linux-arm-msm.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>
To: unlisted-recipients:; (no To-header on input)
Cc: linuxarm@huawei.com, mauro.chehab@huawei.com,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+huawei@kernel.org>,
	"Lad, Prabhakar" <prabhakar.csengg@gmail.com>,
	"Paul J. Murphy" <paul.j.murphy@intel.com>,
	Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzejtp2010@gmail.com>,
	Andy Gross <agross@kernel.org>,
	Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>,
	Chen-Yu Tsai <wens@csie.org>,
	Daniele Alessandrelli <daniele.alessandrelli@intel.com>,
	Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@collabora.com>,
	Fabio Estevam <festevam@gmail.com>,
	Jacek Anaszewski <jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com>,
	Jernej Skrabec <jernej.skrabec@siol.net>,
	Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com>,
	Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@samsung.com>,
	Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@gmail.com>,
	Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>,
	Maxime Ripard <mripard@kernel.org>,
	NXP Linux Team <linux-imx@nxp.com>,
	Pengutronix Kernel Team <kernel@pengutronix.de>,
	Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@pengutronix.de>,
	Rui Miguel Silva <rmfrfs@gmail.com>,
	Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com>,
	Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@pengutronix.de>,
	Shawn Guo <shawnguo@kernel.org>,
	Stanimir Varbanov <stanimir.varbanov@linaro.org>,
	Steve Longerbeam <slongerbeam@gmail.com>,
	Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@samsung.com>,
	linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-media@vger.kernel.org, linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org,
	linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org, linux-staging@lists.linux.dev,
	linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev
Subject: [PATCH 00/25] Fix some PM runtime issues at the media subsystem
Date: Wed,  5 May 2021 11:41:50 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <cover.1620207353.git.mchehab+huawei@kernel.org> (raw)

As part of an effort to cleanup pm_runtime*get* calls, I detected a number
of issues at the media subsystem.

Most of the patches here were submitted previously at:

	https://lore.kernel.org/linux-media/cover.1619621413.git.mchehab+huawei@kernel.org/

This series contain just the bug fixes and other related issues that are
present with the current code on media.

It address the points from the existing reviews. I also did my own
set of reviews, in order to avoid regressions.

Changes from v4 of the previous changeset:

- reworked i2c/css RPM get logic;
- dropped two patches that could cause regressions;
- am437x: keep using pm_runtime_get_sync on suspend/resume;
- atmel: fix the returned code and add a print on failures at start streaming;
- simplify some checks for return code > 0;
- mdk-vcodec: properly handle RPM errors at device on logic;
- venus: rework venus_sys_error_handler() logic;
- sti/delta: fix an issue at the error checking logic.

Mauro Carvalho Chehab (25):
  staging: media: rkvdec: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  staging: media: imx7-mipi-csis: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: venus: Rework error fail recover logic
  media: s5p_cec: decrement usage count if disabled
  media: i2c: ccs-core: return the right error code at suspend
  media: i2c: imx334: fix the pm runtime get logic
  media: exynos-gsc: don't resume at remove time
  media: atmel: properly get pm_runtime
  media: hantro: do a PM resume earlier
  media: marvel-ccic: fix some issues when getting pm_runtime
  media: mdk-mdp: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: rcar_fdp1: simplify error check logic at fdp_open()
  media: rcar_fdp1: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: renesas-ceu: Properly check for PM errors
  media: s5p: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: am437x: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: sh_vou: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: mtk-vcodec: fix PM runtime get logic
  media: s5p-jpeg: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: sti/delta: use pm_runtime_resume_and_get()
  media: sunxi: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: sti/bdisp: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: exynos4-is: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: exynos-gsc: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count
  media: i2c: ccs-core: fix pm_runtime_get_sync() usage count

