linux-arch.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Matteo Croce <mcroce@linux.microsoft.com>
To: linux-riscv <linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org>
Cc: Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>,
	Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>,
	Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>,
	Albert Ou <aou@eecs.berkeley.edu>,
	Atish Patra <atish.patra@wdc.com>,
	Emil Renner Berthing <kernel@esmil.dk>,
	Akira Tsukamoto <akira.tsukamoto@gmail.com>,
	Drew Fustini <drew@beagleboard.org>,
	Bin Meng <bmeng.cn@gmail.com>,
	David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>,
	Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org>, Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 0/3] riscv: optimized mem* functions
Date: Mon, 20 Sep 2021 00:00:52 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CAFnufp2CvmwRMotzkoq-ZKCMCh6vCmRFR19aQ3JwHECZznVN6A@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210919192104.98592-1-mcroce@linux.microsoft.com>

On Sun, Sep 19, 2021 at 9:21 PM Matteo Croce <mcroce@linux.microsoft.com> wrote:
>
> From: Matteo Croce <mcroce@microsoft.com>
>
> Replace the assembly mem{cpy,move,set} with C equivalent.
>
> Try to access RAM with the largest bit width possible, but without
> doing unaligned accesses.
>
> A further improvement could be to use multiple read and writes as the
> assembly version was trying to do.
>
> Tested on a BeagleV Starlight with a SiFive U74 core, where the
> improvement is noticeable.
>
> v3 -> v4:
> - incorporate changes from proposed generic version:
>   https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210617152754.17960-1-mcroce@linux.microsoft.com/
>

Sorry, the correct link is:

https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20210702123153.14093-1-mcroce@linux.microsoft.com/

-- 
per aspera ad upstream

  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-09-19 22:01 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 10+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-09-19 19:21 Matteo Croce
2021-09-19 19:21 ` [PATCH v4 1/3] riscv: optimized memcpy Matteo Croce
2021-09-19 19:21 ` [PATCH v4 2/3] riscv: optimized memmove Matteo Croce
2021-09-19 22:05   ` kernel test robot
2021-09-27 10:48     ` Matteo Croce
2021-09-29 17:04       ` Emil Renner Berthing
2021-09-19 19:21 ` [PATCH v4 3/3] riscv: optimized memset Matteo Croce
2021-09-19 22:00 ` Matteo Croce [this message]
2021-10-08  1:26 ` [PATCH v4 0/3] riscv: optimized mem* functions Palmer Dabbelt
2021-10-08  1:39   ` Matteo Croce

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAFnufp2CvmwRMotzkoq-ZKCMCh6vCmRFR19aQ3JwHECZznVN6A@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=mcroce@linux.microsoft.com \
    --cc=David.Laight@aculab.com \
    --cc=akira.tsukamoto@gmail.com \
    --cc=aou@eecs.berkeley.edu \
    --cc=atish.patra@wdc.com \
    --cc=bmeng.cn@gmail.com \
    --cc=drew@beagleboard.org \
    --cc=guoren@kernel.org \
    --cc=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=kernel@esmil.dk \
    --cc=linux-arch@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=palmer@dabbelt.com \
    --cc=paul.walmsley@sifive.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 0/3] riscv: optimized mem* functions' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).