linux-block.vger.kernel.org archive mirror
 help / color / mirror / Atom feed
From: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
To: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>,
	john.hubbard@gmail.com, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>,
	Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>,
	Christian Benvenuti <benve@cisco.com>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>,
	Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>,
	"Darrick J . Wong" <darrick.wong@oracle.com>,
	Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>,
	Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>, Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>,
	Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>, Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>,
	Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>,
	Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>,
	Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@intel.com>,
	Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>,
	linux-block@vger.kernel.org, linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@kvack.org, linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org,
	LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>,
	John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 1/3] mm/gup: add make_dirty arg to put_user_pages_dirty_lock()
Date: Thu, 1 Aug 2019 18:34:53 +0200	[thread overview]
Message-ID: <20190801163453.GA26588@lst.de> (raw)
In-Reply-To: <20190801141906.GC23899@ziepe.ca>

On Thu, Aug 01, 2019 at 11:19:06AM -0300, Jason Gunthorpe wrote:
> Sadly usnic does not use the core rdma umem abstraction but open codes
> an old version of it.
> 
> In this version each sge in the sgl is exactly one page. See
> usnic_uiom_get_pages - so I think this loop is not a bug?

Actually, yes - I think we are fine given that we pass in the number
of elements.  Thus merging by iommus won't affect the list.

  reply	other threads:[~2019-08-01 16:35 UTC|newest]

Thread overview: 9+ messages / expand[flat|nested]  mbox.gz  Atom feed  top
2019-07-30 20:57 [PATCH v4 0/3] mm/gup: add make_dirty arg to put_user_pages_dirty_lock() john.hubbard
2019-07-30 20:57 ` [PATCH v4 1/3] " john.hubbard
2019-08-01  6:07   ` Christoph Hellwig
2019-08-01  7:01     ` John Hubbard
2019-08-01 14:19     ` Jason Gunthorpe
2019-08-01 16:34       ` Christoph Hellwig [this message]
2019-07-30 20:57 ` [PATCH v4 2/3] drivers/gpu/drm/via: convert put_page() to put_user_page*() john.hubbard
2019-07-30 20:57 ` [PATCH v4 3/3] net/xdp: " john.hubbard
2019-07-31  6:08   ` Björn Töpel

Reply instructions:

You may reply publicly to this message via plain-text email
using any one of the following methods:

* Save the following mbox file, import it into your mail client,
  and reply-to-all from there: mbox

  Avoid top-posting and favor interleaved quoting:
  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Posting_style#Interleaved_style

* Reply using the --to, --cc, and --in-reply-to
  switches of git-send-email(1):

  git send-email \
    --in-reply-to=20190801163453.GA26588@lst.de \
    --to=hch@lst.de \
    --cc=akpm@linux-foundation.org \
    --cc=axboe@kernel.dk \
    --cc=benve@cisco.com \
    --cc=dan.j.williams@intel.com \
    --cc=darrick.wong@oracle.com \
    --cc=david@fromorbit.com \
    --cc=hch@infradead.org \
    --cc=ira.weiny@intel.com \
    --cc=jack@suse.cz \
    --cc=jgg@ziepe.ca \
    --cc=jglisse@redhat.com \
    --cc=jhubbard@nvidia.com \
    --cc=john.hubbard@gmail.com \
    --cc=kirill@shutemov.name \
    --cc=linux-block@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=linux-mm@kvack.org \
    --cc=linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org \
    --cc=mhocko@kernel.org \
    --cc=mike.marciniszyn@intel.com \
    --cc=rppt@linux.ibm.com \
    --cc=viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk \
    --cc=willy@infradead.org \
    /path/to/YOUR_REPLY

  https://kernel.org/pub/software/scm/git/docs/git-send-email.html

* If your mail client supports setting the In-Reply-To header
  via mailto: links, try the mailto: link
Be sure your reply has a Subject: header at the top and a blank line before the message body.
This is a public inbox, see mirroring instructions
for how to clone and mirror all data and code used for this inbox;
as well as URLs for NNTP newsgroup(s).