linux-arm-kernel.lists.infradead.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Daniel Scally <djrscally@gmail.com>
To: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>,
	Wolfram Sang <wsa@kernel.org>, Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>,
	Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>,
	Maximilian Luz <luzmaximilian@gmail.com>,
	Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	ACPI Devel Maling List <linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org>,
	Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"open list:GPIO SUBSYSTEM" <linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-i2c <linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org>,
	Platform Driver <platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org>,
	"open list:ACPI COMPONENT ARCHITECTURE (ACPICA)"
	<devel@acpica.org>, Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com>,
	Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>,
	Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@baylibre.com>,
	Mark Gross <mgross@linux.intel.com>,
	Robert Moore <robert.moore@intel.com>,
	Erik Kaneda <erik.kaneda@intel.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Kieran Bingham <kieran.bingham@ideasonboard.com>,
	Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 2/8] ACPI: scan: Add function to fetch dependent of acpi device
Date: Fri, 21 May 2021 20:25:24 +0100	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <f92cf223-9cd4-9ea5-0152-d3a3d012cc31@gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <CAJZ5v0hdSi4BcZvhkyrtcBQqRL8CHtOtwUeYW7EnWL2zvKhDZw@mail.gmail.com>

Hi Rafael

On 20/05/2021 19:55, Rafael J. Wysocki wrote:
> On Thu, May 20, 2021 at 8:33 PM Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael@kernel.org> wrote:
>> On Thu, May 20, 2021 at 4:11 PM Daniel Scally <djrscally@gmail.com> wrote:
>>> In some ACPI tables we encounter, devices use the _DEP method to assert
>>> a dependence on other ACPI devices as opposed to the OpRegions that the
>>> specification intends. We need to be able to find those devices "from"
>>> the dependee, so add a callback and a wrapper to walk over the
>>> acpi_dep_list and return the dependent ACPI device.
>>>
>>> Reviewed-by: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
>>> Signed-off-by: Daniel Scally <djrscally@gmail.com>
>>> ---
>>> Changes since v3:
>>>
>>>         Both new functions were renamed.
>>>
>>>  drivers/acpi/scan.c     | 38 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>>>  include/acpi/acpi_bus.h |  1 +
>>>  2 files changed, 39 insertions(+)
>>>
>>> diff --git a/drivers/acpi/scan.c b/drivers/acpi/scan.c
>>> index 195635c3462b..1a76fbdfa669 100644
>>> --- a/drivers/acpi/scan.c
>>> +++ b/drivers/acpi/scan.c
>>> @@ -2105,6 +2105,21 @@ static void acpi_bus_attach(struct acpi_device *device, bool first_pass)
>>>                 device->handler->hotplug.notify_online(device);
>>>  }
>>>
>>> +static int acpi_return_dep_dev(struct acpi_dep_data *dep, void *data)
>> What about calling this acpi_get_first_consumer_cb()?
> Or acpi_dev_get_first_consumer_dev_cb() if you want to be super-precise?


Sure; fine by me, and same for the other function


_______________________________________________
linux-arm-kernel mailing list
linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-arm-kernel

  reply	other threads:[~2021-05-21 19:27 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 27+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-20 14:09 [PATCH v4 0/8] Introduce intel_skl_int3472 module Daniel Scally
2021-05-20 14:09 ` [PATCH v4 1/8] ACPI: scan: Extend acpi_walk_dep_device_list() Daniel Scally
2021-05-20 17:15   ` Maximilian Luz
2021-05-20 18:22   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-05-20 21:03     ` Hans de Goede
2021-05-21 12:59   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-05-20 14:09 ` [PATCH v4 2/8] ACPI: scan: Add function to fetch dependent of acpi device Daniel Scally
2021-05-20 18:33   ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-05-20 18:55     ` Rafael J. Wysocki
2021-05-21 19:25       ` Daniel Scally [this message]
2021-05-20 14:09 ` [PATCH v4 3/8] i2c: core: Add a format macro for I2C device names Daniel Scally
2021-05-20 14:09 ` [PATCH v4 4/8] gpiolib: acpi: Export acpi_get_gpiod() Daniel Scally
2021-05-20 14:09 ` [PATCH v4 5/8] clkdev: Make clkdev_drop() null aware Daniel Scally
2021-05-20 14:09 ` [PATCH v4 6/8] gpiolib: acpi: Add acpi_gpio_get_io_resource() Daniel Scally
2021-05-21 12:05   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-05-25 22:30     ` Daniel Scally
2021-05-20 14:09 ` [PATCH v4 7/8] platform/x86: Add intel_skl_int3472 driver Daniel Scally
2021-05-21 12:57   ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-05-25 22:53     ` Daniel Scally
2021-05-26  7:54       ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-05-20 14:09 ` [PATCH v4 8/8] mfd: tps68470: Remove tps68470 MFD driver Daniel Scally
2021-05-25 13:10 ` [PATCH v4 0/8] Introduce intel_skl_int3472 module Hans de Goede
2021-05-25 13:12   ` Hans de Goede
2021-05-25 13:23     ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-05-25 23:03   ` Daniel Scally
2021-05-26  7:55     ` Andy Shevchenko
2021-05-26 12:36     ` Hans de Goede

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=f92cf223-9cd4-9ea5-0152-d3a3d012cc31@gmail.com \
    --to=djrscally@gmail.com \
    --cc=andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=andy.shevchenko@gmail.com \
    --cc=bgolaszewski@baylibre.com \
    --cc=devel@acpica.org \
    --cc=erik.kaneda@intel.com \
    --cc=hdegoede@redhat.com \
    --cc=kieran.bingham@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=lenb@kernel.org \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-gpio@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-i2c@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux@armlinux.org.uk \
    --cc=luzmaximilian@gmail.com \
    --cc=mgross@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=mika.westerberg@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=platform-driver-x86@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com \
    --cc=rafael@kernel.org \
    --cc=robert.moore@intel.com \
    --cc=wsa@kernel.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v4 2/8] ACPI: scan: Add function to fetch dependent of acpi device' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).