linux-arm-msm.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
To: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Cc: Andrzej Hajda <a.hajda@samsung.com>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Laurent Pinchart <Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com>,
	Jonas Karlman <jonas@kwiboo.se>, Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>,
	Rob Clark <robdclark@chromium.org>,
	Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com>,
	Stanislav Lisovskiy <stanislav.lisovskiy@intel.com>,
	Steev Klimaszewski <steev@kali.org>,
	MSM <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>,
	Lyude Paul <lyude@redhat.com>,
	"open list:DRM PANEL DRIVERS" <dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org>,
	Stephen Boyd <swboyd@chromium.org>,
	Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>, David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@gmail.com>,
	Robert Foss <robert.foss@linaro.org>,
	linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v9 10/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Improve probe errors with dev_err_probe()
Date: Wed, 9 Jun 2021 13:09:38 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <CACRpkdZq6XX7zKbdQU1GhaMGvWSC7isO4UoO1iVqs-4An0FQKg@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20210607100234.v9.10.I24bba069e63b1eea84443eef0c8535fd032a6311@changeid>

On Mon, Jun 7, 2021 at 7:06 PM Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org> wrote:

> As I was testing to make sure that the DEFER path worked well with my
> patch series, I got tired of seeing this scary message in my logs just
> because the panel needed to defer:
>   [drm:ti_sn_bridge_probe] *ERROR* could not find any panel node
>
> Let's use dev_err_probe() which nicely quiets this error and also
> simplifies the code a tiny bit. We'll also update other places in the
> file which can use dev_err_probe().
>
> Signed-off-by: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>

Reviewed-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>

Yours,
Linus Walleij

  reply	other threads:[~2021-06-09 11:10 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 19+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-06-07 17:05 [PATCH v9 00/11] drm: Fix EDID reading on ti-sn65dsi86 by introducing the DP AUX bus Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 01/11] dt-bindings: display: simple: List hpd properties in panel-simple Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 02/11] dt-bindings: drm: Introduce the DP AUX bus Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:05   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 03/11] dt-bindings: drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Add aux-bus child Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:05   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 04/11] drm: Introduce the DP AUX bus Douglas Anderson
2021-06-11 16:48   ` Lyude Paul
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 05/11] drm/panel: panel-simple: Allow panel-simple be a DP AUX endpoint device Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 06/11] drm/panel: panel-simple: Stash DP AUX bus; allow using it for DDC Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:07   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 07/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Promote the AUX channel to its own sub-dev Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:08   ` Linus Walleij
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 08/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Add support for the DP AUX bus Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 09/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Don't read EDID blob over DDC Douglas Anderson
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 10/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Improve probe errors with dev_err_probe() Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 11:09   ` Linus Walleij [this message]
2021-06-07 17:05 ` [PATCH v9 11/11] arm64: dts: qcom: sc7180-trogdor: Move panel under the bridge chip Douglas Anderson
2021-06-09 15:27   ` Bjorn Andersson

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CACRpkdZq6XX7zKbdQU1GhaMGvWSC7isO4UoO1iVqs-4An0FQKg@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=linus.walleij@linaro.org \
    --cc=Laurent.pinchart@ideasonboard.com \
    --cc=a.hajda@samsung.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=dianders@chromium.org \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonas@kwiboo.se \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lyude@redhat.com \
    --cc=maarten.lankhorst@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=robdclark@chromium.org \
    --cc=robert.foss@linaro.org \
    --cc=sam@ravnborg.org \
    --cc=stanislav.lisovskiy@intel.com \
    --cc=steev@kali.org \
    --cc=swboyd@chromium.org \
    --cc=treding@nvidia.com \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH v9 10/11] drm/bridge: ti-sn65dsi86: Improve probe errors with dev_err_probe()' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).