 drivers/media/cec/platform/s5p/s5p_cec.c      |  7 ++-
 drivers/media/i2c/ccs/ccs-core.c              | 41 ++++++++-----
 drivers/media/i2c/imx334.c                    |  7 ++-
 drivers/media/platform/am437x/am437x-vpfe.c   | 15 ++++-
 drivers/media/platform/atmel/atmel-isc-base.c | 30 +++++++---
 drivers/media/platform/atmel/atmel-isi.c      | 19 ++++--
 drivers/media/platform/exynos-gsc/gsc-core.c  | 11 ++--
 drivers/media/platform/exynos-gsc/gsc-m2m.c   |  4 +-
 .../media/platform/exynos4-is/fimc-capture.c  |  6 +-
 drivers/media/platform/exynos4-is/fimc-is.c   |  4 +-
 .../platform/exynos4-is/fimc-isp-video.c      |  3 +-
 drivers/media/platform/exynos4-is/fimc-isp.c  |  7 +--
 drivers/media/platform/exynos4-is/fimc-lite.c |  5 +-
 drivers/media/platform/exynos4-is/fimc-m2m.c  |  5 +-
 drivers/media/platform/exynos4-is/media-dev.c |  9 +--
 drivers/media/platform/exynos4-is/mipi-csis.c | 10 ++--
 .../media/platform/marvell-ccic/mcam-core.c   |  9 ++-
 drivers/media/platform/mtk-mdp/mtk_mdp_m2m.c  |  6 +-
 .../platform/mtk-vcodec/mtk_vcodec_dec_drv.c  |  4 +-
 .../platform/mtk-vcodec/mtk_vcodec_dec_pm.c   |  8 ++-
 .../platform/mtk-vcodec/mtk_vcodec_dec_pm.h   |  2 +-
 drivers/media/platform/qcom/venus/core.c      | 59 +++++++++++++++----
 drivers/media/platform/rcar_fdp1.c            | 28 ++++++---
 drivers/media/platform/renesas-ceu.c          |  4 +-
 drivers/media/platform/s5p-jpeg/jpeg-core.c   |  5 +-
 drivers/media/platform/sh_vou.c               |  6 +-
 drivers/media/platform/sti/bdisp/bdisp-v4l2.c |  7 ++-
 drivers/media/platform/sti/delta/delta-v4l2.c |  8 +--
 .../sunxi/sun8i-rotate/sun8i_rotate.c         |  2 +-
 drivers/staging/media/hantro/hantro_drv.c     |  7 ++-
 drivers/staging/media/imx/imx7-mipi-csis.c    |  7 +--
 drivers/staging/media/rkvdec/rkvdec.c         |  2 +-
 32 files changed, 220 insertions(+), 127 deletions(-)

-- 
2.30.2



             reply	other threads:[~2021-05-05  9:42 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 4+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2021-05-05  9:41 Mauro Carvalho Chehab [this message]
2021-05-05  9:41 ` [PATCH 03/25] media: venus: Rework error fail recover logic Mauro Carvalho Chehab
2021-05-05 11:05   ` Jonathan Cameron
2021-05-06 15:11 ` [PATCH 00/25] Fix some PM runtime issues at the media subsystem Mauro Carvalho Chehab

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=cover.1620207353.git.mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --to=mchehab+huawei@kernel.org \
    --cc=agross@kernel.org \
    --cc=andrzejtp2010@gmail.com \
    --cc=bjorn.andersson@linaro.org \
    --cc=daniele.alessandrelli@intel.com \
    --cc=ezequiel@collabora.com \
    --cc=festevam@gmail.com \
    --cc=jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com \
    --cc=jernej.skrabec@siol.net \
    --cc=kernel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=krzysztof.kozlowski@canonical.com \
    --cc=linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-arm-msm@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-imx@nxp.com \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-media@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mediatek@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-rockchip@lists.infradead.org \
    --cc=linux-samsung-soc@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-staging@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linux-sunxi@lists.linux.dev \
    --cc=linuxarm@huawei.com \
    --cc=m.szyprowski@samsung.com \
    --cc=matthias.bgg@gmail.com \
    --cc=mauro.chehab@huawei.com \
    --cc=mchehab@kernel.org \
    --cc=mripard@kernel.org \
    --cc=p.zabel@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=paul.j.murphy@intel.com \
    --cc=prabhakar.csengg@gmail.com \
    --cc=rmfrfs@gmail.com \
    --cc=s.hauer@pengutronix.de \
    --cc=s.nawrocki@samsung.com \
    --cc=sakari.ailus@linux.intel.com \
    --cc=shawnguo@kernel.org \
    --cc=slongerbeam@gmail.com \
    --cc=stanimir.varbanov@linaro.org \
    --cc=wens@csie.org \
    --subject='Re: [PATCH 00/25] Fix some PM runtime issues at the media subsystem' \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link

This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).