_l	r7, secondary_data + 12		@ get secondary_data.stack
 	ldr_l	r0, secondary_data + 16		@ get secondary_data.cpu
+	ldr_l	r1, secondary_data + 20		@ get secondary_data.task
 	mov	sp, r7
 	mov	fp, #0
 	b	secondary_start_kernel
diff --git a/arch/arm/kernel/smp.c b/arch/arm/kernel/smp.c
index 55cb1689a4b3..5e999f1f1aea 100644
--- a/arch/arm/kernel/smp.c
+++ b/arch/arm/kernel/smp.c
@@ -154,6 +154,7 @@ int __cpu_up(unsigned int cpu, struct task_struct *idle)
 	secondary_data.swapper_pg_dir = get_arch_pgd(swapper_pg_dir);
 #endif
 	secondary_data.cpu = cpu;
+	secondary_data.task = idle;
 	sync_cache_w(&secondary_data);
 
 	/*
@@ -375,13 +376,14 @@ void arch_cpu_idle_dead(void)
 	 * to be repeated to undo the effects of taking the CPU offline.
 	 */
 	__asm__("mov	r0, %1\n"
+	"	mov	r1, %2\n"
 	"	mov	sp, %0\n"
 	"	mov	fp, #0\n"
 	"	b	secondary_start_kernel"
 		:
 		: "r" (task_stack_page(current) + THREAD_SIZE - 8),
-		  "r" (cpu)
-		: "r0");
+		  "r" (cpu), "r" (current)
+		: "r0", "r1");
 }
 #endif /* CONFIG_HOTPLUG_CPU */
 
@@ -404,7 +406,7 @@ static void smp_store_cpu_info(unsigned int cpuid)
  * This is the secondary CPU boot entry.  We're using this CPUs
  * idle thread stack, but a set of temporary page tables.
  */
-asmlinkage void secondary_start_kernel(unsigned int cpu)
+asmlinkage void secondary_start_kernel(unsigned int cpu, struct task_struct *task)
 {
 	struct mm_struct *mm = &init_mm;
 
-- 
2.33.0


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-09-08 19:13 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
     [not found] <id:20210907220038.91021-1-keithpac@amazon.com>
2021-09-08 19:05 ` [PATCH v4 0/7] ARM: support THREAD_INFO_IN_TASK Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:05   ` [PATCH v4 1/7] ARM: Pass cpu number to secondary_start_kernel Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:06   ` Keith Packard [this message]
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 3/7] ARM: Use smp_processor_id() in vfp_pm_suspend instead of ti->cpu Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 4/7] Make sure task_struct is available for raw_smp_processor_id Keith Packard
2021-09-10 20:20     ` Rob Herring
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 5/7] ARM: Stop using TPIDRPRW to hold per_cpu_offset Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 6/7] ARM: Use TPIDRPRW for current Keith Packard
2021-09-08 19:06   ` [PATCH v4 7/7] ARM: Move thread_info into task_struct (v7 only) Keith Packard

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210908190605.419064-3-keithpac@amazon.com \
    --to=keithpac@amazon.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=andrii@kernel.org \
    --cc=anshuman.khandual@arm.com \
    --cc=ardb@kernel.org \
    --cc=arnd@arndb.de \
    --cc=ast@kernel.org \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=bpf@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=bristot@redhat.com \
    --cc=bsegall@google.com \
    --cc=cl@linux.com \
    --cc=daniel@iogearbox.net \
    --cc=dennis@kernel.org \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=dietmar.eggemann@arm.com \
    --cc=f.fainelli@gmail.com \
    --cc=frowand.list@gmail.com \
    --cc=geert+renesas@glider.be \
    --cc=jasowang@redhat.com \
    --cc=joe@perches.com \
    --cc=john.fastabend@gmail.com \
    --cc=juri.lelli@redhat.com \
    --cc=kafai@fb.com \
    --cc=kpsingh@kernel.org \
    --cc=kvm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=liuwenliang@huawei.com \
    --cc=mani@kernel.org \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=mgorman@suse.de \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=mpe@ellerman.id.au \
    --cc=mst@redhat.com \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@google.com \
    --cc=ndesaulniers@gooogle.com \
    --cc=netdev@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=nico@fluxnic.net \
    --cc=ojeda@kernel.org \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=rppt@kernel.org \
    --cc=songliubraving@fb.com \
    --cc=srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tj@kernel.org \
    --cc=u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=valentin.schneider@arm.com \
    --cc=vincent.guittot@linaro.org \
    --cc=virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=wsa+renesas@sang-engineering.com \
    --cc=yhs@fb.com \
    --cc=yifeifz2@illinois.edu \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 2/7] ARM: Pass task to secondary_start_kernel' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).