Linux-ARM-Kernel Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Doug Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
To: Kever Yang <kever.yang@rock-chips.com>
Cc: "Mark Rutland" <mark.rutland@arm.com>,
	"Alexis Ballier" <aballier@gentoo.org>,
	"Soeren Moch" <smoch@web.de>,
	"Hugh Cole-Baker" <sigmaris@gmail.com>,
	"Andy Yan" <andyshrk@gmail.com>,
	"Katsuhiro Suzuki" <katsuhiro@katsuster.net>,
	"open list:ARM/Rockchip SoC..."
	<linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Pragnesh Patel" <Pragnesh_Patel@mentor.com>,
	"Peter Robinson" <pbrobinson@gmail.com>,
	"Nick Xie" <nick@khadas.com>,
	"open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS"
	<devicetree@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Elaine Zhang" <zhangqing@rock-chips.com>,
	"Vicente Bergas" <vicencb@gmail.com>,
	"Rob Herring" <robh+dt@kernel.org>,
	"Akash Gajjar" <akash@openedev.com>,
	"Ezequiel Garcia" <ezequiel@collabora.com>,
	"Linux ARM" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"Andrius Štikonas" <andrius@stikonas.eu>,
	"Heiko Stübner" <heiko@sntech.de>,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"Oskari Lemmela" <oskari@lemmela.net>,
	"Robin Murphy" <robin.murphy@arm.com>,
	"Vivek Unune" <npcomplete13@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/3] arm64: dts: rk3399: Add init voltage for vdd_log
Date: Wed, 13 Nov 2019 09:01:16 -0800
Message-ID: <CAD=FV=UjbPALRU2r0s27F4RxjsbDyQ+horUBezVQejk1pT=vqA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20191111005158.25070-3-kever.yang@rock-chips.com>

Hi,

On Sun, Nov 10, 2019 at 4:52 PM Kever Yang <kever.yang@rock-chips.com> wrote:
>
> Since there is no devfreq used for vdd_log, so the vdd_log(pwm regulator)
> will be 'enable' with the dts node at a default PWM state with high or low
> output. Both too high or too low for vdd_log is not good for the board,
> add init voltage for driver to make the regulator get into a know output.
>
> Note that this will be used by U-Boot for init voltage output, and this
> is very important for it may get system hang somewhere during system
> boot up with regulator enable and without this init value.

I'm a tad bit confused here.  When U-Boot boots the kernel, how is the
PWM configured?

I remember folks going through a lot of work to make sure that we
could actually _read_ the PWM state that the bootloader gave us and
report it as the initial voltage.  If the kernel ends up needing to
configure the PWM regulator's period for some reason, I remember it
would actually pick something close.  Is that not working for you?

For instance, on rk3288-veyron when I boot up mainline (no devfreq on
rk3288-veyron on mainline) the vdd_logic reports 1.2 volts because it
read what the bootloader left it as.

...are you saying that U-Boot doesn't configure the PWM and you're
trying to fix it up in the kernel?

-Doug


-Doug

_______________________________________________
linux-arm-kernel mailing list
linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-arm-kernel

  parent reply index

Thread overview: 26+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-11-11  0:51 [PATCH 1/3] arm64: dts: rockchip: Fix min voltage for rk3399-firefly vdd_log Kever Yang
2019-11-11  0:51 ` [PATCH 2/3] arm64: dts: rk3399-rock960: add vdd_log Kever Yang
2019-11-11  5:22   ` Manivannan Sadhasivam
2019-11-11  5:26     ` Manivannan Sadhasivam
2019-11-12  8:10     ` Kever Yang
2019-11-12 17:17       ` Manivannan Sadhasivam
2019-11-13  2:44         ` Kever Yang
2019-11-13  3:21           ` Manivannan Sadhasivam
2019-11-11  0:51 ` [PATCH 3/3] arm64: dts: rk3399: Add init voltage for vdd_log Kever Yang
2019-11-11  8:42   ` Soeren Moch
2019-11-12  8:04     ` Kever Yang
2019-11-12  8:10       ` Heiko Stübner
2019-11-13  3:21         ` Kever Yang
2019-11-18  1:05           ` Heiko Stuebner
2019-11-12  8:16       ` Markus Reichl
2019-11-12  8:44         ` Sören Moch
2019-11-12  8:51           ` Markus Reichl
2019-11-12 10:02         ` Kever Yang
2019-11-12 10:19           ` Soeren Moch
2019-11-12 11:06             ` Markus Reichl
2019-11-12 11:42             ` [PATCH] arm64: dts: rockchip: Fix vdd_log on rk3399-roc-pc Markus Reichl
2019-11-18  1:03               ` Heiko Stuebner
2019-11-13 17:01   ` Doug Anderson [this message]
2019-11-14  1:53     ` [PATCH 3/3] arm64: dts: rk3399: Add init voltage for vdd_log Kever Yang
2019-11-13 17:50   ` Vicente Bergas
2019-11-18  1:04 ` [PATCH 1/3] arm64: dts: rockchip: Fix min voltage for rk3399-firefly vdd_log Heiko Stuebner

Reply instructions:

You may reply publically to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to='CAD=FV=UjbPALRU2r0s27F4RxjsbDyQ+horUBezVQejk1pT=vqA@mail.gmail.com' \
    --to=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=Pragnesh_Patel@mentor.com \
    --cc=aballier@gentoo.org \
    --cc=akash@openedev.com \
    --cc=andrius@stikonas.eu \
    --cc=andyshrk@gmail.com \
    --cc=devicetree@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=ezequiel@collabora.com \
    --cc=heiko@sntech.de \
    --cc=katsuhiro@katsuster.net \
    --cc=kever.yang@rock-chips.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=mark.rutland@arm.com \
    --cc=nick@khadas.com \
    --cc=npcomplete13@gmail.com \
    --cc=oskari@lemmela.net \
    --cc=pbrobinson@gmail.com \
    --cc=robh+dt@kernel.org \
    --cc=robin.murphy@arm.com \
    --cc=sigmaris@gmail.com \
    --cc=smoch@web.de \
    --cc=vicencb@gmail.com \
    --cc=zhangqing@rock-chips.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-ARM-Kernel Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/0 linux-arm-kernel/git/0.git
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel/1 linux-arm-kernel/git/1.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-arm-kernel linux-arm-kernel/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-kernel \
		linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
	public-inbox-index linux-arm-kernel

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.infradead.lists.linux-arm-kernel


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git