Linux-ARM-MSM Archive on lore.kernel.org
 help / color / Atom feed
From: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
To: Michael Walle <michael@walle.cc>
Cc: "Gross, Andy" <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Dilip Kota <eswara.kota@linux.intel.com>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Gustavo Pimentel <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>,
	Kunihiko Hayashi <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>,
	Richard Zhu <hongxing.zhu@nxp.com>,
	Jerome Brunet <jbrunet@baylibre.com>,
	Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>,
	Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>,
	Jon Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>,
	Jonathan Chocron <jonnyc@amazon.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Kukjin Kim <kgene@kernel.org>,
	Kevin Hilman <khilman@baylibre.com>,
	Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>,
	Lucas Stach <l.stach@pengutronix.de>,
	"open list:ARM/Amlogic Meson..."
	<linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-arm-kernel@axis.com,
	linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>,
	linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	linux-omap <linux-omap@vger.kernel.org>,
	PCI <linux-pci@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-samsung-soc <linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org>,
	linux-tegra <linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org>,
	Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>,
	Murali Karicheri <m-karicheri2@ti.com>,
	Martin Blumenstingl <martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com>,
	Marc Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>,
	Neil Armstrong <narmstrong@baylibre.com>,
	Pratyush Anand <pratyush.anand@gmail.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawn.guo@linaro.org>, Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Song Xiaowei <songxiaowei@hisilicon.com>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@mm-sol.com>,
	Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@gmail.com>,
	Wangbinghui <wangbinghui@hisilicon.com>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>,
	Yue Wang <yue.wang@amlogic.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/40] PCI: dwc: Driver clean-ups
Date: Tue, 15 Sep 2020 16:02:59 -0600
Message-ID: <CAL_JsqLHBPduSjs1L3R2vbsLygJNDzajt4XThAkRG0DEu-GnAA@mail.gmail.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20200915091218.28737-1-michael@walle.cc>

On Tue, Sep 15, 2020 at 3:12 AM Michael Walle <michael@walle.cc> wrote:
>
> Hi Rob,
>
> > This is a series of clean-ups for the Designware PCI driver. The series
> > initially reworks the config space accessors to use the existing pci_ops
> > struct. Then there's removal of various private data that's also present
> > in the pci_host_bridge struct. There's also some duplicated common (PCI
> > and DWC) register defines which I converted to use the common defines.
> > Finally, the initialization for speed/gen, number of lanes, and N_FTS
> > are all moved to the common DWC code.
>
> > This is compile tested only as I don't have any DWC based h/w, so any
> > testing would be helpful. A branch is here[1].
>
> I've noticed that with the latest linux-next, my board doesn't boot
> anymore. I've traced it back to this series. There is a similar
> board in kernelci [1,2] where you can have a look at the backtrace.
>
> I've bisected this to the following patch:
>   PCI: dwc: Use generic config accessors

That's helpful.

> I'm pretty much lost here. It seems that the kernel tries to read from
> an invalid/unmapped memory address.
>
> [1] https://kernelci.org/test/plan/id/5f5f4992d1c53777a0a6092d/
> [2] https://storage.kernelci.org/next/master/next-20200914/arm64/defconfig/gcc-8/lab-nxp/baseline-fsl-ls1028a-rdb.txt

Thanks for the pointers. I was wondering if kernelci had any boards with DWC.

Can you try this? The link up check seemed unnecessary as it is racy.
What happens if the link goes down right after checking? That's the
only thing in the change that sticks out.

diff --git a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
index 317ff512f8df..afee1a0e8883 100644
--- a/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
+++ b/drivers/pci/controller/dwc/pcie-designware-host.c
@@ -441,6 +441,9 @@ static void __iomem
*dw_pcie_other_conf_map_bus(struct pci_bus *bus,
        struct pcie_port *pp = bus->sysdata;
        struct dw_pcie *pci = to_dw_pcie_from_pp(pp);

+       if (!dw_pcie_link_up(pci))
+               return NULL;
+
        busdev = PCIE_ATU_BUS(bus->number) | PCIE_ATU_DEV(PCI_SLOT(devfn)) |
                 PCIE_ATU_FUNC(PCI_FUNC(devfn));

