linux-block.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: john.hubbard@gmail.com
To: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Christian Benvenuti <benve@cisco.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"Darrick J . Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>,
	Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>,
	Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>, Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>,
	Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>, Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>,
	Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@intel.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	linux-block@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>,
	David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>, Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>,
	dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Subject: [PATCH v4 2/3] drivers/gpu/drm/via: convert put_page() to put_user_page*()
Date: Tue, 30 Jul 2019 13:57:04 -0700	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190730205705.9018-3-jhubbard@nvidia.com> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190730205705.9018-1-jhubbard@nvidia.com>

From: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>

For pages that were retained via get_user_pages*(), release those pages
via the new put_user_page*() routines, instead of via put_page() or
release_pages().

This is part a tree-wide conversion, as described in commit fc1d8e7cca2d
("mm: introduce put_user_page*(), placeholder versions").

Also reverse the order of a comparison, in order to placate
checkpatch.pl.

Cc: David Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Signed-off-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
---
 drivers/gpu/drm/via/via_dmablit.c | 10 ++--------
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/via/via_dmablit.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/via/via_dmablit.c
index 062067438f1d..b5b5bf0ba65e 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/via/via_dmablit.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/via/via_dmablit.c
@@ -171,7 +171,6 @@ via_map_blit_for_device(struct pci_dev *pdev,
 static void
 via_free_sg_info(struct pci_dev *pdev, drm_via_sg_info_t *vsg)
 {
-	struct page *page;
 	int i;
 
 	switch (vsg->state) {
@@ -186,13 +185,8 @@ via_free_sg_info(struct pci_dev *pdev, drm_via_sg_info_t *vsg)
 		kfree(vsg->desc_pages);
 		/* fall through */
 	case dr_via_pages_locked:
-		for (i = 0; i < vsg->num_pages; ++i) {
-			if (NULL != (page = vsg->pages[i])) {
-				if (!PageReserved(page) && (DMA_FROM_DEVICE == vsg->direction))
-					SetPageDirty(page);
-				put_page(page);
-			}
-		}
+		put_user_pages_dirty_lock(vsg->pages, vsg->num_pages,
+					  (vsg->direction == DMA_FROM_DEVICE));
 		/* fall through */
 	case dr_via_pages_alloc:
 		vfree(vsg->pages);
-- 
2.22.0


  parent reply	other threads:[~2019-07-30 20:57 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-07-30 20:57 [PATCH v4 0/3] mm/gup: add make_dirty arg to put_user_pages_dirty_lock() john.hubbard
2019-07-30 20:57 ` [PATCH v4 1/3] " john.hubbard
2019-08-01  6:07   ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-01  7:01     ` John Hubbard
2019-08-01 14:19     ` Jason Gunthorpe
2019-08-01 16:34       ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-07-30 20:57 ` john.hubbard [this message]
2019-07-30 20:57 ` [PATCH v4 3/3] net/xdp: convert put_page() to put_user_page*() john.hubbard
2019-07-31  6:08   ` Björn Töpel

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190730205705.9018-3-jhubbard@nvidia.com \
    --to=john.hubbard@gmail.com \
    --cc=airlied@linux.ie \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=benve@cisco.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=daniel@ffwll.ch \
    --cc=darrick.wong@oracle.com \
    --cc=david@fromorbit.com \
    --cc=dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=ira.weiny@intel.com \
    --cc=jack@suse.cz \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=jhubbard@nvidia.com \
    --cc=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.marciniszyn@intel.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).