linux-arm-msm.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
To: Asutosh Das <asutoshd@codeaurora.org>,
	cang@codeaurora.org, martin.petersen@oracle.com,
	linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org,
	Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@samsung.com>,
	Avri Altman <avri.altman@wdc.com>,
	"James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@linux.ibm.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Stanley Chu <stanley.chu@mediatek.com>,
	Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>,
	Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>, Bean Huo <beanhuo@micron.com>,
	Kiwoong Kim <kwmad.kim@samsung.com>,
	Colin Ian King <colin.king@canonical.com>,
	Wei Yongjun <weiyongjun1@huawei.com>, Yue Hu <huyue2@yulong.com>,
	Bart van Assche <bvanassche@acm.org>,
	Dinghao Liu <dinghao.liu@zju.edu.cn>,
	"Gustavo A. R. Silva" <gustavoars@kernel.org>,
	Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org>,
	Satya Tangirala <satyat@google.com>,
	open list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	"moderated list:ARM/SAMSUNG S3C,
	S5P AND EXYNOS ARM ARCHITECTURES" 
	<linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	"open list:ARM/SAMSUNG S3C,
	S5P AND EXYNOS ARM ARCHITECTURES" 
	<linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	"moderated list:UNIVERSAL FLASH STORAGE HOST CONTROLLER
	DRIVER..."  <linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v21 1/2] scsi: ufs: Enable power management for wlun
Date: Sun, 25 Apr 2021 15:20:19 +0300	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <9e0655c3-42cf-d090-8aa5-2cb644b2e93c@intel.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <4662c462e79e3e7f541f54f88f8993f421026d83.1619223249.git.asutoshd@codeaurora.org>

On 24/04/21 3:20 am, Asutosh Das wrote:
> During runtime-suspend of ufs host, the scsi devices are
> already suspended and so are the queues associated with them.
> But the ufs host sends SSU (START_STOP_UNIT) to wlun
> during its runtime-suspend.
> During the process blk_queue_enter checks if the queue is not in
> suspended state. If so, it waits for the queue to resume, and never
> comes out of it.
> The commit
> (d55d15a33: scsi: block: Do not accept any requests while suspended)
> adds the check if the queue is in suspended state in blk_queue_enter().
> 
> Call trace:
>  __switch_to+0x174/0x2c4
>  __schedule+0x478/0x764
>  schedule+0x9c/0xe0
>  blk_queue_enter+0x158/0x228
>  blk_mq_alloc_request+0x40/0xa4
>  blk_get_request+0x2c/0x70
>  __scsi_execute+0x60/0x1c4
>  ufshcd_set_dev_pwr_mode+0x124/0x1e4
>  ufshcd_suspend+0x208/0x83c
>  ufshcd_runtime_suspend+0x40/0x154
>  ufshcd_pltfrm_runtime_suspend+0x14/0x20
>  pm_generic_runtime_suspend+0x28/0x3c
>  __rpm_callback+0x80/0x2a4
>  rpm_suspend+0x308/0x614
>  rpm_idle+0x158/0x228
>  pm_runtime_work+0x84/0xac
>  process_one_work+0x1f0/0x470
>  worker_thread+0x26c/0x4c8
>  kthread+0x13c/0x320
>  ret_from_fork+0x10/0x18
> 
> Fix this by registering ufs device wlun as a scsi driver and
> registering it for block runtime-pm. Also make this as a
> supplier for all other luns. That way, this device wlun
> suspends after all the consumers and resumes after
> hba resumes. This also registers a new scsi driver for rpmb wlun.
> This new driver is mostly used to clear rpmb uac.
> 
> Fixed smatch warnings:
> Reported-by: kernel test robot <lkp@intel.com>
> Reported-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com>
> 
> Co-developed-by: Can Guo <cang@codeaurora.org>
> Signed-off-by: Can Guo <cang@codeaurora.org>
> Signed-off-by: Asutosh Das <asutoshd@codeaurora.org>

Note we don't use regulators, clocks, clock scaling or gating.
Although those things do look OK.
Notwithstanding that:

Reviewed-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>

  reply	other threads:[~2021-04-25 12:20 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 7+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-04-24  0:20 [PATCH v21 0/2] Enable power management for ufs wlun Asutosh Das
2021-04-24  0:20 ` [PATCH v21 1/2] scsi: ufs: Enable power management for wlun Asutosh Das
2021-04-25 12:20   ` Adrian Hunter [this message]
2021-04-24  0:20 ` [PATCH v21 2/2] ufs: sysfs: Resume the proper scsi device Asutosh Das
2021-04-29  3:10 ` [PATCH v21 0/2] Enable power management for ufs wlun Martin K. Petersen
2021-04-29  7:01   ` Avri Altman
2021-05-11  3:25 ` Martin K. Petersen

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=9e0655c3-42cf-d090-8aa5-2cb644b2e93c@intel.com \
    --to=adrian.hunter@intel.com \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=alim.akhtar@samsung.com \
    --cc=asutoshd@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=avri.altman@wdc.com \
    --cc=beanhuo@micron.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=bvanassche@acm.org \
    --cc=cang@codeaurora.org \
    --cc=colin.king@canonical.com \
    --cc=dinghao.liu@zju.edu.cn \
    --cc=gustavoars@kernel.org \
    --cc=huyue2@yulong.com \
    --cc=jaegeuk@kernel.org \
    --cc=jejb@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=kwmad.kim@samsung.com \
    --cc=lee.jones@linaro.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=martin.petersen@oracle.com \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=mingo@redhat.com \
    --cc=rostedt@goodmis.org \
    --cc=satyat@google.com \
    --cc=stanley.chu@mediatek.com \
    --cc=weiyongjun1@huawei.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v21 1/2] scsi: ufs: Enable power management for wlun' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).