  reply index

Thread overview: 47+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2020-08-21  3:53 Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 01/40] PCI: Allow root and child buses to have different pci_ops Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 02/40] PCI: dwc: Use DBI accessors instead of own config accessors Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 03/40] PCI: dwc: Allow overriding bridge pci_ops Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 04/40] PCI: dwc: Add a default pci_ops.map_bus for root port Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 05/40] PCI: dwc: al: Use pci_ops for child config space accessors Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 06/40] PCI: dwc: keystone: Use pci_ops for " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 07/40] PCI: dwc: tegra: Use pci_ops for root " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 08/40] PCI: dwc: meson: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 09/40] PCI: dwc: kirin: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 10/40] PCI: dwc: exynos: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 11/40] PCI: dwc: histb: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 12/40] PCI: dwc: Remove dwc specific config accessor ops Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 13/40] PCI: dwc: Use generic config accessors Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 14/40] PCI: Also call .add_bus() callback for root bus Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 15/40] PCI: dwc: keystone: Convert .scan_bus() callback to use add_bus Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 16/40] PCI: dwc: Convert to use pci_host_probe() Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 17/40] PCI: dwc: Remove root_bus pointer Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 18/40] PCI: dwc: Remove storing of PCI resources Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:53 ` [PATCH v2 19/40] PCI: dwc: Simplify config space handling Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 20/40] PCI: dwc/keystone: Drop duplicated 'num-viewport' Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 21/40] PCI: dwc: Check CONFIG_PCI_MSI inside dw_pcie_msi_init() Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 22/40] PCI: dwc/imx6: Remove duplicate define PCIE_LINK_WIDTH_SPEED_CONTROL Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 23/40] PCI: dwc: Add a 'num_lanes' field to struct dw_pcie Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 24/40] PCI: dwc: Ensure FAST_LINK_MODE is cleared Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 25/40] PCI: dwc/meson: Drop the duplicate number of lanes setup Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 26/40] PCI: dwc/meson: Drop unnecessary RC config space initialization Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 27/40] PCI: dwc/meson: Rework PCI config and DW port logic register accesses Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 28/40] PCI: dwc/imx6: Use common PCI register definitions Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 29/40] PCI: dwc/qcom: " Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 30/40] PCI: dwc: Remove hardcoded PCI_CAP_ID_EXP offset Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 31/40] PCI: dwc/tegra: Use common Designware port logic register definitions Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 32/40] PCI: dwc: Remove read_dbi2 code Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 33/40] PCI: dwc: Make ATU accessors private Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 34/40] PCI: dwc: Centralize link gen setting Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 35/40] PCI: dwc: Set PORT_LINK_DLL_LINK_EN in common setup code Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 36/40] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Drop unnecessary checking of DT 'device_type' property Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 37/40] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Move getting PCI_CAP_ID_EXP offset to intel_pcie_link_setup() Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 38/40] PCI: dwc/intel-gw: Drop unused max_width Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 39/40] PCI: dwc: Move N_FTS setup to common setup Rob Herring
2020-08-21  3:54 ` [PATCH v2 40/40] PCI: dwc: Use DBI accessors Rob Herring
2020-09-07  9:35 ` [PATCH v2 00/40] PCI: dwc: Driver clean-ups Lorenzo Pieralisi
2020-09-15  9:12 ` Michael Walle
2020-09-15 22:02   ` Rob Herring [this message]
2020-09-16  7:54     ` Michael Walle
2020-09-29  5:23       ` Kishon Vijay Abraham I
2020-09-29 14:32         ` Rob Herring

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=CAL_JsqLHBPduSjs1L3R2vbsLygJNDzajt4XThAkRG0DEu-GnAA@mail.gmail.com \
    --to=robh@kernel.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=bhelgaas@google.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=eswara.kota@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com \
    --cc=hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com \
    --cc=hongxing.zhu@nxp.com \
    --cc=jbrunet@baylibre.com \
    --cc=jesper.nilsson@axis.com \
    --cc=jingoohan1@gmail.com \
    --cc=jonathanh@nvidia.com \
    --cc=jonnyc@amazon.com \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=kgene@kernel.org \
    --cc=khilman@baylibre.com \
    --cc=kishon@ti.com \
    --cc=krzk@kernel.org \
    --cc=l.stach@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=linux-amlogic@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@axis.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-omap@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-pci@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-tegra@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com \
    --cc=m-karicheri2@ti.com \
    --cc=martin.blumenstingl@googlemail.com \
    --cc=maz@kernel.org \
    --cc=michael@walle.cc \
    --cc=narmstrong@baylibre.com \
    --cc=pratyush.anand@gmail.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=shawn.guo@linaro.org \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=songxiaowei@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=svarbanov@mm-sol.com \
    --cc=thierry.reding@gmail.com \
    --cc=wangbinghui@hisilicon.com \
    --cc=yamada.masahiro@socionext.com \
    --cc=yue.wang@amlogic.com \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

Linux-ARM-MSM Archive on lore.kernel.org

Archives are clonable:
	git clone --mirror https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-msm/0 linux-arm-msm/git/0.git

	# If you have public-inbox 1.1+ installed, you may
	# initialize and index your mirror using the following commands:
	public-inbox-init -V2 linux-arm-msm linux-arm-msm/ https://lore.kernel.org/linux-arm-msm \
		linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org
	public-inbox-index linux-arm-msm

Example config snippet for mirrors

Newsgroup available over NNTP:
	nntp://nntp.lore.kernel.org/org.kernel.vger.linux-arm-msm


AGPL code for this site: git clone https://public-inbox.org/public-inbox.git