linux-arm-msm.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
To: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>, Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Cc: Linus W <linus.walleij@linaro.org>,
	robdclark@chromium.org,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Stanislav Lisovskiy <stanislav.lisovskiy@intel.com>,
	Steev Klimaszewski <steev@kali.org>,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>,
	Lyude Paul <lyude@redhat.com>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org,
	Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>, David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	Robert Foss <robert.foss@linaro.org>,
	linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Subject: [PATCH v9 08/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Add support for the DP AUX bus
Date: Mon,  7 Jun 2021 10:05:52 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20210607100234.v9.8.Ib5fe0638da85800141ce141bb8e441c5f25438d4@changeid> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210607170555.4006050-1-dianders@chromium.org>

We want to provide our panel with access to the DP AUX channel. The
way to do this is to let our panel be a child of ours using the fancy
new DP AUX bus support.

Signed-off-by: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Acked-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Lyude Paul <lyude@redhat.com>
---

Changes in v9:
- Rebased atop v9 ("Promote the AUX channel") patch.

Changes in v7:
- Patch to support for DP AUX bus on ti-sn65dsi86 new for v7.

 drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/Kconfig        | 1 +
 drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/ti-sn65dsi86.c | 6 ++++++
 2 files changed, 7 insertions(+)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/Kconfig b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/Kconfig
index c96e4b38d1d3..5e1e28d4520f 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/Kconfig
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/Kconfig
@@ -293,6 +293,7 @@ config DRM_TI_SN65DSI86
 	select DRM_PANEL
 	select DRM_MIPI_DSI
 	select AUXILIARY_BUS
+	select DRM_DP_AUX_BUS
 	help
 	  Texas Instruments SN65DSI86 DSI to eDP Bridge driver
 
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/ti-sn65dsi86.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/ti-sn65dsi86.c
index 8e61005cf4ad..32bd35c98d95 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/ti-sn65dsi86.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/bridge/ti-sn65dsi86.c
@@ -23,6 +23,7 @@
 #include <drm/drm_atomic.h>
 #include <drm/drm_atomic_helper.h>
 #include <drm/drm_bridge.h>
+#include <drm/drm_dp_aux_bus.h>
 #include <drm/drm_dp_helper.h>
 #include <drm/drm_mipi_dsi.h>
 #include <drm/drm_of.h>
@@ -1426,12 +1427,17 @@ static int ti_sn_aux_probe(struct auxiliary_device *adev,
 			   const struct auxiliary_device_id *id)
 {
 	struct ti_sn65dsi86 *pdata = dev_get_drvdata(adev->dev.parent);
+	int ret;
 
 	pdata->aux.name = "ti-sn65dsi86-aux";
 	pdata->aux.dev = &adev->dev;
 	pdata->aux.transfer = ti_sn_aux_transfer;
 	drm_dp_aux_init(&pdata->aux);
 
+	ret = devm_of_dp_aux_populate_ep_devices(&pdata->aux);
+	if (ret)
+		return ret;
+
 	/*
 	 * The eDP to MIPI bridge parts don't work until the AUX channel is
 	 * setup so we don't add it in the main driver probe, we add it now.
-- 
2.32.0.rc1.229.g3e70b5a671-goog


  parent reply	other threads:[~2021-06-07 17:06 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-07 17:05 [PATCH v9 00/11] drm: Fix EDID reading on ti-sn65dsi86 by introducing " Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 01/11] dt-bindings: display: simple: List hpd properties in panel-simple Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 02/11] dt-bindings: drm: Introduce the DP AUX bus Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:05   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 03/11] dt-bindings: drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Add aux-bus child Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:05   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 04/11] drm: Introduce the DP AUX bus Douglas Anderson
2021-06-11 16:48   ` Lyude Paul
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 05/11] drm/panel: panel-simple: Allow panel-simple be a DP AUX endpoint device Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 06/11] drm/panel: panel-simple: Stash DP AUX bus; allow using it for DDC Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:07   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 07/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Promote the AUX channel to its own sub-dev Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:08   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` Douglas Anderson [this message]
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 09/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Don't read EDID blob over DDC Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 10/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Improve probe errors with dev_err_probe() Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:09   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 11/11] arm64: dts: qcom: sc7180-trogdor: Move panel under the bridge chip Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 15:27   ` Bjorn Andersson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20210607100234.v9.8.Ib5fe0638da85800141ce141bb8e441c5f25438d4@changeid \
    --to=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lyude@redhat.com \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=robdclark@chromium.org \
    --cc=robert.foss@linaro.org \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=stanislav.lisovskiy@intel.com \
    --cc=steev@kali.org \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=treding@nvidia.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v9 08/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Add support for the DP AUX bus' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).