Linux-ARM-Kernel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
To: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>,
	linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>,
	Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>,
	"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Jia He <justin.he@arm.com>,
	Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>,
	linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org,
	Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <masahiroy@kernel.org>,
	x86@kernel.org, Kaly Xin <Kaly.Xin@arm.com>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>,
	Chuhong Yuan <hslester96@gmail.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>, Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>,
	Jonathan Cameron <Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com>,
	Dave Jiang <dave.jiang@intel.com>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 4/6] mm: don't export memory_add_physaddr_to_nid in arch specific directory
Date: Thu, 9 Jul 2020 12:18:15 +0300
Message-ID: <20200709091815.GF781326@linux.ibm.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200709021104.GZ25523@casper.infradead.org>

On Thu, Jul 09, 2020 at 03:11:04AM +0100, Matthew Wilcox wrote:
> On Thu, Jul 09, 2020 at 10:06:27AM +0800, Jia He wrote:
> > After a general version of __weak memory_add_physaddr_to_nid implemented
> > and exported , it is no use exporting twice in arch directory even if
> > e,g, ia64/x86 have their specific version.
> > 
> > This is to suppress the modpost warning:
> > WARNING: modpost: vmlinux: 'memory_add_physaddr_to_nid' exported twice.
> > Previous export was in vmlinux
> 
> It's bad form to introduce a warning and then send a follow-up patch to
> fix the warning.  Just fold this patch into patch 1/6.

Moreover, I think that patches 1-4 can be merged into one.

-- 
Sincerely yours,
Mike.

_______________________________________________
linux-arm-kernel mailing list
linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-arm-kernel

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 21+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-07-09  2:06 [PATCH v3 0/6] Fix and enable pmem as RAM device on arm64 Jia He
2020-07-09  2:06 ` [PATCH v3 1/6] mm/memory_hotplug: introduce default dummy memory_add_physaddr_to_nid() Jia He
2020-07-09  9:10   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-07-09  2:06 ` [PATCH v3 2/6] arm64/mm: use " Jia He
2020-07-09  9:10   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-07-09  2:06 ` [PATCH v3 3/6] sh/mm: " Jia He
2020-07-09  9:10   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-07-20 21:39     ` Rich Felker
2020-07-21  3:23   ` Pankaj Gupta
2020-07-09  2:06 ` [PATCH v3 4/6] mm: don't export memory_add_physaddr_to_nid in arch specific directory Jia He
2020-07-09  2:11   ` Matthew Wilcox
2020-07-09  2:16     ` Justin He
2020-07-09  9:18     ` Mike Rapoport [this message]
2020-07-09  9:18       ` David Hildenbrand
2020-07-09  9:36         ` Justin He
2020-07-09  2:06 ` [PATCH v3 5/6] device-dax: use fallback nid when numa_node is invalid Jia He
2020-07-09  3:38   ` Dan Williams
2020-07-09  5:13     ` Justin He
2020-07-09  2:06 ` [PATCH v3 6/6] mm/memory_hotplug: fix unpaired mem_hotplug_begin/done Jia He
2020-07-09  9:11   ` David Hildenbrand
2020-07-31 15:28 ` [PATCH v3 0/6] Fix and enable pmem as RAM device on arm64 Dan Williams

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20200709091815.GF781326@linux.ibm.com \
    --to=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=Jonathan.Cameron@huawei.com \
    --cc=Kaly.Xin@arm.com \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=bhe@redhat.com \
    --cc=bp@alien8.de \
    --cc=catalin.marinas@arm.com \
    --cc=dalias@libc.org \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=dave.hansen@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=dave.jiang@intel.com \
    --cc=david@redhat.com \
    --cc=fenghua.yu@intel.com \
    --cc=hpa@zytor.com \
    --cc=hslester96@gmail.com \
    --cc=justin.he@arm.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-nvdimm@lists.01.org \
    --cc=linux-sh@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=logang@deltatee.com \
    --cc=luto@kernel.org \
    --cc=masahiroy@kernel.org \
    --cc=mhocko@suse.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=peterz@infradead.org \
    --cc=tglx@linutronix.de \
    --cc=tony.luck@intel.com \
    --cc=vishal.l.verma@intel.com \
    --cc=will@kernel.org \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    --cc=x86@kernel.org \
    --cc=ysato@users.sourceforge.jp \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-ARM-Kernel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/0 linux-arm-kernel/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/1 linux-arm-kernel/git/1.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-arm-kernel linux-arm-kernel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel \
		linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-arm-kernel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-arm-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git